We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Get-Away”
Review of Puakea Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puakea Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Puakea Ranch is a way to experience living on a ranch without having all of the responsibilities and hard work. We stayed at the Yoshi House with our two kids and had an amazing time. You drive up the tree-lined driveway and find your own private oasis. I got out of the car and smelled the beautiful flowers that are just outside the front porch. I was able to experience the wrap around porch that I've always wanted that looks out to amazing sunsets and at times you can see Maui. The kids loved the "simple life" of going out to the horses and getting eggs from the chicken coop. They loved the ranch dog, Lola. We really enjoyed having our own private pool instead of hanging out with tourists. We wanted a get away and that is what we got there. The bath house is amazing. I felt like I was in a spa. Our family enjoyed just hanging out at the house. It truly was home away from home. We would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: The Yoshi House is beautiful and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

We recently got married at Puakea Ranch and it was such a unique location for such a special occassion. We reserved each of the cottages at the ranch for our families and friends to participate in the weekend's festivities and in addition to the wedding, our stay will surely be something we'll always remember. The cottages were clean, the decor charming, and the view amazing. With no cell reception and just the sounds of nature, guests to our wedding were impressed by the serene, private environment that felt like old Hawaii-living with the touches of modern amentities. We hope to celebrate a lifetime of anniversaries together...hopefully many on the beautiful Puakea Ranch.

Room Tip: Yoshi's House is the jewel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuckontherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at Puakea Ranch in March, and I am still talking about how amazing it is many months later! It felt like we were in a fairytale- rainbows, whales, butterflies, horses, fields, fresh eggs, a garden, ocean views.... then outside of the ranch were the volcanoes, beaches, gorgeous scenery. The ranch is just perfect- rustic, relaxing, peaceful and beautiful! I cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastelheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

PERFECT getaway! We loved staying here and plan to return yearly after our first stay in James Cottage! We highly recommend this place to friends/family!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darknessevryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I can't stop thinking, or talking about this wonderful place. We first read about the ranch in Sunset Magazine. We were not disappointed. In fact, it was better than we ever imagined. Time alone together is precious and Puakea Ranch gave us this and more. We stayed in James Cottage. We wanted to move in from the moment we walked through the door. The cottage had everything we needed for our stay. The beach chairs and coolers were especially nice for our days at the beach. We loved gathering eggs for our breakfast every morning. Farm fresh eggs will spoil you. The view is amazing. Relaxing in the hot tub while watching the sunset...well one can only imagine. We can't forget to mention the hammock and swing...very nice touch. This is so much better than staying in a resort.. It truely is a home away from home. We plan on coming back. Thank you Christie for this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This place is magical and has kind of gotten under our skin. I find myself thinking about it often and finding ways to go back. The owner is responsive and helpful. We have been telling everyone about this place. One of the best possible vacations with young children. There is a whole shed full of toys, chickens, goats, horses and a little vegetable garden. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Forget the resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in the Miles Away cottage which truly was miles away! We barely saw a soul the whole time we were there except for birds, cows, horses, chickens, goats and the resident dogs. Our comfy, clean cottage contained everything we needed and truly felt like a plantation cottage. We spent many lazy hours by our plunge pool, dipping in when it got too hot, and watching birds splashing in the shallow end - then moving to the deck when the sun got too hot. Fresh eggs from the chickens and veggies & fruit from the garden added to the charm. The town of Hawi was only 2 miles away (you have to eat at Sushi Rock!) and the drive along Kohala Mountain Road to go to the Waimea Market was one of the most scenic drives on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawi
16.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
2.6 mi away
Kohala Village Inn
Kohala Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Hawi
47 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
4.9 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
19.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puakea Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puakea Ranch

Address: 56-2864 Akoni Pule Hwy, Hawi, Island of Hawaii, HI 96719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hawi
Price Range: $353 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puakea Ranch is a historic ranch on the northern tip of the big island. We have four historic guest cottages spread out over 33 ac. of gorgeous rugged land with sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Puakea Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puakea Ranch Hotel Hawi
Puakea Ranch Hawi, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing