We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yumminess with charm”

Sushi Rock and Trio
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 5 star casual experience expanding the horizons of sushi featuring locally grown and raised mostly organic products and ingredients.Plenty of offeings for non fish eaters,vegetarians and those needing gluten free dining.Owner operated ,friendly and welcoming.Amazing house made desserts,salads,sandwiches,broiled items and, of course,world famous sushi!
Puako, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yumminess with charm”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sushi Rock is a fabulous little restaurant in Hawi, on the Big Island. The place serves up the BEST healthiest sushi and japanese fusion food. If you are on the Big Island, don't miss this place! I am on a super restrictive food allergy diet, and they were able to make something delicious even for me! The creativity of this place infuses the restaurant and the food with something you can't quite put your finger on, but that you want more of in your life.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Puako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for the kind remarks.One of my missions at The Rock is to provide delicious tastes for people on restricted diets.So glad you enjoyed your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    96
    19
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, VT
2 reviews
“Top notch Sushi!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The owner was very friendly and accommodating. The food was wonderful and the cocktails enticing. We went back 3 times during our visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTtraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Wow.I am blown away by your review.I cannot tell you how much it means to me and my staff that you appreciate our hard work.We really try so hard to create the best dining experience and I am so gratified that you enjoyed it.Aloha-Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Travel half way around the world for the best sushi ever”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the absolutely best sushi ever! I traveled half way around the world to find it and I would go back at my first chance. Unique combinations of the freshest fish in a funky, comfortable setting make this the quintessential sushi outing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeadstrongCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Wow...what an accolade.I so appreciate your kind remarks.Please visit with us again.Aloha and mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Their sushi does rock!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Freshest and most favorable sushi I've ever had. Nice wait staff and cook. It's in an old building that lends uniqueness to your dining experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JannieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Innovative Sushi”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Sushi Rock due to its No 1 status on Trip Advisor...

All our choices were well presented, with very fresh ingredients and tasted good.

The aspect that defines this sushi, is chefs experimentation with unusual ingredients... Delighting the palate.

Saying this, we have been privileged to dine at some of the finest sushi restaurants all over the world including Zuma and Nobu in London and too many to mention in NYC Vancouver San Fran etc etc... Sushi Rock is up, there but certainly doesn't surpass them.
Service and decor are typical for the island.

Recommendable if you are in the vacinity, not worth a special journey of more than a 20 minute drive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Rock and Trio also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sushi Rock and Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing