We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveler rating
310
342
184
101
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
342
184
101
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treeself parklobby barparking situationbreakfast buffetview of the baymerrie monarchhousekeeping staffthe big islandnicest hotelocean frontthe open air lobbynational parkbanyan driverental carjapanese gardenken's pancake house
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2017

This hotel provides a beautiful setting - right on the water. The service for check in/out was disappointing (very, very grumpy woman checked us in), but the servers in the restaurant were great. The room was ok but the grounds made up for everything else. Convenient location for Hilo and surrounding sites.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MNKate2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Booked the Grand Naniloa in Hilo for a family vacation. We had 2 rooms including the Ocean Front Jr. Suite. The Jr. Suite room and view definitely make this hotel worthwhile. Had a fantastic view overlooking the ocean with a nice panoramic view as well as of the pool area. We enjoyed the sights as well as the sounds of the waves down below. The staff was wonderful and the hotel was very clean. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank tonysZ8993RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

A Harbour View was booked and this is what we got!! Oh, if we leave our bags packed and take them to reception before our volcano helicopter view at 6:30 am tomorrow they will move us to a higher floor tomorrow between 12 noon and 4 pm. Misleading in the extreme - how can this room be sold as a Harbour view?

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Brendon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

I stayed at the Grand Naniloa Hotel for 6 nights to celebrate my mother's birthday. It was our first time visiting Hawaii so we were super excited to explore Hilo. We chose this property because of the amazing views and location. When we arrived to check-in I was surprised we did not receive a traditional Hawaiian welcome like I anticipated. Nonetheless, the staff were very friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay. A big thank you to Sandi, Grant, Andrew, Dorian and Joe for making our stay memorable. The hotel is very close to all of the things to see in Hilo - Rainbow Falls, Pana'ewa Zoo, Lili'uokalani Park, Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Corp, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Farmers Market and Richardson Beach as well as places to shop/eat. We rented a car after we arrived which made it easier to get around because our cellular phone service was not 100% reliable for Uber (parking is free). There's a restaurant at the hotel called Hula Hulas, it was convenient but a bit pricey for a family of four so we only ate there a few times. Don't forget to pack water shoes, an umbrella (it rains a lot in Hilo) and insect repellent!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Suzers718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

The entire staff was really accommodating and friendly. Hands down best customer service in Hilo. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that just need a quick get away or along stay. They even gave us a free cookies for the kids when we checked in.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiactioninc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews