We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights of bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
little rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three nights of bliss”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wonderful place and people. You will not be disappointed unless you are super snobby and then why would you stay in a B&B? Absolutely stunning view. Close to Captain Cook bay and place of refuge. The hosts are very nice. Food is great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
299
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If we could give this property 4.5 stars we would. It is one of those places that with a few minor tweaks could be perfection. Our primary host was Gregory. He was outgoing and helpful without being overbearing. The property is secluded and could be challenging to find, but the owners provided very clear directions on how to get there. Once you get there, the views are spectacular. It has a wonderful wrap around porch that is terrific for sitting on any time of the day or night. Breakfast was very good every day and varied – fresh fruit, pancakes, bacon, smoothies, etc. The rooms are comfortable. Ours only had a half bath, so we used the shared showers – both indoor and outdoor. The outdoor shower was pretty cool but probably best used at night – folks working the adjoining farm can have a show if you happen to be in there during the daytime hours.

One big item to consider – if you prefer to sleep in on your vacations, you may want to book the separate cottage. The noise of breakfast preparation can be heard throughout the main house, or at least in the room we were in at the top of the stairs. Also, these are very friendly people who love to talk with guests so the noise can be a bit much in the morning. Other things that impacted our rating include minor items such as not-quite-hot coffee in the mornings, housekeeping did not make up our room or provide clean towels one of the nights we were there, and that there are no individual toiletry items (shampoo, lotion) provided in the rooms. Small things, but the type of items that make a five star recommendation difficult.

Room Tip: Noise can be an issue, so choose your room accordingly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We love Ka'awa Loa so much, we couldn't resist returning again this year. When the Vancouver winter rain is coming down, I dream of this beautiful place ... the incredible view, the warm and fragrant air, the outdoor showers, sitting on the lanai, listening to the birds, enjoying the delicious breakfast, and so on.
There's no doubt that the location and accommodation are outstanding, but the special added extra is the kindness and warm hospitality of Greg and Michael.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great ... even the rooms with no view. And room changes (if necessary) couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived at Ka' Awa Loa Plantation late having just flown in from 2 weeks in Canada. It was just beautiful walking into the warmth of this home,large,open, inviting,comfortable and interesting decor. Sitting on the Lanai having a cuppa after a long day was beautiful even though we couldn't see the view. We had that to look forward to in the morning. Walking down to the kitchen the next morning we followed the aroma of coffee and banana pancakes being made by Michael, and they were good, and a bunch of friendly other guests sat around the table chatting. Talking to the other guests helped us plan our days in Hawaii they had some good tips. Looking down to the bay at the bottom of the hill was lovely and we were invited to gather snorkels and flippers from the garage and go for a snorkel. Well that was the best thing we did in Hawaii, so many colourful fish and swimming with more than 20 spinner dolphins was truly incredible. We were only there for two nights but wished we could have stayed longer. Truly a wonderful place to stay, with very informative and helpful hosts in Michael and Greg. One day we'll be back! We would thoroughly recommend this Band B much better than any 5 Star Fairmont Hotel. Mahalo and Aloha

Room Tip: Any room in the house would be great but an ensuite is an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We staye less than 12 hours in the suite to the left as you walk in the door. It was so quiet and lovely, and we woke up to a perfect view of the sea. The bed was great, as was the shower, although we ran out of hot water for a bath too.. The breakfast was just phenomenal, other guests were polite, but everyone was blissfully enjoying the morning view. Sadly, we did not get to explore more, but we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystwirling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Plantation house was absolutely beautiful. Large Lanai viewing 60 miles of country and facing the sun setting every night, great outside Lava showers, hot tub, ...Everything was more then we expected and simply stunning. The breakfasts were great with lots of choices of what to eat. The rooms were great. The hosts, Micheal, Greg and Joe were great hosts. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgarySamiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The house and the surroundings are absolutely beautiful and the view from the lanai is simply stunning! We simply loved watching the sunsets from the lanai, while sipping on a glass of wine and nibbling on delicious pupus. The view is Hawaii at its best. We also enjoyed the garden shower and the hot tub very much, as well as delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the Mountain room, which is one of their basic rooms with no ocean view, very affordably priced. It is very cozy and the lack of the view from the room is very well made up for by the view from lanai.
Greg and Michael are perfect hosts, they are happy to share their vast knowledge of the place and give great advice on what to do and where. One can see they have a lot of experience in high class tourism, they are running the place perfectly and everybody feels very welcome at their place.

The house is perfectly located, very close to the best snorkeling we have ever experienced and also close to Kona - don't miss an opportunity for a manta ray dive from Kona! There are also some great restaurants in the vicinity of the house.

This is one of the places we plan to return to one day. Greg and Michael, mahalo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vedrana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
12.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
36.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
12.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,183 reviews
32.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Property: Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing