We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Big Island Bees
from $123.96
More Info
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
236
41
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
41
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honey tasting bee keeping bee farm honey making shipped home bee tour related products screened area great gifts interesting tour free tour gift shop free shipping amazing creatures great education free tasting short video
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 283 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We found this place through an "on island" pamphlet and were so glad that we stopped by on the way to Kealakekua. Although it was shortly before closing time Joe came in and gave us an outstanding explanation of the entire process of maintaining the hives and producing Queen Bees. Joe was a walking encyclopedia of apiary information, answering every question and providing as much detail as we wished. He was very enthusiastic and passionate about his business. As former teachers we could tell he truly loved what he was doing, as was evidenced in his willingness to interact with us and going well beyond a rote description of Big Island Bees. We not only enjoyed out visit with him but learned much about the process of rearing Queen Bees to be sent to other apiaries.
The women that met us and gave us a quick tour and tasting at the center also was very pleasant and knowledgeable. She was truly friendly and made us feel welcome.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Bob2048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

Aloha, Bob, and thank you for visiting and taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We appreciate it very much, as will our staff, especially Joe.

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to the Big Island.

Mahalo,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Love the place! Very informative and interesting tour; love the many flavors of honey. They do an excellent job providing you with history and tastings!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Juslyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Aloha, Juslyn, and thank you for visiting and taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We appreciate it very much, as will our staff.

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to the Big Island.

Mahalo,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

I planned our first Hawaii vacation for 6 months, and visiting a bee farm" was never in the plans. This place just happened to be by our AirBnB, so we gave it a shot. Our guide was so funny and the info about bees was fascinating. We learned so much and even saw two bees born! So cool. It's only an hour of your time and it's just a lot of fun. We also bought some delicious honey, and after learning how much they care about bees, I'm going to be a lot more careful where I buy my honey from now on.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Aloha, James, and thank you for visiting and taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We appreciate it very much, as will our staff.

We are delighted you decided to take a chance on us!

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to the Big Island.

Mahalo,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We had a great experience at the bee farm. The two people working there were so knowledgeable and excited to teach us about their apparent love of bees and beekeeping, Joe especially. They were also really nice and respectful. Such a pleasure to meet people who love what they do and love to share it with you.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Diego H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Aloha, Diego, and thank you for visiting and taking time to write such a wonderful review. We appreciate it very much, as will our staff, especially Joe!

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to the Big Island.

Mahalo,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Go straight to the bay and snorkel instead. Our guide made us feel stupid. He spoke at hyper-bee speed. It's really not a tour, but a look at their hives.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Aloha, Jenni, and thank you for taking time to inform us about your disappointment with our tour. We'll review your comments with our staff to make sure they are aware of them.

Mahalo,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews