We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After a hot and dusty backpacking trip, my husband and I decided to spoil ourselves on our last day experiencing the Big Island...and boy did we ever! This gorgeous place happened to have one room left and we could not have been happier. From the moment we arrived we were showered with hospitality and the real Aloha spirit. From the breath taking views, to the comfy porch, to the delicious homebaked cookies and fresh Island fruit, to the hot tub, the outdoor volcano shower to the comfy bed and gorgeous breakfast, we were in heaven and regretted that we had found this treasure so late in our trip! We will be back!

Room Tip: Book early as they fill up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VesnaGatlinburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 423 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ka'awa Loa Plantation. The property is casual elegance at it's best, decorated with Hawaiian art. The buffet breakfasts were abundant and delicious. Michael baked up brownies and pineapple unside down cake for tea in the afternoon. What a treat! We loved the deck with it's wonderful view of the Kona coast. We really enjoyed the hot tub as well. Michael and Greg are wonderful hosts; so personable and humerous. This is a joyful experience.

Room Tip: Any room with at least a half bath. So you have a toilet and sink in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is one beautiful B&B. A beautiful home high up on the hill overlooking the Captain Cook harbor. Fantastic views off the rear open air porch. The owners, Mike & Greg, are fabulous. Greeted us at the door and, since we were a group of 11, they basically gave us the run of the house. Very friendly people. Large kitchen and living room and a huge porch, with lots of rocking chairs. They baked desert for us both nights we were there and made a fantastic breakfast. Lots of fresh fruit. Their home sits maybe 100 yards behind the B&B, so we really had the place to ourselves. Most of the rooms do not have full baths, but that was not a problem. There is one full bathroom inside and two wonderful open air showers outside. I highly recommend this facility and would love to come back again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I spend three nights at Ka'awa Loa plantation during Thanksgiving 2013 holidays.

We had a late flight from San Francisco, so we arrived pretty late in the night. The owner left us a note with instructions about how to reach the room.

When we woke up in the morning and we discovered how beautiful the place was we were astonished :-). And the breakfast is fantastique, the owners are lovely :-)

The place is the perfect location in south Kona I really recommend it.

I want to go back !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaud94123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place is simply amazing. We stayed for just one night but we wished we would never have to leave again. Already when you enter the lobby, you feel that this place is special and you immediately start to relax. The sunset from the terrace that we saw was absolutely stunning. The breakfast was amazing, too, with fresh fruits from the garden, as much as you can eat. Our room on the second floor was perfect for a couple-- very romantic. Whereever you walk around on the estate you discover a new detail that a lot of attention was paid to. I could go on and on. Just experience it yourself!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritzi2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The view from the lanai -- sitting on the hillside overlooking the sun setting -- perfect! This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Immaculately clean, lovely food, incredibly comfortable, and very quiet. The hot tub and outdoor rainshower are a treat. The hosts are welcoming and generous. The food is great. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

First of all, the hosts, Hanna, Michael, and Greg are so warm and welcoming! Michael cooks a specialty breakfast every morning complete with platters of all the local fruit! The Plantation House has spacious, beautiful rooms with a lovely kitchen, living room, and huge verandas which overlook the beautiful Kona Coast! Beautiful beaches for exploring or snorkeling are nearby. There is even an outdoor jacuzzi with outdoor, garden wall showers! This place is truly a paradise unto itself!

Room Tip: Although most guests are very quiet, to minimize noise, choose a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstarflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
43.8 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
9.9 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
315 reviews
65.4 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $226 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing