We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place for the heart”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hakalau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hakalau B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place for the heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is not a tourist accommodation, but a place of rest and peace for anyone wandering and exploring this beautiful island. Akiko introduced me to buddhist meditation and the local community alike and made me feel welcome at the beginning of a long journey. Her profound love for the land and people touched my heart. Mahalo!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eabluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Akiko's offers the quintessential aloha experience. She and her assistant, Linda, were so welcoming and accommodating, and the property is nothing short of breathtaking. If you are looking to break away and simply be in the beauty of the area, this is the place. You feel pampered without the high-tech and noise of high-end resorts. You are provided with everything you need. After a short 10 min. walk, you are in an isolated cove where you will likely be the only one enjoying the ocean and reveling in the serenity of your surroundings. Akiko also provides a wonderful breakfast with locally grown fruit and yummy bread! There's also opportunity to meditate with her, if you desire.

Room Tip: Please contact Akiko so together you can find the best fit for you, whether you are traveling solo o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My Time at Akiko’s April 2013

I am shortly ending my 3rd stay at Akiko’s B&B in sleepy little Wailea Village just north of Hilo. It has been a rest full and peace full time. I’m wondering when I will be back again to enjoy the special nature of this place. I have stayed mostly in the Pu'uhonua House. Freshly painted and decorated the house has an air of sunny optimism but retains the old bones and character of the previous owners and time gone by. The house exudes a feeling of family (Ohana), a sense of place and being that large resorts will never have.

While you spend time at Akiko’s make time to get a tour of her gardens. For dinner get some groceries at a local market and cook your own dinner in the Pu’uhonua house kitchen and share a meal with your fellow travelers. Not to be missed is the very large Japanese style shower where you can wash away the days worries and come out squeaky clean. Be careful in the evening not to lie down too early or the sounds of the night from the rain or birds and frogs will lull you to sleep before you know it. At night you will be lucky to hear one car go by every hour or so on the Old Malamalahoa byway, a part of Hawaii that time forgot. In the morning Akiko will greet you with fresh coffee or tea and a filling hot cereal and fresh fruit breakfast and maybe will share with you her wisdom.

If you are on this part of the island Akiko’s is a great place to tour the area being central to Hilo and the Hamakua Coast sites. If here on a retreat you will be refreshed and if needing helpful advice Akiko will be here to assist you, often to encourage you to explore on your own. A long walk down to nearby Kolokole Beach Park or Hakalau Landing will help clear you mind and spirit.

If you are a musician or artist looking for a special small venue to exhibit your work Akiko’s garage gallery might be a good place to consider as well.

Room Tip: Great if you want an anti resort.....Old Hawaii feeling. Bring a friend to share the costs and peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheodoreJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband & I (both stressed out New Yorkers) loved staying at Akiko's.

We were on the Big Island for 5 nights. We stayed at Akiko's Buddhist B&B for 3 nights to explore the eastern side of the Island and then stayed at a huge hotel compound near Waikoloa Village to attend a wedding on the western side of the island. While Akiko's Buddhist B&B does not provide valet parking, direct beach access, or the hand-and-food service of a massive hotel, what this gem of a place does offer is incomparable: an unparalleled Hawaiian experience. This B&B is off the beaten track -- and with good reason -- the atmosphere is serene, calming, and inviting. We felt free to walk through Akiko's lush gardens and enjoy the scents and sounds of Hawaiian nature. In the mornings, Akiko makes a (huge!) healthy, organic and locavorian breakfast. We enjoyed eggs (fresh from a neighbor's coop), homemade breads (made of taro/passion fruit/guava), and delicious fruits and plantains.

We enjoyed day trips to Mauna Kea, Akaka Falls, Volcano National Park, and Hilo. The drive to Volcano National Park was a bit far, about an hour, but it was great to have a "home base" to return to where we didn't have to set-up camp at another hotel and the drives were quite lovely.

Our rooms were lovely as well -- simple but very comfortable. The other guests were delightful and we saw them at breakfast (Akiko's place encompasses cottages and houses that are clustered together ... so there's definitely privacy if you want that or the opportunity to meet other travelers).

We'd love to come back here and stay at Akiko's again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have been to various of the Hawaiian Islands and stayed in many different places in Hawaii and this place was absolutely charming. I stayed in the large stand-alone cabin and loved being in the woods all by myself, listening to the frogs and the crickets and the wild boars(?) going by in the night. Akiko is a gem and could not have been more welcoming. She was calm, helpful, attentive and fascinating. I have gotten very interested in Buddhism since visiting with her and she even let me purchase and bring home the statue of the goddess of compassion which I admired in my room. The food was healthy and quite adequate; the location just a bit north of Hilo was perfect for my week's stay on this side of the island. If you don't like primitive, you should stay somewhere else; but if you don't mind the simple side of life, you'll love it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

My daughter and I came to the Big Island of Hawai’i to see a live volcano. But, what we discovered staying at Akiko’s B&B awoke something inside of us, something beautiful, solid, bright and serene.
It came from a deep place and is still just barely starting to pour out. We immediately felt welcomed and at home. Akiko’s reference to my daughter’s work cleaning houses as “creating spaces of peace” still lifts my spirits.

My daughter writes, “I felt a tiny little place of calm and peace, acceptance and happiness, staying at Akiko's Bed and Breakfast. I touched it briefly, for a moment, and like all moments it comes and
goes. What’s important, is that I felt it, and have faith that with practice and patience it will come again and hopefully each time a little longer. Akiko's bed and breakfast awoke a sleeping volcano
within myself.”

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Each year Akiko's B & B hosts a group of photographers with all skill levels. This year we had 12 people in our group which is lead by Douglas Beasley, Photographer. I encourage everyone to stay at Akiko's on the Big Island. You will experience many things including the local culture, relaxation, great food (ginger tea, fresh papaya each morning). A wonderful time and I look forward to returning soon. You are in the woods so be prepared to listen to the sounds of the forest during the night also.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenaeHesselink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hakalau
1.4 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
11.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
11.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hamakua Guesthouse and Camping Cabanas
6.2 mi away
Island Goode's
Island Goode's
#1 of 2 in Papaikou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast

Property: Akiko's Buddhist Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29-2091 Old Mamalahoa Hwy, Hakalau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96710-0272
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hakalau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hakalau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing