We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home sweet Luana Inn!"”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had the good fortune to stay at the Luana Inn during the first part of December 2011. It was the end of our 9 day circumnavigation of the Big Island. What a welcome respite! We had a fabulous time everywhere we went on the Island, but Erin and Ken here at the Luana made us feel so special and at home. The rooms and inn are beautifully, and simply decorated. The rooms have dishes, glasses (including wine and margarita glasses), silverware, corkscrews-even some basics like olive oil, salt and pepper. In short, Erin and Ken have equipped the rooms like they actually have stayed in them themselves. They are so knowledgeable of the local area and are very willing to share where to go and what to see. The room books let you know just about everything you need to know about this side of the island and the special places to go right close to the bay. The restaurant review book in the common room is especially helpful. The grocery store up on the highway and just south of the Inn was very good- these were all recommended by Erin. We found the island beef to be excellent as well as the local, organic produce. I could live on Big Island papaya I think for the rest of my life! Erin and Ken trade off cooking breakfast and they both do a beautiful job. Delicious and healthy, made with quality ingredients and love.Breakfast is served in their amazing kitchen which also has a stunning view of the water. We so enjoyed talking with both Erin and Ken as well as the other guests in the morning. Then in the evening we spent 3 nights eating outside around the BBQ visiting, cooking and sharing cocktails again with the other guests- what a blast! Then Inn really seems to attract people with similar interests. I hope we can make it back to the Big Island in the near future. When we do, there is no reason to look anyplace else. We will be staying here...with friends! Mahalo, Erin and Ken!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Luana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th visit to Luana over the last 2 years and are already looking forward to our next stay. This is a premier Bed and Breakfast facility and truly sets the standard for hospitality, location and value. Ken and Erin (and yes the children too) are extremely welcoming and really do go out of their way to make each stay as pleasant as possible. We have always felt like part of the family when staying there but at the same time are able to enjoy complete privacy when needed. As other guests have remarked, the food at breakfast is consistently of the highest quality, freshly prepared with lots of choices including home made cereals, fresh fruit, breads, pastries and a hot cooked dish. The coffee is from a small independent local grower and is always fresh. We have now stayed in all of the rooms bar one and each is clean & simply but very tastefully decorated. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker and cooking utensils are standard and along with the new BBQ on the lanai, preparing a lunch or evening meal is a breeze. The Captain Cook area has THE best snorkelling of the State although some areas of coral in the SE corner of Kaleakekula Bay have been hit hard by last years tsunami. However the good news is that the tsunami has brought sand to Minini beach making entry and exit super easy. The best snorkeling from here is to the left, near the breakers where the reef is flourishing. 2-Step Bay is still as pristine as ever (but always busy).

All areas of the island are accessible from the Luana Inn but be prepared for a long day if visiting Volcano or Hilo. However there are lots of really fascinating places in the Captain Cook area that are seldom visited and we found the "Blue Book" to be the best source of alternate activities. Check out local coffee plantations and get personalized tours from the owners. Sadly we found that Mountain Thunder coffee has been "discovered" and had a very disappointing visit compared to 2 years ago. One of the best deals for free samples of fruit, nuts, coffee, ice cream and muffins is the co-op just up the road. The South Kona fruit stand just south of the City of Refuge turn off on the belt road has some funky local fruits and unique smoothies.

If you in Hawaii to party, then perhaps a location further up the coast would be more suitable. But if you are looking for a quiet restful stay away from the crowds, then it would be hard to improve on the Luana Inn. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billmCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My family and I stayed 3 nights in Luana Inn over Xmas 2011. We had a great time for the following reasons:

- Super well maintained facilities
- exceptional home made cooking breakfast
- beautiful views from the pool and Jacuzzi
- rooms with ALL equipment for cooking
- Superb location, and practical too
- hosts are dedicated to make this place 5 stars

Room Tip: DOuble rooms are next to the pool, while suites for families are above in the garden.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinesechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed three nights here around Christmas 2011. Erin and Ken were wonderful hosts, very helpful and friendly, and were very knowledgeable of the islands. The main house is beautifully set just above Kealakekua Bay and is gorgeously landscaped. We stayed at the little guest cottage out back (which houses two separate large rooms). The room had a kitchenette and nice porch with beautiful views. The breakfasts were original and freshly prepared each morning. We felt as if we were locals who lived in a house on the bay, and the feel of the place is very residential, which we enjoyed. A friendly cat and dog on the property made us feel right at home too.
We loved this place and would highly recommend it. The weather in this area is about as good as it gets. This is a perfect place to relax, walk down to the beach, see the City of Refuge and other local spots. There aren't a lot of restaurant choices in Captain Cook, but the Erin & Ken pointed us to the good spots and we managed to do just fine. Excellent value for the money here in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santa_Fe_NM_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at Luana Inn for 5 nights in November of 2011. THe hosts, Ken and Erin, are very accomodating, knowledgeable and make outstanding breakfasts. Since they are in Kona coffee country you would expect great coffee and they deliver. Best coffee I have ever had at a hotel or restaurant. Views are spectacular and the rooms are very comfortable. Location is 15-20 minutes south of Kona, but it is good if you are looking for a quiet place. Close to some of the best snorkeling in all of Hawaii.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We spent four nights at Luanna Inn. Great location, great breakfast, great hosts. Ken and Erin's local knowledge of restaurants and fantastic, deserted beaches was a real bonus; as was the offer of the use of the grill. With the view from the terrace we had a wonderful meal, watching the sunset. Thanks to our hosts for great service and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent three nights at Luana Inn and wish it could have been longer. Rooms are large, comfortable and afford a great view of the ocean. Ken and Erin are wonderful hosts. Breakfast is first rate. We especially appreciated the ability to use the grill and various beach equipment during our stay. The Inn is off the main road in Captain Cook and a short drive into Kona. I would recommend the Alaula Suite where we stayed if you are looking for a little more privacy. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanwinkle7562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
13.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
408 reviews
33.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing