We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
Ranked #7 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My sister and I really enjoyed our stay at the Edge and wished we'd been able to stay longer. Kurt and Kana are wonderful hosts and their home is comfortable and unpretentious. We liked the Nut Room--a great value for the price. The grounds are lovely and the views of the ocean are great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Kurt and family were extremely friendly and accommodating. We loved the room, the view and the whole house. We brought our two young kids and they felt comfortable roaming the grounds and enjoyed playing with Kurt's daughter Jenna. The breakfast was excellent, featuring fresh fruit and a variety of main dishes. Kurt was an excellent tour guide, offering great insights into local activities as well as a botanical tour of his property. We stayed in the "crow's nest" and had a wonderful view of the Kona coastline. We would recommend the Edge to everyone and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Recommended by friends who were there last October! What a good recommendation, thank you to our friends Doris and Eric. The Pacific Room is great! Then, the breakfast waw the breakfast!
Thank you to our host Kana, Jenna and Kurt!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnickOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have stayed here four times and love it at "The Edge". It is a working coffee and macadamia farm in the Kona Coffee Belt giving such a sweet feel of Old Hawaii. Oh, did I mention that it has an absolutely killer ocean view from the lanais! Kealakekua Bay and Two Step Beach is close for kayaking, snorkeling and just watching the dolphins (and a kayak is available for guests from this B&B.....no charge). The City of Refuge is close by too as well as the ever popular Coffee Shack restaurant and other great eats (like the Manago Hotel's famous pork chops). Kurt & Kanae, our host & hostess, have always been very friendly with many interesting conversations and know the Big Island's "must see" places. They even had great suggestions for staying on the Hilo side of the island. The bed was very comfortable and the quiet was refreshing after the bustle and fun in Kona town too. We always recommend "The Edge" to our friends visiting the Big Island. We love this place!

Room Tip: Well, the best room is The Crow's Nest. Private lanai and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Advantages:
* great coffee for breakfast
* yummy breakfast (fresh fruit, pancakes)
* free wifi in the room
* very friendly and helpful hosts
* price
* nice room
* out of civilization :)
* possible to rent snorkeling gear (free)
* beautiful view from the balcony where we had breakfast
* great garden (actually a coffee farm)

Disadvantage:
* the middle part of the driveway is not fully paved and quite steep

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is an amazing place !!


This was my third stay at A Beautiful Edge of the World and I'm sure it won't be my last. The hosts are great -- friendly, informative, and helpful (they even do laundry for people who stay three days or more, free of charge !). The rooms are comfortable and spotless. There are a ton of interesting and fun things to do nearby and some great and very reasonable restaurants five or ten minutes away. On all of my stays there were interesting people staying there--folks from all over the world, and that made for great breakfast (absolutely delicious I might add) conversations together in the morning, and while having breakfast we can look out at the Pacific Ocean. Best of all, the price is really great compared to other places I've stayed. Oh, and one more thing, the coffee grown there at the plantation is the best I've ever had, and they serve it with breakfast. I can strongly recommend this place to absolutely anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is our second time staying with Kurt and Kana at Beautiful Edge and we'll stay with them every time we visit Hawaii. It's a spectacular location at the South end of Captain Cook overlooking the bay from a perfect deck to watch the sunsets. It's away from the tourist hubub of Kona, but an easy drive to any of the Kona attractions. Less than 20 minutes to any of the island's three best snorkeling locations, Kealakekua Bay, Place of Refuge, or Kalaluu.

It's a great space, wonderfully decorated, with wonderful jungle fruits all around (the first time you drive in the road feels a bit rough, but you get used to it quickly). The breakfasts are wonderful, full of amazing fruits. But the nicest part is Kurt and Kana (and their amazing 6-year-old Jena). Kurt's lived all over the world, taught at different universities, started a great project with Cambodian orphans, just a fascinating person, who's also a great guide to the island. Kana is just enormously welcoming. Their daughter Jena is just really fun--spent some really fun time playing with her...but we also had our privacy whenever we wanted. Just couldn't recommend the place more highly. (Before we stayed the first time we'd stayed at a well-recommended place called Areca Palms which was gorgeous, but where the owner was so stuffy in terms of don't touch this, don't touch that, and don't sit here, that it totally ruined the stay--this is the opposite...relaxed, welcoming and a place where you immediately feel at home.

totally recommended

Room Tip: They have three rooms with photos. Ask Kurt to describe them. There's a smaller lovely room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulofaCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurt009, Owner at A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

So nice to have you back again! Many of our guests are returnees and it is really great to see them again. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.2 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#3 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Halemalu
Halemalu
#4 of 4 in Captain Cook
43 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
#2 of 4 in Captain Cook
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B

Address: 82-5889 Old Government Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8200
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $112 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremendous ocean views, peaceful, excellent snorkeling, ocean kayaking, beaches,hikes. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Up-scale quality and down-scale prices. Excellent value. English, Japanese, Korean, German and Spanish spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Beautiful Edge Of The World B&B Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing