We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

First off let me say I'm not one to EVER write a review. Usually when reading reviews I think people over exaggerate. But let me tell you this, THIS PLACE IS RIDICULOUSLY HORRIBLE. Don't be fooled by the pictures. The pictures are only a corner in the room. It looks nothing like the actual thing. We found a bug in our bed and when we complained they said "it's part of our disclosure" does that make any sense? We replied you mean bugs in the bed is part of your disclosure? She answered no. Staff has no idea what they're talking about. In the middle of the night we needed drinking water. When we called their so called "front desk" (by the way their phones don't work so you need to up call the hotel with ur cell phone) the man who answered the phone suggested for us to WALK to the hotel next door in the rain. Why in the world would someone in their right mind stay at a hotel who's referring you to another hotel for water? I always research before I stay and it stated that the hotel had all these amenities. IT'S WRONG. Management (wendy) didn't help in any way her answer to everything was "that's unfortunate". C'mon really?so we call and asked for towels because our room was out of towels. The guy who answered the phone told us to "come pick it up" umm? No. After repeating to him a gazillion times that were not picking it up he brought it up. The room? like someone mentioned before they have a pretty good photographer as it looks like nothing in the pictures. Everyone just stay away. No food no water nothing! Horrible service and rude. Never have I experienced a hotel stay like this one. Save yourself while its not too late. STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aeymeexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
Aloha,
Sorry for you less than desirable stay and hope you return to island later this year to see an ugly duckling turned into a swan, as full scale renovations to the resort are currently in progress and will be completed later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    88
    56
    45
See reviews for
67
93
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times. If you like modern shapes, unusual design, this hotel is a change of pace. It has a cold and spacious feel, probably due to the white color everywhere. In the room it's like being in a modern art museum. Very different than your common chain hotel.
Room charge is reasonable, but breakfast prices seemed steep to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pep111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was a nice place to rest for overnight. It is clean. The staff was friendly. There are restaurants, bars, and a grocery store near by. It is by the sea so you can still enjoy a view. There are not much facility there. No restaurants inside the hotel per se. Overall, it is Ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

In major need of a do up! Has so much potential to be an amazing resort but we found it to be just an average hotel. Rooms were very basic, paper thin walls. Would recommended this place to anyone on a budget, but don't expect too much as its very very basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank MariegeeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry D, General Manager at Hilo Naniloa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2015
Aloha,
Once our comprehensive renovations are completed that are currently in progress, we will be a full service and very desirable resort to vacation and hope you can check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
22.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
61.1 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Naniloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Naniloa Hotel

Property: Hilo Naniloa Hotel
Address: 93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4632 (Formerly Naniloa Volcanoes Resort)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Naniloa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the iconic Hilo Naniloa Hotel, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, our waterfront hotel welcomes you with comfortable and affordable accommodations,pool, golf course, and 24-hour front desk. As a bonus, when you book directly with Hilo Naniloa Hotel each guest receives a FREE round of 9-hole of golf for every day of your stay! NOTE: THE HOTEL IS UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS COMPLETED SUMMER 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilo Naniloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Hilo Naniloa Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing