We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoshi's House Timeless & Idyllic”
Review of Puakea Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puakea Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yoshi's House Timeless & Idyllic”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Yoshi's House, at Puakea Ranch, couldn't be recreated. The mix of ancient stone walls, 19th and 20th century ranch fences, garden, pastures, yards, tree lined drives, a charming ranch/plantation home beautifully restored and appointed, Japanese style bathhouse, garage/open shed, and pool is magical, the sheltered but open view setting for it all perfect and the people and animals of the property ideal. Whether basing here to explore the island or settling in and never leaving there, it is the best possible choice a visitor to the Big Island could make. Four friends and I stayed there for the last four nights of a longer trip and couldn't have been happier. It lends itself well to everything from enjoying the place to enjoying each other, and does so effortlessly.

Room Tip: Chat with Christie over the phone. She describes the various homes on the property very well, as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cc5597, Owner at Puakea Ranch, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Nothing makes us happier at the ranch than reading these reviews. We are a small team of dedicated people who strive to create the most relaxing and ideal vacation for all of our guests. The ranch property is such a unique and special place. We know we have a great job in tending to this incredibly beautiful property and scared land. We hope you will return to Puakea again and again. Mahalo for your post. Christie, Josh & the Girls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii. I of course had many ideas in my head of how it would be and what I would do. I never really gave too much thought to the actual location or experience of where I was going to be staying until the very end of the planning process.
A friend invited me to stay with him and a few others at Puakea Ranch in Yoshi's house. Of course I researched what that would entail, but have to say that pictures do not do it justice! The house is beautifully set back at the end of a tree lined gravel road. The wrap around porch has a beautiful view of the ocean, Maui and gorgeous sunsets.
The house is perfect in all of it's details down to the selection of books. The fully stocked kitchen has everything tool, dish and device you could possibly need to cook large meals each day. Add to that the ability to take the supplied baskets down to cut fresh kale, herbs and gather eggs. Practically the entire house can open up, as it is almost entirely lined with doors and windows. The open concept is perfect for never missing the conversation or the sunset, even from the kitchen. The bedrooms are quaint and very very cozy. All the furniture is comfortable and well selected for the space. There is never a lack of seating for dining or for lounging.
No detail is missed. We used the dishwasher, washing machine, food processor and they even supply a Jawbone to plug your ipod into to supply the mood music. There are even 2 fun and friendly dogs that live on the ranch that we quickly adopted as our own having all left our furry friends back home.
The pool is beautiful. It fits perfectly into the setting with the lava rock and simple design. I didn't even realize there was going to be a bath house until I arrived. As someone who is very critical of details, I have to say that this was the nicest I have seen. Nothing was overlooked in here. I could have spent the entire stay in that tub! It really has to be seen to be believed.
The staff were all so wonderful. This includes the horses, dogs, goats and chickens the reside on the Ranch. You should find time to Horseback ride as well. She was a great teacher filled with wonderful information about the property. We liked her so much we asked her to dine with us :)
The best beach on the island is about 15-20 minutes down the road. The nicest beach I have ever seen. There is also a very cute town about 10 minutes north to do your grocery shopping, eat and shop.
I would (and will) stay here again. The most difficult thing about Puakea Ranch is getting yourself to leave it. We kept just wanting to stick around the house and the property. Make sure you tack a few extra days on just to stay put :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank adam_thurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my third trip to the ranch. Every time I come I just want to be here more! Christie keeps making things better with each stay. Josh, the all around ranch boss takes great care of the ranch and the visitors. Lise, the gardener tells us all about the different plants and grows an organic garden which we eat from everyday, along with fresh eggs from the chickens, papayas, avocados, limes and bananas. If you want to be in the real old Hawaii, I highly suggest the Puakea Ranch. It's a perfect place to rest, recover, and rejuvenate!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jillderwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cc5597, Owner at Puakea Ranch, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We LOVE welcoming you back again and again Jill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just stayed at this incredible ranch, had a wonderful time, and never wanted to leave but instead to just enjoy the views and the carefully preserved authenticity of the paniolo lifestyle with some lovely upgrades like a gorgeous bath house and luxurious bedding! We woke to birds singing and sun streaming through coconut fronds and plumeria flowers. The smells were delightful!

The kitchen was well provisioned, we were able to BBQ and enjoy meals on the lanai. In the morning, we had fresh eggs, which were in the fridge and could be replenished by a trip to the chicken coop after feeding time. We had fresh basil from the ranch garden, opened a coconut and macnuts from the ranch fruit stand, and added limes from the surrounding trees to our drinks! We even visited the goats and horses. This time we stayed at Yoshi's house and sweet pool provided hours of raucous enjoyment and relaxation. Little details are everywhere. Even the clothes pins on the line are decorated! Washer and dryer was available with soap and clear directions, although air drying in that warm breeze is fabulous.

This is not a hotel experience, it is much, much more! It is a ranch on acres of land with open spaces, sweet nooks of plants and animals, and beauty everywhere! If this is what you are looking for you will love the experience.This is the third time we have stayed here and it continues to be a magical experience for all!

As far as the recent negative reviews, I am glad we booked again before I saw these. I can only think that these folks (it seems like both Portland reviews are related as they mention some of the same details in the same time frame), were looking for a more sterile experience. We did not have any problem with beds or kitchen. It is a tropical location so one might encounter bugs here and there, but certainly no bed bugs! The road mentioned is simply the road that one uses to access that part of the island. The location is wonderful because it is both private and close to the wonderful experiences in Kohala. The cottages are as promised, lovingly restored from authentic ranch houses. And that bathtub is a wonderful as it looks in the pictures!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkTechK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is what Hawaii is all about. We have traveled the big island for six years now, and can't say there is a place quite like this. The old farm houses are re-done in the most perfect way. The bath house was really impressive with a beautiful copper bathtub. At night you enjoy the peaceful breeze going through the windows. The kitchen of the house we stayed has anything a good chef can ask for, and you can get any ingredients right there in the very cute Hawi town.

The view of the sunset will take your breath away, and the drive up to the cottage (We stayed in "Yoshi's house) is a beautiful ride with a lovers lane set of trees. The pictures looked nice but the real deal is even nicer.

We will be coming back for sure, you get the luxuries of a good resort only you are the only one staying in your cottage. The manager is a lovely and friendly man who was ready to help us with anything, horse rides? fresh eggs from the free range chickens? Impeccable pool?

We know now where we will be staying every year :) This is great for families, romance or groups of friends.

Room Tip: Yoshi's house is the nicest, it has a lovely stone pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cc5597, Owner at Puakea Ranch, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Wow, I just loved reading your review. The ranch truly is a very unique way to experience Hawaii. Reading that you have visited our island so many times and we are your new favorite, just made my week! Thank you.

Each day, everyone involved in Puakea Ranch, do their very best to create a very special experience for our guests. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope you will come to think of Puakea Ranch is your second home on The Big Island. We hope to see you again soon.

Christie & all your friends at Puakea Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Puakea Ranch is located in a beautiful part of the island with wonderful beaches to visit and a perfect place from which to explore. The downside to Puakea Ranch was that our cabin had blood-stained mattresses with thousands of tiny rust stains dotting the mattresses, consistent with bed bugs. Bed bugs are nothing a traveler looks forward to and so we left after two days with a verbal promise from the owner to receive a partial refund. Unfortunately, she did not keep to her word.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cc5597, Owner at Puakea Ranch, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It is very unfortunate that this guest decided to post this review. The fact is, we don't have Bed bugs and we never have and our mattress are certainly not blood stained. This couple needed to shorten their stay. When we could not refund them for the nights they could not stay, they were very upset. So they posted this review. We are a very small business and cancellations effect us greatly. They were within our 30 day cancellation period so the cancelled nights were not refundable. It's that simple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

With views of the ocean, a constant warm breeze, fragrant flowers blooming, a fruit and vegetable garden, a pool, fresh eggs, horseback riding, and so much more my family was so happy. This is a bit like luxury camping but you have the best luxuries: a 4-poster bed, a private bath, and your own washer/dryer. About a 30 minute or a little more drive to the Kohala coast white sand beaches and resorts. The nearby, laid-back, friendly town Hawi closes down early on Sunday, so do your grocery shopping early or expect to drive to the next town for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawi
16.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
15.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
21.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
19.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puakea Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puakea Ranch

Property: Puakea Ranch
Address: 56-2864 Akoni Pule Hwy, Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI 96719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Puakea Ranch Hotel Hawi
Puakea Ranch Hawi, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing