We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the True Hawaii!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puakea Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puakea Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Experience the True Hawaii!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We traveled to the Big Island for a dear friend's wedding. After a weekend in busy, tourist-focused Kona (amidst the Iron Man competitors...); we escaped the growing crowds to the North and stayed at this amazing destination: Puakea Ranch. Staying in the very private Mile's Away -- a turn-of-the-centery, restored bungalow; we had 2 bedrooms, a gourmet kitchen, a cozy living room and dining room, a separate Japanese-style bath house, and our own private pool. A short drive brought us to the little town of Hawi with great shops, restaurants, cafes, etc. The Puakea Ranch is a very special place, painstakingly renovated. In a literal sea of resorts and hotels; this travel destination allows you to experience true and authentic Hawaiian life. An organic garden and chicken coop where you can pick up daily fresh eggs and fruit; we loved how private it was, yet technologically connected in order to check our email back on the Mainland and consume our own movies/music/entertainment, etc. The best highlights were the full rainbow that appeared over the ocean after a morning rain; and swimming in the main pool with large dragonflies playfully flying overhead, in vivid colors: purple, blue, orange. We never knew dragonflies could be such wonderful colors; and we never knew there was this slice of paradise awaiting us at the north tip of the Big Island. With this trip, we are Big Island converts; and can't wait to return to the Puakea Ranch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hawaii is amazing but while it's always long in luxury lodging it can sometimes be short in character—that's why this spot is amazing. My family stayed in Yoshi's, which struck the perfect note between relaxed and luxurious. We chilled by the pool explored the area, picked up our fresh eggs each morning ....the exact sort of vibe we were looking for.
My family loves nice accommodation—before here we were at the Four Seasons for a few days. But what we really love are places that are singular and memorable—that's what Puakea was for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mageditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 6 nights at Yoshi's House this past December. The house is at the top of a hill overlooking gardens and the ocean. We absolutely loved sitting on the wrap-around verandah, looking at the beautiful scenery. The house is open, bright and airy. The beds are comfortable. Everything is clean and in good working order. The pool was a real treat. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ononono2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our family has made numerous trips to Hawaii over the years, mostly staying at resorts (our favorites are the Hotel Hana Maui and the St. Regis Princeville) but for this trip we wanted a different type of experience, a family friendly set-up that would better suit 2 couples and a 4 1/2 month old baby. Yoshi's House sounded perfect from the reviews and our 8 night stay actually exceeded all of our expectations.

Not only is the house itself (and the property) gorgeous and well maintained, but the level of service at Puakea Ranch rivals a top hotel. We were impressed from the moment we arrived. Per our arrangement the house was stocked when we arrived with delicious produce from the farmer's market and Kona coffee. The house was even nicer than it appears in the photos- it is spacious and tastefully decorated. It is obvious that thought has gone into furnishing and arranging it.

There are 2 bedrooms and a room with a daybed off of the dining room. The main bedroom is beautiful with a private lanai that looks over the pasture (a frequent view are 2 of the ranch horses) The second bedroom would be ideal for children- it has 2 twin beds. My husband and I used the "daybed" which is actually a super comfortable queen bed in front of the doors opening out to the large ocean view lanai. We loved waking up there. The kitchen has everything you need to cook at the house (we only ate a few meals out) There is a comfortable dining table by the lanai (and outside tables as well)
There are also 2 bathrooms- one in the house and one an amazing outdoor bathhouse that we all fell in love with with a large walk-in shower and claw foot tub. There is also a washer and dryer in the garage. Yoshi's house also comes with a lovely private pool.

We loved the leisurely pace on the Ranch and enjoyed waking up each morning to gather fresh eggs and herbs from the garden. Our little one was a little young to appreciate it but I imagine small children would really get a kick out of the animals on the Ranch.

We would be remiss if we didn't mention the staff at Puakea Ranch. Christie (the owner) was wonderful- friendly and professional and available to answer any questions. Lise, the Ranch gardener, gave us a great tour of the garden and helped us with a beautiful bouquet for the house.And Josh, the Ranch host, was the person who really made our trip special- showing us around the Ranch, giving us tips and advice, helping us with any requests and even sharing his beloved dog Lola with us. :)

We found the location of the Ranch to be very convenient (about an hour north of the airport) Hawi town is charming with cute little shops and a good coffee house. We also had a surprisingly delicious meal at Sushi Rock. The Ranch concierge helped arrange an amazing whale watching ride which we highly recommend and we also enjoyed riding the Ranch horses. We wanted to try the dolphin experience but we weren't able to make the schedule work. One suggestion would be for the Ranch to have a menu of all of the available activities they can arrange with detailed information and pricing. One of our only frustrations was having to email back and forth with the concierge to arrange our activities. We probably would have scheduled more if the information was more accessible.

Puakea Ranch is great for anyone seeking a truly relaxing Hawaiian experience. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lajollatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our family of five (with kids 12, 6 and 4) had a wonderful time at this charming ranch. Yoshi's House was a wonderful retreat for us, even though we live just 30 minutes away. It was an opportunity to really kick back, relax and enjoy the ranch life. The house was straight out of Country Living magazine and the new bath house was a treat. The kids and my wife loved going down to the hen house every morning to get fresh eggs (ok, I admit it, I enjoyed it too). I loved having our own private pool and large lawn area. I recommend this place for couples and families, tourists and Big Island residents alike...a true getaway from it all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Puakea Ranch and it was amazing. All three of the houses we were in are lovely - Yoshi's House, Cowboy House and James Cottage. Totally relaxing for those that just wanted to hang out at the ranch but great location for touring the island. Great staff - arranged paddle boarding, deep sea fishing & surfing lessons as well as making other activity and dining recommendations. We will definitely be planning another trip to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaR337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My Husband and I chose to get married at the Puakea Ranch in early October. This was truly the best decision we have ever made! Christie (Ranch owner) has thought of everything for both single house rentals and large events. We rented out all of the houses for three nights for our wedding and it was amazing. The ranch is perfect for large gatherings of any sort because everyone is in one place yet at the same time everyone can find space when needed. The houses aren't too close together that you have to hear your neighbors (in our case they were our wedding party and guests), but close enough that you don’t miss out on anything happening with the rest of the guests at the ranch. As a bride this was great because I could oversee preparations for the wedding and visit with friends that came from the mainland, but I could get away and rest when I needed. Yoshi's House is the perfect gathering place for everyone with a large pool and tons of yard space for kids or pets. We were lucky enough to bring our dogs to enjoy our big day and they also loved the ranch. When it got too late our parents were able to retire to 'Miles Away' Bungalow without having to hear us and we were able to continue to enjoy ourselves without feeling like we needed to be quiet for their sake. Another great part about the ranch is that 'Jame’s Cottage' was the perfect honeymoon suite for my husband and me. We were so tired after all the festivities and we were able to slip away, enjoy the hot tub and have a romantic evening. Christie was incredibly helpful throughout the year that we planned our wedding. She answered all of my questions promptly and reminded me of things that I hadn’t thought of (like the importance of a tent which was a HUGE help as it rained the morning of our wedding). While we were at the ranch Josh (Ranch Host) was so helpful, bringing us anything we needed (extension cords, trash cans, etc.) and answering all of our questions to make our wedding perfect. The one downfall to having a large event at the ranch is the lack of cell phone service. Because we had so many people coming and going it was difficult to communicate with different companies delivering services or give directions to lost guests. While we were there we thought that long-range walkie-talkies would be a perfect fix to the lack of cell service. For example, I told my husband to meet at the lower pool at 3pm for our first look photo shoot, however I wasn’t ready until about 3:30. This resulted in our dear friend running back and fourth between the two of us until I was ready. If we had walkie-talkies it would have been much easier, especially for the photographer, decorator, and coordinator. Regardless of the poor cell service I would recommend the Puakea Ranch to anyone looking to have a wedding, family reunion, or just throw a great party. The ambiance is beautiful, the houses are amazing, all that’s needed is great family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aj808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cc5597, Owner at Puakea Ranch, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
What a gorgeous event and reunion this was. So many great friends and family and all the dogs! Too cute. Josh and I were so pleased to see everyone having such a wonderful time at the ranch. And the dresses were just to die for. I need to see more photos! Congratulations again from all of us! We hope to see you for your anniversary! Aloha, Christie, Josh and all your friends at Puakea Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawi
15.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.8 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
16.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
41.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
19.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puakea Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puakea Ranch

Property: Puakea Ranch
Address: 56-2864 Akoni Pule Hwy, Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI 96719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Puakea Ranch Hotel Hawi
Puakea Ranch Hawi, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing