We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, but not what I was looking for...”

Hawaii Volcano Tours
Ranked #15 of 36 Outdoor Activities in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lava and sight-seeing tours. Call for custom tours for your travel to Hawaii's Big Island.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun, but not what I was looking for...”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tour was nice because they drove and we didn't have to pay for fuel in our 16mpg Jeep. I specifically asked and was told that we would have a geologist as a guide, which was not the case, but was still a good experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    9
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hire a native guide!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been to Hawaii Volcanoes National park several times, but this year we decided to hire Native Hawaiian guide, Warren Costa, and we were not disappointed! Warren knows so much about the land, the traditions, the volcanoes, the plants etc. The weather the day we went was not very good, and we got very wet, but I can highly recommend Warren Costa's Native Guide business!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeDAire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GTT volcano and island tour with Auntie Karen”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked with island marketing and were met at Hilo pier by Auntie Karen from GTT.She has lived on the island for 30+ years . We knew from the moment we met her that it was going to be a great day-she was enthusiastic, informative and such a great lady. As well as taking us to the volcano,black sand beach, falls, macadamia nut factory and orchid farms she told us so much more about the culture andlife on Hilo.We even met some of her chuch youth group on a picnic.Karen gave us an overview of the legends and beliefs of the island, Pele in particular (and Pele's hair) and stories of her extended family's adventures living, fishing and hunting on Hilo.These stories brought the island alive in a way which the regular tours do not.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank umberstmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Volcano Flight - Iolani air”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The best view of the volcanoes is by air and what better way to do it than on a private flight?! Pilot Dale gave us a great tour and shared his extensive knowledge about Hilo. This was an unforgettable experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tours4fun.com 1 day tour”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I took this tour. This is my first tour from tours4fun. I am not that impressed. First they have not given me the hotel I choose then they didn't confirm me the room I wanted. They asked me extra money twice for less star hotel than what I selected. All the time I needed to followup them to get the confirmation status. Call operator also not professional to resolve all the query in single time. You need to call again and again. Also they will send you multiple email on single query. Tour they have provided with local china tour operator which is horrible. Tour guide know very minimal english, so all the time he/she will describe more things in Chineese than in English. Tour guides also not professional. They will provide the drop off the time they want, it may be 3-4 hours before your flight time. Overall I would recommend this tour for the people may be who knows chinesse or who thinks this may save your money considering all the challenges I have told.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank abhibard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Volcano Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Volcano Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing