We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$271
$239
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$182
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$140
$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,039
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$519
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$649
$299
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
402
18
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
18
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf bathoutdoor showermango juicebrowniethe main houseback porchb bthe big islandlava showermountain roomegg bakeocean viewday bedgreat hostsevery morningshared bathroomour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 426 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this guesthouse for the last 4 days of our 2 week vacation. It was just lovely. We felt like family immediately upon arrival, even though we showed up an hour before check-in time. Michael and Greg were both warm and gracious, and so helpful.

The atmosphere is casual, the rooms clean and comfortable, the gardens just beautiful. And the lanai!!!! We spent so much time on this lanai with its spectacular view of the ocean and country side. Our room had a 2-piece bath which was quite enough for us as we used the outdoor showers all the time. Just loved their atmosphere and abundant hot water.

Michael is a master of breakfasts -- something tasty and new each day (my favourite were the banana pancakes), with a huge assortment of fresh fruits from their own trees, wonderful coffee, also home grown, and yummy breads and home-made jams. These guys are good when it comes to local and fresh foods.

The kitchen is huge and available for your own food prep should you wish to stay home for meals. We did on a number of occasions and found it to be well equipped. Also had a BBQ outside which we used. Just great.

Greg helped with all sorts of information and reservations, as well as baking some pretty decadent cholcoate brownies a couple of times. Betty the Border Collie kept us entertained with her ball antics.

All in all a fantastic place to stay. Very close to K Bay and the Place of Refuge, with some great snorkeling. We just loved it and would go back in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC-Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I really enjoy the bed and breakfast experience. Ka'awa Loa Plantation didn't disappoint.

When we arrived, we couldn't believe the view. The pictures certainly don't do it justice. The porch was a place of respit. We loved enjoying coffee, breakfast and reading a book out on the porch.

Greg and Michael were great hosts. Breakfast was great, and visiting Hawaii for our first time, at many a fruit we had never even heard of before.

I highly recommend the Plantation. We also stayed in two rooms during our stay, and preferred the larger suite with the bathroom. Spend the extra money if a suite with a bathroom is available.

One more tip is to drive down to Captain Cook's cove. We didn't do this until the last day and only had about 10-15 minutes to enjoy it. Wish we would have taken advantage of the proximity of the cove as it's absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent our first 2 nights on the Big island here - and wished we had stayed more! The view is absolutely wonderful!! We snorkeled the next day at 2 step and swam with dolphins. Breakfast was good. Everyone is friendly but more of a eat on the lanai at your own table and chat between tables or after. Loved the outdoor shower. Ladies bring conditioner and tissues! Thx for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: It is more about the back yard view than the room you stay in!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateverod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been here I think 4 times. Its always great!!! Clean, friendly, great vibe, great accommodations, wonderful outdoor lava shower, incredible view off back Lanai, great location in Kona near pristine beaches, awesome breakfast, great value, great times!!!!!

I travel a lot, all over the world and trust me this is one of the best! Michael and Greg are on it.
Trust me, you will love Ka"awa Loa Plantation!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Ka'awa Loa Plantation for three nights in September, two of them in the suite and one in the cottage.
Upon arriving, we were welcomed by the hosts with mango juice and ice coffee on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the ocean. The hosts Michael and Greg were genuinely friendly, and helped us with advice about activities and restaurants in the neighborhood.
The breakfasts were very rich; lots of fresh fruits, blueberry pancakes (yummy!), bacon & egg, bread, ...
The suite was very nice and spacious. One of the reason we booked this, instead of one of the smaller rooms, was that the suite has a shower of its own. At the end it turned out that we used the lava stone shower in the garden instead. After, a bit skeptical, having tried it once, we were hooked to the jungle-feeling of this shower.
The cottage feels a bit more primitive than the suite, but offers more privacy than living in the main house, since you have a small garden of your own where you can enjoy your beer after a strenuous day of hiking and snorkeling. We actually felt a bit isolated there, so we still went down to the terrace in the main building for a nightcap and a chat with the other guests.

There are quite a few good restaurants nearby (Michael and Greg have a well updated list of restaurants with menus), but you need to take that car to get to them. The kitchen is well equipped, so self-cooking is also an alternative.

WiFi works fine in the main building, but not in the cottage.

Then next time I go to Big Island I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews