We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had been to the Big Island 10 years prior and had stayed at one of the hotels on the busy strip in Kona. This time around, we wanted to experience something different and we are so pleased with our choice! Ken and Erin were wonderful hosts that were very welcoming, knowledgable and great cooks. We enjoyed the beautifully landscaped property and being away from all of the busy activity and noise of Alii Drive. Although the property is south of Kona and is able to provide lovely, quiet surroundings, it is still close enough to be able to easily drive to the various sites and activities we wanted to enjoy.
Yes, I see many others have mentioned the delicious breakfasts and Kona coffee served each morning, and this was one of the draws for us as well. We were not disappointed. They were some of the best breakfasts we've had in our experiences with staying at B&B's. I even got some great ideas for some different uses for different kinds of grains I have been wanting to experiment with - MAHALO ERIN!
Overall, a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend the Luana Inn as the place to stay while on the Big Island. We hope to be able to come here again in the future ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012KMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Luana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 365 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed 5 nights at this beautiful, yet comfortable and welcoming inn during October 2012. From the moment we came up the colorfully landscaped driveway and were met by our host, Ken, we felt right at home. Both Ken and Erin proved to be knowledgeable about what to see and where to eat, around the Kona area as well as the East side of the island. Our room, the Alaula Suite, was clean and quiet, had a nice view, and a refreshing breeze with the doors left open to our private porch. We also enjoyed the daily visits from Yuki, the inn’s cat and our surrogate pet during our stay. No review would be complete without a mention of breakfast – fresh fruit, homemade muffins, pancakes, frittatas… ALL of it delicious, and of course with plenty of Kona coffee. Our hosts also made accommodations for food preferences, and even provided breakfast in our room the day we had an early tour booked. There is a reason all the photos include the pool and hot tub – an incredible view over Kealakekua Bay, with the setting sun…it would be easy to do nothing else during a stay on the Big Island! We hope to return again soon, and highly recommend Luana Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploreVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Erin and Ken were excellent hosts. They are both extremely knowledgable on the island (things to do, places to eat). They are both excellent chefs and make a fantastic breakfast that you will greatly miss when you go home. If we are ever able to return to the Big Island we will most certainly stay at the Luana Inn again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCLacy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved relaxing by the pool, looking out over the Pacific when we stayed at the Luana Inn. The hosts, Erin and Ken are clearly dedicated to the happiness of their guests. The property is gorgeous! It is beautifully landscaped, with local artwork decorating the common spaces. We stayed in the Moana room, which was very large and had a memory foam bed that was super comfy. Everything was spotlessly clean and the property is really well maintained.

There were two stand out moments of our visit. The first was grilling steaks by the pool our first night there. We had been traveling for a week already by the time we stayed at the Luana and so were tired of eating at restaurants. It was wonderful to have access to a grill, with everything we needed to cook and serve dinner, including the silverware, plates and even seasonings for the steaks and veggies. It was wonderful to relax by the pool, take a nice swim and then watch the sunset while we had dinner. What a great way to end a day in Hawaii!

Our other favorite experience was breakfast! Erin is an awesome chef and she made the most delicious frittata, sausage, fruit tray and croissants our first morning there. Ken also whips up a very tasty breakfast! He made such light and fluffy pancakes our second morning. The breakfasts definitely keep you going when you're out exploring the island.

One of the most valuable things Erin and Ken offer at the inn is their free advice! They have compiled a book of their favorite things to do, places to visit and restaurants to eat at. They gave us great advice on where to go snorkeling based on the weather conditions, and we would have never thought to visit the Living History Museum without Erin recommending it, and it ended up being one of the highlights of our visit to the Kona area.

We only had one small complaint about our visit and it was easily handled with a set of earplugs, which are provided in every room. The room we stayed in is under the family living spaces so we heard noises above us starting at 6AM. We popped our earplugs in and went right back to sleep though. And the second morning we didn't hear anything at all. The beauty and comfort of the place as well as the graciousness of the hosts far outweigh that slight inconvenience! We hope to one day end up back on the big island, and if so we will absolutely stay at the Luana Inn again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGXterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 3 days in August with our 2 children.
Lovely place, very quiet. Pleasant garden. Cottage is comfortable, although sometimes more suited for a couple than for a family : because of mosquitoes, we wanted to have dinner inside, but there were only 2 chairs (for 4 people).
Swimming pool with a small jacuzzi is great at any time, with a gorgeous view on the ocean. Breakfast is very pleasant, good service and warm welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A great B&B.
We stayed in the self contained outbuilding with a great king size bed and own kitchen and veranda. The room was very clean with great decor.

They provide some fantastic extras e.g. beach towels and a bag to take your beach gear in. This is really thoughtful on their behalf.

The hosts are fantastic with great knowledge of the local area.

The breakfasts were really nice.

The pool was also very nice

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnyrlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Luana Inn was the first stop on our visit to the Big Island. With plans to stay there just a day or two initially,we actually extended our stay on the west side largely due to, believe it or not, the Inn! Erin and Ken made us feel so welcome as did the open view of the ocean and the clean and comfortable rooms (and beds!)-- it was hard to give it up as a base from which to visit several destinations in that part of the island and beyond (went to Kale and back for instance) and this proved to be a great/feasible approach. And the breakfasts (Kona coffee tastes the best when drunk at the Luana Inn by the way) were sumptuous and healthy and kept us going for most of the day so that we often ate just one meal out. The girls loved the swimming pool (thanks for the snorkel gear Ken!) and the resident cat, not to mention the spectacular surroundings (great plants). Luana is definitely on our spots to stay at when (we hope!) make our return journey to the Island of volcanos and more and if you are going as a family, well, you can't ask for a better home-away-from-home. Mahalo Erin and Ken!
ps:I have stopped drinking coffee in Canada--thanks to your compelling Kona brew!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
13.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
408 reviews
33.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing