We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the road gem”
Review of The Coffee Shack

The Coffee Shack
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off the road gem”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our first trip to the Big Island. One hour after arrival we lucked on to this gem of a coffee house cafe, the view at 1500 feet of the ocean was spectacular. Not much parking so be sure to arrive early. Friendly staff gave us great service. They offer a selection of unique breads for your sandwich. We will be back to try breakfast ASAP.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garth Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    266
    56
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bank, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view, or the coffee!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I went here a few years back on a trip to the Big Island with my brother. We stopped here on the way down to South Point. The view is UNBELIEVABLE. Period. And, if you like coffee, the coffee here is some of the best you'll ever have. I still order it shipped to me from time to time, when I feel flush, and the US-Canadian exchange rate is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moosepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply THE best!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We love this place! We make sure to eat here every time we visit The Big Island. If you decide to visit the Captain Cook/City of Refuge area, this is the perfect place to grab a bite. It's only 20 min from Kona though if you decide to make a special trip.

The salads are made with local greens and the home-made blue cheese dressing is wonderful!!! The sandwiches are loaded with meat and will not leave you disappointed. The desserts and breads are also locally made and taste as good as they look. Of course the coffee is great too. They even serve breakfast until noon. Parking can get crowded but it's worth the hassle. Don't leave the island without trying this place! It looks a little rough on the outside but the food, service, and view are simply wonderful. Our only complaint is that they don't sell their bread by the loaf :-) Yum!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMBECKWITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food...amazing view!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We tried the Ono Benedict with fish, capers, red onions and house hollandaise. Good flavors but under-salted (easy to fix). The service was friendly, fast, the local kona coffee so good, and pretty much every table has an amazing view of the ocean.

As we were leaving we noticed the dessert case, I wish we had been able to get back there later to try some of their mac-nut pie...oh it looked so good. We did get a slice of their fresh baked "luau" bread for later, yum! Yeast bread with mac nuts, coconut, carrots and cinnamon. Someday I'd like to try their Luau bread french toast. Prices are reasonable for HI.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2flyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, california, USA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven in a little corner of Heaven”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited Captain Cook in September 2013 with friends and stopped at The Coffee Shack for breakfast and what a great breakfast it was!! Their fresh breads were to die for, especially the Luau bread. It was so good, we had to buy some to take back to our rental house. The coffee was excellent and the breakfasts were the perfect size to get us ready for a day of exploring.

The dining area makes you feel like you are in a tree house and has a beautiful view! The little geckos eating from jelly cups were so cute and the subject of many photos as you can see :)

We went back for lunch a couple of days later and were equally impressed. I definitely recommend The Coffee Shack!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Coffee Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing