We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first week of our dream honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great first week of our dream honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Let me start by saying that we always look for places off the beaten track avoiding large resorts. Luana Inn met all our criteria. Nestled in the mountainside overlooking keealakekua bay (Captain Cook) it was the perfect location for a quiet private honeymoon. We stayed in one of the two suites behind the main building
Beautiful panoramic vistas from our lanai.
It was also a great base for exploring other parts of the island
We used the pool daily and often the hot tub at night. We were entranced by the beautiful gardens and colorful birds.
Our room was perfect. Gorgeous 4 post bed very comfy. The bathroom was adequate with shower only. The kitchenette was well stocked for eating take out or simple lunches. Great Kona coffee provided by our hosts
Ken and Erins breakfasts were amazing. Delvicious fresh fruit and some style of egg dish daily along with some type of fresh baked goods. Lemon ginger scones were my favourite. Also loved the hot multigrain cereal. Only thing Missing was real maple syrup for pancakes
Erin explained that this was way too expensive to buy. Being Canadian we don't care for the fake stuff so we promised to send some for future visits!
We enjoyed talking with our hosts as we found lots of common interests and causes despite our age difference.
We look forward to visiting again especially ourmorning coffee watching the spinner dolphins in the bay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebirds51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    31
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
254
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Luana Inn earlier this month. The breakfasts were outstanding, the hosts were pleasant and helpful, the setting was lovely and relaxing, and the location -- very near to the best snorkeling on the island, and an easy drive to many other beautiful sights -- was convenient (in spite of the twisty road down!). The Moana Room was quite comfortable, and seemed a little more private than the other rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeleineSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ken and Erin were wonderful hosts during our 12 night stay at Luana Inn. The property is well-maintained and beautiful. The views of the Kona coast and Pacific from the pool and hot tub are gorgeous, especially during sunsets. The breakfasts are delicious and varied, and it was evident that they used fresh, local ingredients. While the inn is about 30 minutes from the center of Kailua-Kona and an hour from the big beaches of Mauna Kea and Hapuna, it didn't feel "out of the way". In fact, their are so many great restaurants around the inn (Annies, Mi's and others) that the drive to and from the inn for our daily activities was quite relaxing. The beds are very comfortable and the daily housekeeping was much appreciated. We stayed in the unit with a full kitchen and enjoyed family meals at the pool on several occasions. We also used their grill area to prepare wonderfully fresh Ahi and steak. One of the things we enjoyed most about the inn was the flexibility it offered -- want to stay around the property and relax? -- Great! Want to cook dinner and enjoy it with our family? Great! Want to go to the beach? Great! (and they have many beach toys and coolers, etc available to guests). In short, it allowed us to do everything we wanted to do during our visit! We'll definitely return to Luana Inn next time we visit the Big Island!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwanatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I were guests of the Luana Inn (Mahina Room) for 7 nights (5/8/12 - 5/15/12). All aspects of our stay were excellent. Breakfast was superb. The room and support services were outstanding. The owners, Ken 7 Erin, were the only operators. They were efficient, friendly, committed to customer satisfaction, and knowledgeable about island resources. The Luana Inn contributed greatly to a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a lovely four night stay at Luana Inn as part of a week long vacation. The view from the lanai at Luana Inn is stunning. We thouroughly enjoyed grilling our dinner on the covered lanai while enjoying the view. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious with a generous main, homemade breads and granolas, fruit, coffee, and juice. We had breakfast to go one morning which consisted of breads, hardboiled eggs, and fruit and was quite tasty. Erin and Ken were great hosts and conversationalists. The common room has a computer with a printer, an extremely large DVD collection, and many guides to the local area. Many other amenties such as a washer and dry, coolers, boogie boards, beach towels, coffeepot in room, are available. The location is perfect for snorkeling at Two Step or Captain Cook or exploring the less crowded beaches on the Bay. My one complaint is that the adorable family cat reliably and persistently meowed outside of our room and scratched at the screen in the 5 o'clock hour each morning which woke me up and made falling back asleep difficult.

Room Tip: The Makani room is closest to the grill, so very convenient if you plan on grilling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We first discovered The Luana Inn by reading reviews on TripAdvisor. After reviewing their website, seeing the photographs and the room options, and reading the beautiful blogs, we were convinced that this was the place for our first trip to Hawaii. We booked a 10-night stay in April. In summary, our visit was wonderful and exceeded every expectation. Ken & Erin were the perfect hosts of this wonderful B&B. They took turns preparing outstanding breakfasts (with local fresh fruit and a variety of home cooked items) in their beautiful kitchen. They graciously accommodated our diet restrictions. Our rooms (Mahina and Alaula) were clean, comfortable, spacious and home-like. The other guests were interesting and friendly, and also seemed to appreciate this relaxing “home base” in a quiet neighborhood of local residents, small farms and businesses. The ocean and sunset views from the patio were spectacular. In the Common Room, Ken & Erin provided resource notebooks for everything you could ever want to know about the Luana Inn, nearby restaurants, activities. Also, the bookshelves contained resource books about birds, plants, fish, snorkeling, and history of Hawaii. We enjoyed daily early morning (6 a.m.) walks from the Luana Inn to the Kealakekua Bay, Manini Beach or Keʻei Beach and back in time for breakfast. We enjoyed Sea Turtles on beaches, Spinner Dolphins in the Bay, and a multitude of sea life in the lava reefs. We enjoyed visiting with “locals” (people, dogs, cats, goats, and a donkey named I-Or). We went snorkeling at several nearby reefs and our experiences were breathtaking! We visited many Island “gems”: Puʻuhonua o Hōnaunau National Historical Park, Hoʻokena Beach, End of the World, Kailua Kona, and the Old Kona Airport State Beach Park, Hapuna Beach, Pololu Valley Lookout, Punalu’u Black Sand Beach, and Volcano National Park, and many more. We hiked through the Kilauea Iki crater, Thurston Lava Tube and viewed Kilauea Caldera crater outside the Jaggar Museum. Each day, after sightseeing and lunch at great restaurants, we returned to our home away from home, with plumeria plants, flowers, palms, colorful birds with beautiful songs, Yuki (the sweet resident patrol kitty), and an occasional chicken that sneaked through the fence for a visit to the “greener grass” and garden. Sometimes, we were lucky enough to visit with Conlan and Ryan, whose childhood imaginations and demeanors were wonderful and priceless. We look forward to returning for more exploring and relaxing. Mahalo, Erin and Ken!  

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Although a few miles from the airport, the Luana Inn offers a comfortable stay.
Ken and Erin are likeable and fix a good breakfast for their guests.
The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained with hardwood floors. A large TV was in the room and there were plenty of outlets for chargers. WiFi is present.
The location is somewhat removed from the main thoroughfare but is worth the drive on a twisty road, One note of caution: pay attention to Ken's map of the location and DO NOT use the address with a GPS. You will get lost! Simply put, the house numbering is weird. To be doubly safe, get the coordinates from Ken and use those in a GPS. (If you read this, Ken, why not post your coordinates?)
Mi's is a good Italian restaurant once you reach the top of the hill.
If you see the "Painted Church," it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haroldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
13.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Property: Luana Inn
Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing