We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luana = relaxation & hospitality!”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We stayed for a week in the Alihi Lani suite as a family of four & it
was perfect. We had pleny of space, and the suite was bright, comfortable and very clean. We made good use of the pool and the barbeque at the pool, eating all our meals poolside with the exception of the lovely breakfasts provided by Erin & Ken. Their restaurant recommendations were very good and we enjoyed Ken's video collection after a long day of seeing the sights. We were able to have some days of busy sightseeing spaced with days of relaxation at the lovely inn. The grounds, suite, pool and public rooms were all lovely and Ken & Erin were excellent hosts, providing spot-on recommendations when you wanted them and giving you plenty of privacy
as well.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank toujourparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 364 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2007

We were so satisfied with our stay at the Luana Inn.

I can't say enough about the hosts, Ken & Erin. We were greeted by Erin as soon as we pulled into the driveway and we were showed around the property and our room. They made it feel like we were staying with friends. They gave you your privacy, but were there if you needed them for recommendations for snorkeling, beach, dining, etc.

We stayed in the Alaula room which has it's own "deck" with an amazing view. We had a kitchenette which came in so handy after our trip to Costco. We never even went to dinner...just made stuff with our Rotisserie chicken and took advantage of the pool side grill for grilling our steaks.

The Inn provided us so many things to use on our stay--beach mats and towels (in your room), coolers, snorkel gear, boogie boards, flashlights (which you definitely need for Volcanoes NP and we didn't have), washer/dryer, board games, restaurant guides, even aloe after a long day in the sun.

Breakfast was a great time to talk to Ken and Erin and was always great with fresh baked bread, fruit, eggs, and delicious Kona cofffee (which you can purchase from Ken & Erin if you're too lazy to go track down your own. LOL)

Our only complaints (not that it's really even a complaint) is that the wireless only worked for us in the kitchen (played a factor in us staying there so my husband could take care of business early in the morning). Also, the pool/hottub needed a vacuum.

All in all, we were so overjoyed with our stay. The view is UNBELIVEABLE and we contemplated staying around the pool everyday.

We will definitely stay there on our next visit! Don't even have to think twice about it!

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Inneedofsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights so that we could explore the South Kona area. We wanted a place far from the resort/spa/hotel scene around Kailua and that's exactly what we got. Luana Inn is 3.5 miles off the highway and just .8 miles from the "beach". "Beach" is in quotes
because there's no sand. It is possible, however, to clamber over the rocks and into the water so you can swim or snorkel. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable, if a little spartan in the art/decor. The breakfast buffet was a real treat. Ken and Erin always had something which they had just baked, as well plenty of fresh fruit, granola, etc. The bottomless pot of Kona coffee was excellent! Ken and Erin are among the nicest, most accommodating B&B hosts we have ever encountered. They are also extremely knowledgeable
about the area, especially the local restaurant scene. We took a couple of their recommendations and were very, very pleased. The only even mildly negative thing to be said about Luana Inn has to do with the way it was built (by the previous owner). The rooms in the main house are on ground level and open directly to the outdoors, where the other guests are walking around. This means you have to keep the curtains closed if you like to walk around your room naked. It's a small price to pay. When you *do* open the curtains there is a magnificent 180-degree view of the west coast of Hawaii. If you want a quiet, restful stay away from "the scene" on the Big Island, this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

We found the Luana Inn on the 'Net and stayed for 2 nights, but regretted we couldn't extend our stay. The new owners, Erin and Ken, are doing a fantastic job of keeping their guests totally content.

The view from our room, across a lovely patio and swimming pool, 300' down to the ocean was unforgettable! Breakfasts are staged in their spacious professional kitchen above the guest rooms and feature their seasonal home-grown fruits and veggies, Kona coffee, eggs, teas and a choice of cereals, juices and their homemade breads.

On our final morning, we spotted some whales off shore and watched them through their long-range binolulars! (As if the breakfast expereince wasn't rich enough!)

The location is secluded, lush and peacful. We can't say enough about the Luana Inn - and hope to treturn again some day. Thanks, Erin and Ken!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AngiemacCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

What a delightful surprise to show up to the Luana Inn! We were greeted by an AMAZING view of the ocean. There are no ok views from this serene property. They are all perfect! Who would have thought that we'd be sitting in the spa watching the sunset on the ocean with a glass of wine and then wake up and roll over to the same view from our bed.

Ken and Erin were such great hosts. It was like visiting friends. They have made an effort to not only leave you to your privacy, but also be available to answer any questions about the island that you may have. They have really done their homework, too. Their suggestions were superb! From places to see, to places to eat. They have taken the time to express both of their tastes in a great little menu/review book that they offer their guests.

The food that they provided was also fabulous. They are both very good cooks. The variety of fresh fruit, the Kona coffee, the breads, the oatmeal, egg dishes, the list goes on. All Freshly made, all made with aloha.

The room we stayed in (Mahina Room) was comfortable and allowed the perfect view whether morning or sunset. Our immaculate and well stocked (dishes, utensils, mini-fridge) room allowed us to BBQ and relax when we wanted to extend our relaxing day and didn't feel like going out to dinner.

The actual location is in one of the best spots on the island. It just so happens that that particular side of the island has the best weather. Not too windy, not too rainy, not too overcast. And there is a wonderful little coffee plant around the corner that makes great ice coffees.

Would stay there again with no hesitation!

Mahalo Ken and Erin!!!

Stayed: January 2007
Thank AnnemalCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Everything about this inn, the area, and the hosts has already been said! I stayed here for seven days and each day was better than the last. Having sampled the hotels along the "tourist strip" in previous years, I know two things: I will never stay in a big island hotel again and I will definitely be returning to the Luana Inn!

The hosts, Ken and Erin, were the perfect blend of being laid back, yet ready to help with anything, from directions to band-aids!

The breakfasts of fresh fruit, homemade breads/quiche and Kona coffee were a perfect way to begin each day.

My favorite thing to do was to buy fresh fruit at a local stand a few miles away, come "home" and eat it on "my" lanai, looking out at the incredible view.

Their website says that luana means "to be at leisure." Absolutely true! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Luanna in in mid-Feb 2007. We had an amazing time and didn't want to leave! The b&b itself is in great condition, and Erin and Ken's meticulous attention to detail really shows through. Breakfasts were outstanding. Ken and Erin gave us two recommendations and they were both excellent- 1 was for a low-key dinner spot and the other was sea kayaking in Kealakekua Bay at the end of the street (about 1/2 mile away). We went sea kayaking and 3 whales surfaced feet from our kayak! All in all, a great experience and we're already talking about when to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank teleguy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
1.4 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
295 reviews
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#3 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
417 reviews
1.0 mi away
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
13.5 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing