We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great bed and breakfast”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a fantastic time celebrating my friend's birthday. Three of us came - two stayed in the cottage across from the main house and one stayed in the main house. Loved outdoor lava shower! Cottage was small but cute and perfect for two people or a couple and one child. Has mini-kitchen, shower, and TV (main house rooms do not have TV or private shower). Lovely big kitchen in main house where substantial full breakfast served in the morning. Owners live in house 200' up the hill so the well-stocked kitchen is just for guests the rest of the day. Breakfast accommodated to special dietary needs and included fresh fruit grown on the property and varied from eggs, french toast with macadamia nuts, etc. Lots of places to sit inside and outside with just your party. Lovely, traditional old-Hawaii grounds with fantastic view were great to relax and enjoy - made you want to come back from activities and hang out, watch the sunset. Easy drive to Place of Refuge, snorkeling, hiking, restaurants, and town of Kona 30 min away. Owners pleasant and personable but not intrusive. Very steep driveway up to property but regular rental car did fine. Early morning wildlife and roosters - may want earplugs if you are a light sleeper and staying in the Cottage. Could hear snoring guest next door one night in the main house. Overall, was totally fabulous and well worth it - will definitely come back!

Room Tip: TV and own shower only in Cottage, but outdoor lava shower was the best and looked for excuses to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrothhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
301
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hailey, ID
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Perfect in every way--from the professional yet FUN hosts, to the lovely rooms, to the dramatic ocean vistas, to the fabulous breakfasts, to the special touches that were everywhere. We are rejuvenated and will dream about our vacation for a long time. Will be back, hopefully with extended family, so we can share the special place that is Ka'awa Loa Plantation.

Thank you, hosts Greg and Michael, for everything you do to create an incredible experience for your guests.

Room Tip: We did not have a room above the kitchen, but possibly this would be an issue in the mornings?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Greg and Michael are the perfect hosts, who run a brilliant place. The home is stunning and the views and facilities are great. The outdoor hot tub with panoramic views of the sea are just perfect for a relaxing break. Michael makes and presents excellent breakfasts. Stay here to experience a slice if paradise. The outdoor shower must not be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malaysian92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just stay here. That is all.

If you need more info, here it is:
1) Greg and Michael are fantastic guys. They are amazing hosts and you couldn't ask for nicer people.

2) Their plantation is beautiful. The main house is open, sunny, immaculate, beautiful, and has the best front porch I've ever seen.

3) It's close to everything.

We didn't stay here long enough. We only stayed here for 3 nights. I would EASILY have stayed her much longer.

Stop reading this review and book a room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Most amazing bed and breakfast. Very clean and wonderful breakfast. They even put wine and a little snack out in late afternoon. They have there own coffee which is the best coffee I have ever tasted. You must try the outdoor shower. I thought I wouldn't like it but was suprised. It was so nice to be showering and hear the birds singing. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hosts Michael and Greg manage to focus on the individual guest, but not intrude. How do they do that? They know the area well, and are excited about all restaurants and sights nearby.
I only stayed one night, in their little cottage. I look forward to coming back for a week of exploring, reading and writing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfilmcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ka'awa Loa was the highlight of our honeymoon!

Prior to our stay Michael and Greg were both very accommodating. We knew we were going to be a little early and were going to be driving down from Kona, so they gave us a fantastic list of lunch spots to stop on our way down. They also provided us with a few fun activities to do while we were there!

After eating in Kona at one of the recommended lunch spots we arrived at Ka'awa Loa around check in time. When we arrived we were welcomed by Greg who showed us our room and around the grounds. He then had us take a seat on the amazing porch and brought us freshly cut fruit and mango juice! I could've stayed on that porch and eaten the fruit forever. This is exactly what I anticipated Hawaii to be.

There is a bit of a drive up the hill to the grounds but it wasn't bad and we weren't too far from anything we wanted to see or do. Our first morning we went off to Kayak and Snorkel and I believe they got up a little earlier than normal so we could eat breakfast before we left. The breakfasts were amazing! One morning was a quiche and the next pancakes - both with fresh fruit and coffee from the grounds. They also lent us beach towels and if we needed them snorkel gear.

I was a little nervous about the outdoor shower, but after snorkeling we came back and decided to give it a try. There was something about showering outside in the sun that was so relaxing and I highly recommend it.

I had contacted them prior to our stay about setting up some fruits and wine for our first evening there (it was the first night of our honeymoon). They kept it a secret and set it up while my husband and I were out to dinner. We came back to the room with Dragonfruit, Starfruit, Papaya, some amazing chocolate mousse (should've gotten the name of this), Chocolate Macadamia Nuts, Bananas and a bottle of wine.

The hospitality, grounds, location, everything was top notch! We stayed in several places while on the Big Island (including a resort) and this was by far the best of all of them! I can't wait to come back and spend our entire trip here!

Thank you Greg and Michael for everything you do and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
12.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
36.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
24.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Property: Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing