We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Ease”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
1 review
“Comfort and Ease”
Reviewed May 1, 2007

The Luana Inn was a central part of our flawless vacation on the Big Island. Ken and Erin are wonderful hosts, great cooks and impeccable housekeepers. They provided beach towels and mats, coolers, snorkel equipment, laundry facilities and most importantly, spot-on recommendations and advice. Overall, they (and the comfortable accomodations) are a calming influence on harried vacationers trying to get the most out of a too short holiday.

There are some great restaurants in the area, but some of our most enjoyable meals were prepared on the grill on the patio outside our room.

Highlights of the trip occured just down the road at Kealekekue Bay - swimming and kayaking with dolphins and snorkeling at Cook Monument. But we wouldn't skip day-trips to Volcanoes NP and to the Hilo side of the island.

  • Liked — Overall comfort and layout of the property
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VT_Snorkel_Bums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    32
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
254
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2007

Luana Inn was just as it appeared on the website and more. The owners were welcoming and gracious and our room was spacious and very comfortable. We had a spectacular view of the grounds and ocean - the location of the Inn was so quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was always fresh and tasty and Erin and Ken were so helpful with sightseeing tips and restaurants to try.
We would defintely recommend the Inn to friends and fellow travelers.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwoods, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We wanted to see and experience all that the Island of Hawaii had to offer and we opted to do it via b&b's. This location was away from the beaten track and offered a spacious and comfortable retreat. The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and we followed their recommendations and were never disappointed. Breakfasts were good and offered us the chance to visit with other guests. Unforgetable sunsets along with a guitarist from next door made for a memorable visit. Sea kayaking and snorkeling was less than a mile away. Perfect spot.
The only thing that could have improved the visit would have been a welcoming snack or coffee in the room. We arrived late, tired and hungry and anything would have been welcome.

  • Liked — It was off the beaten track, yet close to all natural things.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinwisconsin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We stayed for a week in the Alihi Lani suite as a family of four & it
was perfect. We had pleny of space, and the suite was bright, comfortable and very clean. We made good use of the pool and the barbeque at the pool, eating all our meals poolside with the exception of the lovely breakfasts provided by Erin & Ken. Their restaurant recommendations were very good and we enjoyed Ken's video collection after a long day of seeing the sights. We were able to have some days of busy sightseeing spaced with days of relaxation at the lovely inn. The grounds, suite, pool and public rooms were all lovely and Ken & Erin were excellent hosts, providing spot-on recommendations when you wanted them and giving you plenty of privacy
as well.

  • Liked — The room & view
  • Disliked — Kind of far from some of the must-see sites, but it's the big island, so everything is that way!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank toujourparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We were so satisfied with our stay at the Luana Inn.

I can't say enough about the hosts, Ken & Erin. We were greeted by Erin as soon as we pulled into the driveway and we were showed around the property and our room. They made it feel like we were staying with friends. They gave you your privacy, but were there if you needed them for recommendations for snorkeling, beach, dining, etc.

We stayed in the Alaula room which has it's own "deck" with an amazing view. We had a kitchenette which came in so handy after our trip to Costco. We never even went to dinner...just made stuff with our Rotisserie chicken and took advantage of the pool side grill for grilling our steaks.

The Inn provided us so many things to use on our stay--beach mats and towels (in your room), coolers, snorkel gear, boogie boards, flashlights (which you definitely need for Volcanoes NP and we didn't have), washer/dryer, board games, restaurant guides, even aloe after a long day in the sun.

Breakfast was a great time to talk to Ken and Erin and was always great with fresh baked bread, fruit, eggs, and delicious Kona cofffee (which you can purchase from Ken & Erin if you're too lazy to go track down your own. LOL)

Our only complaints (not that it's really even a complaint) is that the wireless only worked for us in the kitchen (played a factor in us staying there so my husband could take care of business early in the morning). Also, the pool/hottub needed a vacuum.

All in all, we were so overjoyed with our stay. The view is UNBELIVEABLE and we contemplated staying around the pool everyday.

We will definitely stay there on our next visit! Don't even have to think twice about it!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Inneedofsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights so that we could explore the South Kona area. We wanted a place far from the resort/spa/hotel scene around Kailua and that's exactly what we got. Luana Inn is 3.5 miles off the highway and just .8 miles from the "beach". "Beach" is in quotes
because there's no sand. It is possible, however, to clamber over the rocks and into the water so you can swim or snorkel. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable, if a little spartan in the art/decor. The breakfast buffet was a real treat. Ken and Erin always had something which they had just baked, as well plenty of fresh fruit, granola, etc. The bottomless pot of Kona coffee was excellent! Ken and Erin are among the nicest, most accommodating B&B hosts we have ever encountered. They are also extremely knowledgeable
about the area, especially the local restaurant scene. We took a couple of their recommendations and were very, very pleased. The only even mildly negative thing to be said about Luana Inn has to do with the way it was built (by the previous owner). The rooms in the main house are on ground level and open directly to the outdoors, where the other guests are walking around. This means you have to keep the curtains closed if you like to walk around your room naked. It's a small price to pay. When you *do* open the curtains there is a magnificent 180-degree view of the west coast of Hawaii. If you want a quiet, restful stay away from "the scene" on the Big Island, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbullock47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We found the Luana Inn on the 'Net and stayed for 2 nights, but regretted we couldn't extend our stay. The new owners, Erin and Ken, are doing a fantastic job of keeping their guests totally content.

The view from our room, across a lovely patio and swimming pool, 300' down to the ocean was unforgettable! Breakfasts are staged in their spacious professional kitchen above the guest rooms and feature their seasonal home-grown fruits and veggies, Kona coffee, eggs, teas and a choice of cereals, juices and their homemade breads.

On our final morning, we spotted some whales off shore and watched them through their long-range binolulars! (As if the breakfast expereince wasn't rich enough!)

The location is secluded, lush and peacful. We can't say enough about the Luana Inn - and hope to treturn again some day. Thanks, Erin and Ken!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AngiemacCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
13.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.4 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
396 reviews
25.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Property: Luana Inn
Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing