We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good service eh people ew”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lighthouse Delicatessen - CLOSED

Lighthouse Delicatessen
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food good service eh people ew”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great sandwiches. But the two women tending the bar and taking orders, when they smiled, did so begrudgingly, and the tone in their voices was more "drop dead" than "happy to serve you." Bitter in Hawi? Why?!? Maybe they're in the wrong business. In the food industry, one really must be able to handle 'busy.'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScooterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Lighthouse: What a riot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We cruised into the Lighthouse Delicatessen after learning the hard way that their competitor 100 yards down the street was closed on Mondays. The well-publicized ice cream place across the street had a long line, so we went to Lighthouse for a sit-down lunch.

The restaurant-and-bar was crowded almost to the point of pandemonium. We grabbed two seats at the bar the very moment two patrons departed. Jess-the-fabulous-female-bartender immediately solicited our drink orders and gave us menus. How she did this with eight other customers shouting for attention I will never know.

The people-watching was, of course, intense with the density of folks so high. I asked Jess the wonderwoman if this was common. "Heck, she says, usually it's just tumbleweeds blowing down the middle of main street." We both ordered BBQ pork sandwiches (I with macaroni salad, my buddy with the cucumber salad). I swilled Cokes (with lemon! yum!) while he quaffed Fire Rock Pale Ale (or whatever they call it). Jess-the-whirlwind kept my glass full (with replacement lemons, too!) at all times.

Of course, the kitchen was busy, but the large-portioned sandwiches arrived in good time. Their aroma promised a treat, and we were not disappointed (even our seatmates wanted one after they saw ours). Nice bread for the sandwich piled with perhaps three inches of sliced pork and a delectable sauce made for a fabulous lunch.

Over the course of an hour, the place calmed down to a reasonable number of patrons (just all the tables and bar seats full). We paid our bill and moved on to the end of the road to see the beach.

The experience at the Lighthouse was exhilerating and fun (in addition to sating our appetite and slaking our thirst).

Prices were middle-of-the-road for Hawaii meals (about 2x the cost of meals in Colorado). Jess was poetry to watch as she juggled orders, tabs, and tended bar with her capable assistant. I really enjoyed myself.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sandwiches + beer = pretty nice little meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

VERY tasty & fresh sandwiches combined with a fantastic beer selection plus extraordinary service made this a favorite stop on or visit. Would strongly recommend coming here for a quick bite for lunch when in Hawi.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank absolutangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sandwiches are good, but overpriced and no chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

It is a cute place, too new to have an atmosphere but is nice. The ingredients are great quality, very surprised the sandwich had no chips or even a pickle to accompany it. For a $14 lunch it's the least. Other than that, apart from the guy who took the order (who didn't seem to enjoy his job at all) the other people were nice. If you drive to Kapaʻau there is a wonderful lunch place where you can spend the same of even less money for better food. Is call Gill's Lanai and you will be so much happier you went there, the atmosphere and specially the customer service has more Aloha than this cold lighthouse.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
241 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“After ziplining in Hawi, stopped at this lovely deli for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stopped at the Lighthouse Deli after ziplining nearby at Big Island Eco Adventures (a must-do by the way). We were hungry and used Yelp to find the restaurant in Hawi. It is located in the main part of town (on the coast side of the street), and parking was found in the back (street-side was packed).

The restaurant was quite busy, but there were a couple of tables open. As you come in, you order at the main glass counter, but you can order at the bar as well - which serves beer and other drinks. You pick up a menu and pick from the selection of pre-designed sandwiches - or you can order something of your own design too.

If you are looking for personalized service, don't bother coming here. Everyone was pleasant and helpful when asked, but you won't find waiters or waitresses waiting on your every need. Service was quick and efficient, but all our meals didn't come at the same time. Personally, this was OK by me. The gap between meals was about 2-3 minutes, nothing major.

We ordered a couple of pretzels (highly recommended on Yelp!), meatballs and bread, a meatball sub, the Italian, and a turkey/cranberry sandwich. All were extremely fresh, very hearty portions, and very tasty.

In particular, the pretzels were hot, had a nice buttery crust, and very soft and hot inside. Really yummy. The tomato sauce on the meatballs were not too spicy, and very flavorful. All sandwiches were generously sized, hot, and had great flavor too.

Our meal, including bottled drinks and water, came to just about $60 for the four of us. I would say normally this is expensive, but honestly you are a bit stuck in the middle of nowhere AND in Hawaii, so I didn't think it was ridiculous at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ioj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Delicatessen also viewed

Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing