We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an interesting place to stay”
Review of The Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay House
Ranked #2 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed in the Palm room during June, 2006.

It was an interesting place to stay. The location and view were superb. It is convenient to go to downtown Hilo for sushi dinner and also has a great view of sunset. We can hear both the surf and the sound of the tropical forest at night. The room was not air-conditioned but the ceilling fan kept it cool. Very clean bathroom. The innkeeper was very enthusiastic and friendly.

I do have one suggestion though. Having grown up in a sub-tropical climate, I would suggest the innkeeper to have some mosquito coils on hand that the guests can light up on the balcony at night. It is a very economical way to keep the mosquitoes away.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 303 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2006

Hilo, Island of Hawaii Clean and beautiful
June 17, 2006

This B & B is beautifully decorated with Hawaiian quilts and Hawaiian crafts. Spacious room, nicely decorated, clean, good bedding and mattress. Bathroom is large and spotless. We ate breakfast on our private lanai which overlooks Hilo Bay. Within walking distance from Hilo. The interior and exterior were very well maintained, spotless. We felt very much at home.
We highly recommend The Bay House Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank quiltinmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San jose, Costa Rica
14
Reviewed May 26, 2006

We recebntly
spent a couple of weeks in Hawaii. We really enjoyed the Bay House where we stayed. The owners were delightful people. The bay House is Located a few minutes from the town of Hilo.
The rooms at the B&B were beautifully decorated. It also had a hot tub which was most relaxing.
We woud certainly rate this B&B as a 5 star establishment.t

Stayed: March 2006
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

We had a great time at Bay House. The view was stupendous; the hot tub was a great place each evening to see the lights of Hilo Bay. Furnishings and personal lanii were much appreciated. A short walk across the singing bridge led us to downtown Hilo. We enjoyed the restaurants, museums, and local market. The hosts at Bay House were wonderful. We would rate this B & B with five stars. Rich and Jean Redmond; SBO 672; P.O. 025292; Miami, FL 33102

2  Thank Rich and Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nyack, NY
19
Reviewed April 28, 2006

We stayed at the Bay House in Hilo during the Merrie Monarch Festival in April 2006. It was my best B&B experience ever. The large, airy rooms are furnished with beautiful Hawaiian quilts and other local crafts, the beds are great, and the family who owns the B&B is helpful, unobtrusive and interesting -- all at once! Each room has a private covered lanai (porch) overlooking Hilo Bay, and you can hear the ocean all night. Bay House is a five-minute walk from interesting shops on the Hilo waterfront. I highly recommend it to just about any kind of traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

Date: April 6,2006

Just returned from Hilo where we stayed 5 days in the Bay HOuse B and B. We were very impressed by how large and beautifully decorated the rooms were. The entire premise was immaculate-inside and out. The hostess was most charming and extremely helpful in pointing out the local places of interest. Each morning we enjoyed a very delicious (and healthy)
breakfast on the patio which overlooks Hilo Bay. A very nice break from the glitz of big hotel stays. Trip advisor member, Long Beach, N.Y.

6  Thank merriweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maple Grove, MN
17
Reviewed April 4, 2006

We stayed at the Bay House January 18 – 24th, 2006. This was our first experience in a B & B. Since we prefer not to pack and unpack, we decided to try the whole week in one place. We couldn’t have been more pleased. The three rooms are lovely and the hosts are absolutely wonderful. Tina and Tom run a first class B & B, respecting the privacy of their guests. We especially enjoyed having breakfast on our private lanai, which had a lovely view of the harbor. Each lanai is situated so that the occupants of each room have privacy. What a nice idea! We could watch the cruise ships entering and leaving the harbor during the week. We spent each day exploring the island and returned in the evening to the Bay House, our home away from home. If we return to Hilo in the future, the Bay House will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
1.6 mi away
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $186 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay House B&B has it all, with three oceanfront guest rooms, comfortably nestled in a serene jungle setting, perched above beautiful Hilo Bay. Just a 5 minute walk across the "Singing Bridge" and you are in historic downtown Hilo. Convenient yet secluded. THE place to stay in Hilo. Our spacious private rooms are superbly appointed. Each oceanfront room has a full private bath, King or Queen sized bed (Queen in the Bay Room only), ceiling fan, cable television, free WiFi, and a private ocean front lanai. Also for our guests enjoyment is a cliff side jacuzzi, where you can gaze upon the grandeur of the Pacific Ocean. In the morning, you are served an individual basket of tropical fruits and local pastries, cereal, juices, yogurts, eggs, jam, coffee and teas, all served buffet style in the guests' common area. Take it back to your oceanfront lanai and enjoy the fruits of paradise. Free onsite covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing