We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manago Hotel & Restaurant

Manago Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“authentic and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food isnt fantastic but the people are friendly and the setting is very authentic. We've eaten there three times twice for dinner and once for breakfast. The fish portions are a bit small but the pork chops are much more filling. I'd go back

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank medaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    126
    30
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Really nice comfortable place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I loved this place. Our room had 2 twin beds, gorgeous view, no tv (which is a plus to me) and no a/c but didn't need one because of the cool air coming off the ocean. Really nice garden area. One problem though, the coffee was terrible!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting Local Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place was described as Grandma's home cooking, with the best pork chops. We go in thinking we are going to get Grandma's pork chops with mashed potatoes and gravy and so on. Well not exactly. They serve sides first which are bean sprouts, cabbage,potato and macaroni salad. Not what my Grandma would make..... but the fish I had was fresh and local and quite simply prepared as were the pork chops my husband had. So It was good but it was not great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ri0grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not our thing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The circle island bus driver raved about the pork chop dinner here and how it was so famous and inexpensive. We fell for it. Dinner was served with a pickled seaweed dish, bland macaroni potato salad, and a side of noodles flavored with shrimp/soy sauce or something. Wife and I tried all of it and agreed the seawee and the noodles were definitely not for us. The macaroni/potato salad was way too tasteless. But we could not wait to get those famous porkchops. Neither of us finished our porkchops (really thin and a hint of grissle). At least the meal was only $10 per plate. We did note the place had plenty of locals eating there so, perhaps it is an acquired taste.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Family style servings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good old fashioned family style dinner, although they are famous for their Pork Chops, my local favorite is liver and onions, hard to find this anymore. Very cool, as you enter, the hotel "TV" room is on your right, just like back in the 50s-60s - love this little place, I plan on staying at the hotel one of these days.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manago Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manago Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing