We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to experience the Big Island!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiki Wa Guest House & Coffee Plantation
Ranked #10 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to experience the Big Island!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved our stay at Tiki Wa guest house! Brian and Holly were amazing hosts. The accommodations are very clean and comfortable. We felt at home in their guest house. There is access to a shared outdoor kitchen and grill. This area was great to be able to use to cook out and not have to eat out every night. There is a covered outdoor area with a TV/entertainment area and a Tiki bar area that offered beautiful views. We happened to be there during the Olympics which were more exciting to watch with the international guests that were there! Every morning Holly makes a fantastic breakfast with fresh fruit from the property and local delicious Kona coffee (best coffee I've ever had!) She also tries to accommodate guest as best she can on timing and food restrictions. Brian and Holly were very helpful in making suggestions on places to go and see on the Island. They wholeheartedly want their guest to have an amazing experience while visiting the Big Island. We even went out one night with them and other guests for dinner and music!
They do have dogs and cats on the property. Being an animal lover this was a plus for me! The cats are outdoor cats and mainly keep to themselves. The dogs are both very sweet and do not have to be a big part of your stay if do not want them to be. If you truly dislike animals this may not be the place for you.
I have very little negative to say about Tiki Wa Guesthouse. There are only minor things to comment on. We arrived at night and the driveway is difficult to find. I know they are planning on improving this. Also the beach/snorkel gear are free to use, but with is on a first come first serve basis so you cannot count on them being available!
The guest house is newly renovated/update but is completely done on the inside. I know Brian and Holly have a lot of plans to continue to improve on an already great experience. I hope to return next year to see some of the changes!!!
Overall, I highly recommend Tiki Wa Guest House if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, affordable, friendly, bed and breakfast environment to experience all that the Big Island has to offer.

Room Tip: We had the Volcano room which was amazing and would highly recommend it. It is worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Brain and Holly were wonderful hosts. They helped coordinate our visit with seeing the Ironman triathlon. They have done a gorgeous job renovating the house. We were fortunate to have the large upper room with jacuzzi tub and natural stone and wood used everywhere. I wish we would have had at least another night to stay and see the area.

Room Tip: I think ours was called the volcano room. So nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayberryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Tiki Wa is an overall tremendous value and wonderful experience. Its location is prime to some of the island's best beaches, yet it's far south enough that a trip to the Volcano or East Side of the island is not too far. Hosts Holly and Brian are amazing - they think of everything to make one's stay a comfort, and are super knowledgeable about the island. The rooms themselves are VERY clean and cozy, and the shared main room has a gorgeous view of the ocean and provides a super welcoming space for socializing or just vegging out. Across the street is Wailapa Grill, which hosts live local musicians (at no charge) on Tuesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. Its a favorite of locals and the food is tasty very reasonably priced. I've traveled extensively throughout the U.S. as well as internationally, and the overall package makes Tiki Wa one of the best places I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliahorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Tiki Wa is located in proximity to all the areas we wanted to see during our trip. It is very close to the best snorkeling on the island. If you have any hope of swimming with dolphins you must arrive early in the morning. Being able to see the ocean from our rooms was a big advantage.
The guesthouse is up on the hill where the temperature is slightly cooler. The hospitality is unbeatable. Holly custom-made our breakfast to meet our travel needs for the day. When we left early for our 1 hour 45 minute drive to Volcano National Park she prepared food we could take in the car. Lava is flowing right now so I recommend staying until after sunset for the best viewing.
It was an easy drive to Kailua-Kona where there is night life and the tourists hang out. Still, I highly recommend staying at Tiki Wa where you can sip your coffee, watch the ocean and be within driving distance of all the wonderful things the island has to offer. There are very good restaurants nearby so it is easy to relax and get used to the island way of life without ever leaving the area.

Green Features: The farm on the premises provides some of the food we eat for breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Holly & Brian are the best hosts ever! Just got home from 5 days at Tiki Wa & wouldn't have changed a thing. Comfy surroundings, yummy breakfasts & great suggestions from day trips to dinners! We will be back!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Captain Cook suite. Roomy & comfortable with great views of the surf &...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a working farm with coffee trees & various fruit trees (yes, fresh fruit daily!) on the property. They are working on producing healthy teas & soon-to-come hydroponics. Solar panels to be added in the near future...
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the perfect place to enjoy a great vacation without the hustle and bustle of city life and the same old boring hotels. It is a great place to relax and enjoy true Hawaiian life. The ocean views were ones to be remembered and the house was fantastic as I highly recommend to anyone wanting a great experience to go as I can't wait until I can do it again!!!! There is so much to do on the big island and this location is close to all of them. Holly and Brian go out of there way to make you feel like you are at home. They also can guide to places that you wouldn't find out about from a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58philb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I wanted to ecsape the hustle and bustle of city life but I did not want to be in the middle of nowhere either. Tiki Wa offered me both. It is a beautiful home in the midst of the tropical landscape with magnificent views of the ocean. I loved being able to sit on the terrace sipping a cup of coffee and watching the waves roll in, it was so serene. It seems a world away from the city yet within twenty minutes, I could do all the tourist activites I wanted. Kona is very lively with every kind of shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. My hosts Holly and Brian were wonderful. They went out of their way to ensure that I felt at home and every morning gave me tips on the best places to go depending on what I wanted to do. I cannot say enough about them...incredible..warm..charming couple. Can't wait to get back there !!!

Room Tip: For honeymooners or couples looking for a romantic setting..Captain Cook Suite is a must !! On the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
3.0 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
287 reviews
14.5 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
479 reviews
38.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
3.3 mi away
Halemalu
Halemalu
#3 of 4 in Captain Cook
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Wa Guest House & Coffee Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Wa Guest House & Coffee Plantation

Property: Tiki Wa Guest House & Coffee Plantation
Address: 83-5474 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8303
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wa' means "Time" in Hawaiian. Let's slow down time and enjoy the gifts that the Big Island of Hawaii has to offer and share.She was recently blessed as the House of Peace....Hale O Kamahao'. Come enjoy. We just added a large lanai over looking the beautiful Kona coast with a big Tiki Bar! Also we have put in an outdoor kitchen for guest use in one of our large lanai's.Private upscale accommodations - Panoramic ocean views of the Kona Coast - Great breakfasts. 4 nicely appointed rooms.Large open lanai's for relaxation. Incredible sunsets. Property is 3 acres of tropical fruit, Kona coffee and macadamia nuts. Located just minutes from Place of Refuge National Park and " 2 Step" for world class snorkeling. Swim with the dolphins and sea turtles at Kealakekua Bay. Visit Captain Cook Monument.Rooms:There are 2 rooms on the main level off the lanai's with private entrances and main living area doors. Both have Queen beds and private baths. 2nd level is the Master Suite with panoramic views of the Kona coast and the Malka (mountain) The suite includes a king bed and a large private bathroom with custom lava rock walk-in shower and heated Jacuzzi tub. Room is spacious to include a sitting area. Microwave and mini fridge are also available in this suite. The 2nd suite on this level has a queen bed with private bath, microwave and mini fridge All rooms on 2nd level have high Hawaiian style ceilings trimmed with wood.Outdoor kitchen is for our guests use as well as a charcoal and gas BBQ. Laundry facilities onsite for limited use.Hawaii State Transient and General Excise Tax ( 13.41%) is due upon arrival.We are in the country. Many small businesses, antique stores and wonderful local restaurants are close by. Friday nights there is LIVE local music at the bottom of our drive at Guy's Grinds. Grocery shopping is 3 miles North.The 3 acre property is work in progress.With over 35 different exotic tropical fruit trees, mac nut orchard, pineapple rows and Kona Coffee trees on the farm "gardening" has taken on a new level all together !! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiki Wa Guest House & Coffee Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing