We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$271
$239
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$182
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$140
$131
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,115
$1,039
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$519
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$649
$299
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
402
18
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
18
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf bathoutdoor showermango juicebrowniethe main houseback porchb bthe big islandlava showermountain roomegg bakeocean viewday bedgreat hostsevery morningshared bathroomour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 426 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed five nights at Ka'awa Loa Plantation where we immediately were made to feel welcome and where we were able to relax surrounded by all the beauty and bounty of Hawaii. The property sits high on a hillside with mature trees and vegetation. The views are panoramic of the bay, hillside and cliffs above and around where the Captain Cook monument resides. Michael and Greg are gracious hosts and knowledgeable guides for restaurants and activities. We enjoyed Greg's parents while we were there and loved that they just pitch in and immerse themselves with guests and the workload while they are visiting family in Hawaii. The Ka'awa Loa Plantation demonstrates a genuine sense of place which is something we hold in high regard. The decor and artwork are tasteful, interesting and inviting and rooted in the Hawaiian culture.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor suite and found it very comfortable and spacious. It worked well for us for our stay of five nights.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfmt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The steep driveway leads you up to a spectacular view that is worth the drive! Michael and Greg were warm, welcoming and genuine. We stayed at another B & B on the big island after this one, and it felt like you were staying with the your least favorite, neurotic grandmother. Here, you get attentive hosts, but with plenty of privacy as well. Both Michael and Greg seem like very content, insightful people, and they are exactly the kind of folks you want running a B & B! Breakfast included more than just your standard carb buffet of baked goods, and was truly delish. Great coffee and fruits grown on site and Michael makes cooking for large crowds look effortless. Get on the swing, enjoy the hot tub and just relax! If you want a great restaurant nearby...Holuakoa Cafe and Gardens is a little bit of a drive from here, but is so worth it. We had the BEST food, and it set the bar so high, the rest of trip was spent reminiscing about this one fabulous meal (make reservations). I wish we had spent our entire trip here!

Room Tip: We had the guest cottage, which was wonderful for a romantic getaway with a little extra privacy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udontknowme711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Ka'awa Loa Plantation is perfect! I want to be selfish and keep it a secret but that wouldn't be fair to the amazing hosts, Greg and Michael. :) We stayed here 3 nights at the end of our trip to Hawai'i and wished we stayed a full week. The house itself is situated up a hill (steep driveway!) with breakthtaking views of the bay and beautiful property. Michael grows his own fruit and coffee on the grounds, which he serves at breakfast.

We arrived to fresh baked brownies, fresh fruit and coffee at 6:00pm. The house is large and beautifully decorated. We stayed in an upstairs room with private 1/2 bath. The main bath in hallway was great with full shower, tub and amenities. In addition, there are two lava rock showers outside on property.
Breakfast is awesome! A full buffet of fresh fruit, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, bacon/turkey bacon, sausage, banana pancakes, eggs, etc (Michael cooks something different every morning) You can choose to sit outside on porch to enjoy breakfast or sit at the kitchen table and chat with Michael. Hes a very friendly and passionate person.
Captain Cook is a great location, south of the busy Kona area but near lots of restaurants and a short drive to beach/bay.

Michael and Greg pay close attention to the small details. ie) Fresh flowers in each room, robes, variety of breakfast items to choose from, snorkel equipment, beach towels, bathroom amenities as needed, local attraction recommendations/suggestions, etc etc etc

We loved this property and would stay again next trip! There are multiple rooms to choose from and a suite with kitchen on main floor. Michael and Greg live up the hill and encourages everyone to 'make themselves at home' with full use of kitchen and living areas so you never have to 'tip-toe' around someone elses house. Fabulous, comfortable, warm, clean beautiful stay!

Room Tip: If you want a private shower you will need to request a room with one. The shared bathroom(s) were never an issue for us.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We started our Big Island visit here, and it was all that we hoped for and more. So beautiful, inside and out. Early morning with the rising sun, rocking chairs, hot tub, and outdoor lava shower. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Spent about half each day exploring the area, the rest of the day, especially sunset, relaxing on the massive porch with Champagne and take-out from local markets. We only wish we had booked a longer stay.

Room Tip: The suite was wonderful: very large room; huge bath with soaking tub, walk-in shower, separate WC. Huge walk-in closet helped us keep the room neat and our things organized. Heads up (not a complaint): some bath amenities provided, but no hand lotion or hair dryer.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrsAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

How a trip to the Big Island can become just perfect? By staying at this truly wonderful B&B.
Look no further, this is the place you have to choose.
The house itself is beautiful with such an attention to details, the view is amazing, the breakfast delicious and the hosts, Michael and Greg so wonderful.
Five stars resorts can not compete with Ka'awa Loa Plantation.
It was our second stay here and we can not wait for our third.
When at work I think about vacation, I picture myself having their great breakfast, looking at the bay, going to the lava shower...
Thank you Michael and Greg for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews