We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Waikoloa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Thhotel is old, in need of
an entire renovation. The out side building looks like a project apartment housing. Poor check in service not friedly. No phones in room, mildew on lani walls and roof. We had a room on 4th floor that over looked the lobby roof that was also full of growing moss and black mildew. We had prepaid for our stay 2nights so needless to say we where held hostage. I

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladysunshine808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
Aloha,
We apologize for your disappointment in your stay and will be pleased to know that we are under full renovation to entire resort and will be a first class product once completed in later 2015 and hope you can visit once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    78
    55
    43
See reviews for
62
83
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

At one time this was a top of the line resort near downtown Hilo. It is in a great location. It is being renovated and brought back to its previous condition. Excellent internet via Ethernet cable which hotel provides. I had forgotten how nice Ethernet can be. Continental breakfast in lobby. Beautiful grounds. Elevators were smooth and quiet. Sometimes a little slow to start. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront rather than bayfront. Only a little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We are staying here for the second time in two weeks, so that should say something.

Great value - not romantic.

Internet in the room only w/ an Ethernet cable they provide. Wireless in the lobby and they will print documents for you if you email it to them.

I'm traveling w/ my good friend and business associate.

Good: the prices are amazingly reasonable. Staff is willing to help and kind.
Bad: the exterior and much of the interior is VERY dated. The elevators are mid 70s?? and scary, HOWEVER there are new owners and they are getting ready to put a large amount of $$ into the place.

Bottom line: great value - we got a clean, basic room, for 77-88/night base before taxes. Very good. Also, pay laundry machines on site which was nice

Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorSteve_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
Aloha,
We agree with your comments and wanted to let you know that we are currently under way on much needed full scale renovation to property that will showcase a first class resort when completed later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilo hotels

New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

the check in time is 3pm that's pretty late I arrived at 5:30 am in Hilo I stayed at the airport waiting for sunrise then waiting for 9 am to go kill sometime at museum at the tsunami museum i recommend pretty nice , i found this brochure of adventures and hikes so i booked a hike same day and i took my mini Luggage with me to the hike if i can only drop my luggage at the hotel then hike it will be nice i hope they change the check in time cuz the check out is 12 noon Nonsense . hotel is nice quiet nice view saw some whales and turtles from the hotel free continental breakfast staff are nice and helpfull hotel under construction and because hilo is always rainy and foggy there is mold in the hotel not a lot just a little was in my room ceiling , hotel is in a good location so yes i would go again .

Room Tip: top floors for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here because it was inexpensive, we were staying in Kona, and wanted to see HIlo, so we cheaped out.It was a million dollar view. We stayed in an ocean view room, it was affordable and I have stayed in much worse rooms for much more money. The grounds of this former show stopper are awesome. The location is incredible. Our room was pleasant. In April the desk clerk (who was lovely) said they are starting a huge remodel. My sis used to party at this place back in the seventies and remembers it as the best place in Hilo, it would be nice to see the place restored, you can tell it was an amazing place at one time. We have no complaints, and wonder when you pay a hundred bucks for a beachside room what people are thinking! C,mon folks there is no free lunch! That said, the breakfast buffet was coffee and squishy bread....on a beautiful terrace surrounded by anthurium, water and the lovely grounds...what a juxtaposition...we thought it was hysterical. Next time when we are in Hilo we will definitely stay here, it was overall a good experience and everyone we came in contact with was so nice.

Room Tip: We got an ocean view room on the fourth floor which had been renovated, but saw the suite next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candaceann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great stop for a night. Could have been cleaner, but nice view and lots of places within walking distance.Nice park right next to the hotel and a nice small store for snacks in the next hotel over. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelusaluv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I'm giving them 3 stars for the potential. We stayed there the weekend of March 7, 2014.
The view was beautiful! My husband spent every daylight minute we were there out on the balcony watching whales and trying to get a picture.
The hotel and rooms left a lot to be desired. The phones weren't working so they asked that if you need anything to please use your own cell phone to call the main line. Elevator was pretty slow, there was mold on the bathroom ceiling, bathroom door doesn't close tight so you can smell whatever is going on in there-reminded me of The California Hotel in Las Vegas.
There was a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. :)

We loved the view so much we're giving it another try next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corki808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
22.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
61.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Property: Hilo Naniloa Hotel
Address: 93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4632 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations,pool, golf course, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel each guest receives a FREE round of 9-hole of golf for every day of your stay! FREE daily continental breakfast - fruit ,danish, juice and coffee. NOTE: THE HOTEL IS UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS COMPLETED SUMMER 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing