We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Restaurant”
Review of Bamboo Restaurant

Bamboo Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come to Bamboo for a feeling of the "Real Hawaii". Located in a historic building, we offer lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch, and we invented the Passion Fruit Margarita and Mojito. Browse the gallery for local art and crafts. Come and find the aloha of the islands!
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our second time eating at Bamboo Restaurant and each time gets better. I had the pulled pork sandwich and it was the best ever. The bun could have been better but all in all it was great. This restaurant is always full, so that should tell you something.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richardr13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    282
    77
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Hospitality”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Arrived for an early dinner after Zip Line experience, nearby. Greeting was warm & friendly. Very amicable to a large group. Described the various dishes and ways they are prepared, uniques sauces. Very fresh. We had a nice evening and came upon it by accident.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSuhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must try local cuisine in a historical 125 yr old Inn building”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Part of our day trip to the north end of the Island, the food in this place is healthy, filled with fresh greens and veggies and often accompanied with a twist of Thai Coconut sauce mixed into a traditional island stir-fry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank R2D2-CamperVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This meal of fresh mahi in an artichoke sauce was delicious. I really enjoyed the salad with house dressing as well. By the time I got to the excellent chocolate creme brûlée, I was too full to finish. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Voted top meal on our trip”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Some restaurants you know are going to be a good experience when you walk in. From the minute we sat down the "boss" and her "employee" made my kids feel welcomed and entertained by poking good humored fun at dad which was brilliant. The place feels Hawaiian and historic and the service was excellent. There is a nice gift shop and gallery to browse as well. I had the bbq sandwich, kids had burgers and wife had fish. All were excellent. Milkshakes were also excellent. We stopped on our way back from the Pololu Valley lookout and was great choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckralich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Restaurant also viewed

Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bamboo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing