We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sweetest most beautiful Paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puakea Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puakea Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The sweetest most beautiful Paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is what Hawaii is all about. We have traveled the big island for six years now, and can't say there is a place quite like this. The old farm houses are re-done in the most perfect way. The bath house was really impressive with a beautiful copper bathtub. At night you enjoy the peaceful breeze going through the windows. The kitchen of the house we stayed has anything a good chef can ask for, and you can get any ingredients right there in the very cute Hawi town.

The view of the sunset will take your breath away, and the drive up to the cottage (We stayed in "Yoshi's house) is a beautiful ride with a lovers lane set of trees. The pictures looked nice but the real deal is even nicer.

We will be coming back for sure, you get the luxuries of a good resort only you are the only one staying in your cottage. The manager is a lovely and friendly man who was ready to help us with anything, horse rides? fresh eggs from the free range chickens? Impeccable pool?

We know now where we will be staying every year :) This is great for families, romance or groups of friends.

Room Tip: Yoshi's house is the nicest, it has a lovely stone pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cc5597, Owner at Puakea Ranch, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Wow, I just loved reading your review. The ranch truly is a very unique way to experience Hawaii. Reading that you have visited our island so many times and we are your new favorite, just made my week! Thank you.

Each day, everyone involved in Puakea Ranch, do their very best to create a very special experience for our guests. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope you will come to think of Puakea Ranch is your second home on The Big Island. We hope to see you again soon.

Christie & all your friends at Puakea Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Puakea Ranch is located in a beautiful part of the island with wonderful beaches to visit and a perfect place from which to explore. The downside to Puakea Ranch was that our cabin had blood-stained mattresses with thousands of tiny rust stains dotting the mattresses, consistent with bed bugs. Bed bugs are nothing a traveler looks forward to and so we left after two days with a verbal promise from the owner to receive a partial refund. Unfortunately, she did not keep to her word.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cc5597, Owner at Puakea Ranch, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It is very unfortunate that this guest decided to post this review. The fact is, we don't have Bed bugs and we never have and our mattress are certainly not blood stained. This couple needed to shorten their stay. When we could not refund them for the nights they could not stay, they were very upset. So they posted this review. We are a very small business and cancellations effect us greatly. They were within our 30 day cancellation period so the cancelled nights were not refundable. It's that simple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

With views of the ocean, a constant warm breeze, fragrant flowers blooming, a fruit and vegetable garden, a pool, fresh eggs, horseback riding, and so much more my family was so happy. This is a bit like luxury camping but you have the best luxuries: a 4-poster bed, a private bath, and your own washer/dryer. About a 30 minute or a little more drive to the Kohala coast white sand beaches and resorts. The nearby, laid-back, friendly town Hawi closes down early on Sunday, so do your grocery shopping early or expect to drive to the next town for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Puakea Ranch exceeded all our expectations. We went with our two teenage daughters and it was the trip of a lifetime in large part due to the ranch. The setting is spectacular - breathtakingly beautiful during the day, at sunset and at night when the sky is blanketed with stars. More stars than I have ever seen. Staying in a house is so much better than staying at a hotel in cramped rooms with a slice of a view. The house was all windows it was like being outside and inside all at the same time. The breeze filled the house all day and night it was wonderful! The house was beautifully appointed. Like staying at a wealthy friend's house. They have thought of everything, plush big beach towels, beach chairs, and the most adorable green cloth picnic basket! Our girls loved the fresh eggs from the chicken coop, the hammock, the pool, the daybed surrounded by windows nestled in the corner and of course the bathhouse! The open shower with all the windows and great views all with complete privacy and the big deep tub, it was hard to get them out of there!

The location was great, close to town of Havi, resorts, beaches, shopping, hiking were all within a short drive. The Big Island offers so much to do and see and we took advantage of a lot of it. But honestly if we had never left the ranch with all it has to offer, my family would have left happy and satisfied. I can't say enough about the Puakea Ranch. The staff was friendly, the house was beautiful and immaculately clean! Visiting Puakea Ranch is a very special experience and you will not want to leave once you get there to see and feel it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend were lucky enough to stay in Puakea for a week. Peace and quiet, beautiful views and even more beautiful cottages. The ranch is a fantastic place to explore, with more surprises to be found and new animal friends to meet! Everything from the bed in the bedroom to the wash room has been given their own personal touches to make everything so special and so very comfortable.

Beautiful cool down pools overlooking the Ocean; a communal garden with vegetables and herbs to use when cooking on your very own grill; the best place to relax, get back to nature and spend some seriously memorable time with the people you love. Puakea Ranch has become our new favorite place in the world. Don't even think twice about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJLO88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I have recently returned from a week long stay at James Cottage - Puakea Ranch and we are both still on cloud nine. Traveling from London, we couldn't wait to get there and relax, and Puakea Ranch offered the perfect place to unwind. The cottage is just beautiful. The ranch is a short drive to the beach, and even shorter drive to the local town of Hawi, which boasts a number of gorgeous shops and restaurants. Having planned all our activities on the plane to Kona, we threw it away as soon as we saw the Ranch. Puakea Ranch offers a number of activities - walks around the Ranch, horse riding, morning yoga to dolphin watching. There is everything you could ever need, but you are also given complete privacy to enjoy your cottage and it's surrounding to the full. We spent our days at the beach and evenings cooking on our BBQ, followed by a dip in our private hot tub. We got stuck into the herb/veggie/fruit garden next to our cottage and the fresh eggs that are available every morning from the farm chickens. There is nothing to fault about this place, it truly is perfection and the friendly locals and gorgeous weather are just the icing on the cake. We are already planning our next trip to Puakea and our next.....Christie and Jay, what a fantastic place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

To celebrate my 40th birthday with my family, I was looking for just the right vacation spot. I wanted a secluded setting, to ride horses almost every day, and have access to ocean beaches and beautiful warm weather. We were so lucky to find Puakea Ranch, the perfect destination with everything I wanted, the best birthday present!

My family stayed at the Miles Away cottage in complete bliss for 7 days. The cottage was beautifully remodeled, great kitchen, so welcoming and comfy. We all had the best meals, the best sleep, and the best dreams. The fresh eggs and garden are truly unique, I can't ever go back to a resort where these aren't offered.

The horse riding facilities were perfect for what I wanted and wrangler Jana was very helpful and knowledgeable. She has great plans for the outside ring, trails and a cross country course (can't wait for that!).

The energy of the ranch and the whole North Kohala area is incredible, a vibrant and sacred place. Ancient Hawaiian ruins and temples surround and King Kamehameha's birth place is practically across the street.

We can't wait to go back and one word really sums it up...magical!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRI2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawi
16.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
15.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.8 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
41.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
19.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puakea Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puakea Ranch

Property: Puakea Ranch
Address: 56-2864 Akoni Pule Hwy, Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI 96719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Puakea Ranch Hotel Hawi
Puakea Ranch Hawi, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing