We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo Restaurant

Bamboo Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come to Bamboo for a feeling of the "Real Hawaii". Located in a historic building, we offer lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch, and we invented the Passion Fruit Margarita and Mojito. Browse the gallery for local art and crafts. Come and find the aloha of the islands!
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Felt it was a bit overpriced and the food was rather bland. We had the catch of the day Hawaiian Thai style and the Kalua pig. Did not enjoy either dish. Just not enough flavor in the meats and the thai curry had the consistency of microwaved gravy. I liked the service and ambiance ok but would not return or recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shai_Gyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangogirlhawi, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
So sorry, folks. When people ask me about the Kalua Pork, I do tell them that the flavor is "simple." It is the traditional Hawaiian preparation, and I (like you, it seems) prefer more complex flavors. We do doctor it up in other dishes. We don't microwave anything in the restaurant, but my chefs should not have allowed the Thai Coconut Sauce to go out with a thick texture. For shame! I apologize. FYI, it's not a curry, it is actually called "Evil Jungle Prince" and it WILL thicken and needs attention. Siiiggh... we just aren't perfect .... Hope you find some restaurants you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    280
    76
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Funky and Fun---Great Happy Hour Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Bamboo is located in a 100 year old former store in the old Hawaii town of Hawi. The atmosphere is funky and fun---with lots of locals as patrons.---and is generally a good place to hang out for a while and relax. We had an excellent lunch there and also enjoyed a very well priced happy hour---with a good choice of very tasty pau paus.
Bamboo is well worth the drive. We look forward to returning on our next visit to the Big Island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobinsantabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service in a old town setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

In three words... I loved it! From the moment you walk in, you feel welcome and at home. The building is at least 100 years old and has been a hotel and a grocery store. Take a few minutes and read about the history of the building in the front of the menu. It is quite interesting. Forget the pricey, impersonal restaurants in the resorts and take the short drive to Hawi and experience amazing fresh local cuisine. The service was excellent and the wait staff extremely competent and friendly. We will most definitely return and would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cboyleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Came here for dinners with my wife. Staff was nice and curtious. The food was good, nice flavor and well portioned. We quite injoyed our time here. Recommed if your in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice setting, terrible food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

visited the Bamboo Restaurant a few days ago, my wife order the Kalua pork sandwich and I ordered the one egg breakfast. my dish looked, smelt and tasted like it just came out of the microwave, and the portion was "kid-size" - no joke! I guess I should have taken a picture to show the size. the kalua pork was good but the bun must have been from wonder bread since the bun disintegrated in a matter of moments from the juice from the pork. lastly, it's not cheap either. Struck out on this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank dan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangogirlhawi, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
So sorry for your terrible experience , Dan. We don't microwave anything at Bamboo, though, and you DID order a small portion - it's our version of a light portion of Eggs Bamboo: one half of a muffin, one egg, hollandaise, potatoes and fruit. We offer different sized portions every chance that we can. We don't use wonder bread - perhaps you noticed that we use organic vegetables and greens,and free range chicken? I'm kind of a health-food nut. No wonder bread. And just one review down from you is someone who enjoyed the barbecued pork sandwich. Nope. We can't win 'em all! Sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Restaurant also viewed

Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bamboo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing