We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding B&B Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kealakekua Bay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Kansas City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B Experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sorry for the delay in review but I wanted to make sure and let everyone know about our wonderful experience here in November 2010.

My wife and I stayed here just 1 night during our honeymoon trip around Hawaii but this was definitely one of the highlights. I had stayed in the Kealakekua region once before during a prior visit so I knew I wanted to return.

The property, staff (Emily), and food were all outstanding. The view from the dining porch was amazing and I really enjoyed exploring the flowers on the ground.

When I return to the Big Island I would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caspar, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Emily greeted us like lost family and showed us to our palatial room. No glass in the windows, so the ocean breeze keeps the air fresh and perfect. Out the screened window: the Bay with Captain Cook's monument visible across the inviting water.
Breakfast by a neighbor using fruits and coffee from her own garden. A fascinating author (guest) as a breakfast companion -- he had come to write in serenity after a demanding trip. Our breakfast chef's husband, the coffee farmer, appeared for a late breakfast and gave us the local "slice of life" for which B&Bs are justly famous.
An easy walk to the beach; nearby points of interest; day and nighttime calm and quiet. We could easily move in!

Room Tip: The Alii room is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunhawk95420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
409 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed in the B&B guest cottage, rather than inside the B&B, but I can certainly recommend the B&B based on what I saw. The B&B house looks quite nice and is set on a lovely piece of well-tended property overlooking the bay. The location is superb: it is just a few minutes' walk to some small beaches on the bay, and a 5 minute drive to one of the best snorkeling spots on the island, "Place of Refuge." The B&B is perhaps 15 minutes' drive from the commercial development of Kona, but feels like it is a world apart.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wow, this place is a real slice of heaven!! The gardens are wonderful packed full of beautiful plants and vegetables gardens, the veggies are served in the breakfasts or given to guests who would like to make a salad or have a snack. The views are like something out of a travel magazine. The staff, well they make the place what it is. Emily's a sweet and quick witted her breakfasts...terrific!! We had something different to eat every morning everything mouth water and delicious. Jed and Geoff the gardeners they are all the nicest people and take time and care with all the guests. My wife and I both have stressful careers this location and Bed and Breakfast was EXACTLY what we needed to unwind, reconnect, and recharge. I would suggest Kealakekua Bay Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for tranquil slice of heaven for their vacation

Room Tip: All the rooms are great we stayed in the Ali'i room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are heading to the Big Island and don't want to stay at a large, impersonal resort but want a taste of real Hawaii, then this is the place to go. Kealakekua Bay B & B is spectacularly located a short walk from the Bay itself, and the view from the property is irresistible. I could have sat on the lanai or in the ample yard and looked at that view all day but, of course, the kayaking, snorkeling, and paddle-boarding beckoned. We were even lucky enough to spot spinner dolphins through the binoculars that Emily, the innkeeper, keeps on the dining table, and we dashed down to the bay and got into a kayak to see them up close and personal. It was a highlight of our trip.

Back to the accommodations, the rooms at this B & B are beautiful without being fussy, and the comfort in our own room as well as all the common areas made it feel like I was at my home away from home. We stayed there 4 nights but I could have spent my whole vacation there. Emily is delightful, and was very helpful when we were choosing places to have dinner that weren't touristy but were enjoyed by locals, too. And the breakfasts are well thought out and delicious!

This location may seem remote to some, but we were in even more remote spots in Maui. The road to this B & B is in prime condition and is well lit at night, and the location itself affords you proximity to the bay and to town, as well as dramatic views you will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Everything about Kealakekua Bay Bed and Breakfast is charming, warm, beautiful, and quite special. The house, itself, is marvelously decorated in the simplest and most tasteful way. It is spacious, welcoming, and comfortable. The grounds are landscaped so that native trees and flowers blend seamlessly with a beautifully landscaped garden. And the view is beyond words. I never tired of sitting on a lounge chair overlooking the bay and contemplating all that Hawaii has to offer.

We are snorkelers so the very short walk to the bay was just the convenience we wanted. The day we saw spinner dophins in the bay we just ran down and hopped into a kayak to get a close up view. Those dolphins have to be seen to be believed! But if you're not into "close up and personal" with dolphins, there are binoculars at the B & B that will afford you a good look from a distance.

Emily, the owner of the B & B, is as charming as her home is, and her breakfasts are delicious. Sitting at her dining table overlooking the bay in the early morning and enjoying fresh fruit from her garden is something I will never forget.

Some have commented that this B & B is away from the town and requires a bit of a drive to get anywhere. This is true, but one would choose to come here to get away from the main drag and see what life is like for Hawaiians who live near Kealakekua Bay (and, btw, the ride is painless compared to some others we took in Hawaii!). Our last night on the Big Island we went to Kona for dinner and stopped at a couple of the resort properties to see what they were like. There was not a doubt in our minds that we had chosen well by coming to Bay Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in 5 places on 3 islands on this trip to Hawaii, and this was our favorite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This review is well overdue, as we stayed at Kealakekua back in March of this year. We were redirected to this B and B at the last minute, following a water damage issue that forced us from our originally planned stay at another B and B up the street -- as it turns out, we couldn't be happier! The property is spacious and very well maintained, the rooms are a decent size and very clean. Emily is a great host who can provide endless recommendations on things to do in the area. The property is somewhat removed from the main 'strip', but we were after a quiet and peaceful setting and this property filled the ticket. The breakfasts were freshly made each day by Emily, and consisted of baked goods and seasonal fruits. Overall it was a great experience and one of my favourite places to stay on the Big Island - we plan on going back next time we visit Hawaii! Keep up the great work Emily!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
12.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.5 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.1 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
279 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kealakekua Bay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kealakekua Bay Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kealakekua Bay Bed & Breakfast
Address: 82-6002 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8212
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kealakekua Bay Bed & Breakfast and our Ohana Kai Guest Cottage are comfortable, open-air Mediterranean/Polynesian-style villas overlooking the pristine waters of Kealakekua Bay on the sunny South Kona coast of the Big Island of Hawaii, as well as being gently cradled behind by the majestic Pali (cliffs). Located in the heart of Kona's lush coffee country, this five-acre tropical estate is a peaceful and romantic haven, set amongst beautiful park-like gardens of fragrant flowers, colorful plants, stunning trees, and singing birds. We are only a five-minute walk from the ocean, snorkeling, and kayaking; also conveniently located with a ten-minute drive to stores and restaurants of our small mauka (up-country) communities of historical Kealakekua and Captain Cook – where the people still live a slower paced life of days gone by, as well as some of the best restaurants on the island! Our Bed and Breakfast provides our visitors with a lovingly prepared breakfast featuring local produce, while our Ohana Kai Guest Cottage does not include breakfast, it does allows our guests the convenience of a fully appointed vacation rental. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kealakekua Bay b&b
Kealakekua Bay Hotel Captain Cook
Kealakekua Bay Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing