We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a great experience!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Th0mps0n2...
Amherst, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a great experience!”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay at the Pu'uhonua House in Captain Cook was a great experience and a highlight of our trip. The house is about a 1/2 hour from Kona and in such a nice location that we felt like we almost had the island to ourselves. It is the perfect property for guests who want to be out of the busy city but close enough for occasional shopping and touristy entertainment. It is also within a few minutes of some really amazing snorkeling spots, beaches, and National Parks. The house itself was very uniquely designed and perfect for our group of eight (two families with kids) traveling together. The view was fabulous and we enjoyed spending time eating (and playing) on the wrap-around porches. We also appreciated the well equipped kitchen and the wonderful tropical produce that our hosts shared with us, which they picked right on the property.

The Paoli's were great hosts--they were responsive and helpful before our arrival and during our stay, provided a very useful collection of tips and recommendations to make our stay better, and even provided a contact who makes arrangements for several island adventures. (Our kayaking/ snorkeling trip out to the Captain Cook Monument was one of our favorite days of our entire vacation.) In short, this rental experience was among the best we have had and we hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was amazing--beautiful home, beautiful view, lush tropical setting
Liked least: **n/a**
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole B
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our group of friends and family stayed at Pu-uhonua House and and a wonderful time! It was a beautiful house with the most amazing views and lush beautiful grounds! It was stocked with just about anything you would need and it was nice having a full kitchen and laundry. That really saved us money and time!

It was close to many amenities that you would need, but not so close that you could hear any traffic or city noises...just the breeze blowing and the frogs at night.

I would highly recommend it and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful open living room and lanai with gorgeous views.
Liked least: Driveway was steep and frogs were pretty loud.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3897OFwi...
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
“Mind-boggling vacation rental”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our sojourn at the Pu'uhonua House was amazing. Between the great view of the ocean, the incredible woodwork, the super-friendly hosts, and the lush yard, I'm trying to think of a way the experience could have been better, and I can't. Our party of six came to the Big Island for a family reunion, and all of us were blown away by this vacation home. After family activities out on the island, we would relax on the deck and ooh-and-aah about the many birds, the ocean, the yard full of fruit and coffee bushes, the geckos, the details of the unique house, and the total Kona-side ambiance. It was like living in a beautiful treehouse, totally unlike any ordinary house, combining pole-house and post-&-beam with a lot of lanais and beautiful wood-framed sliding glass and screen doors. The house is situated at the perfect altitude, up off the hot beach areas but below the cloud line. The hosts, Bruce and Nikki, were very nice and they had put a lot of work in to the house to keep it in great shape. Bruce was also very forthcoming about the history of the house and the techniques used to build it (a fascinating story). When we return to the Kona-side we will make every effort to book our stay at the Pu'uhonua House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphindr...
1 review
“Magnificent beauty full of aloha”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were beyond happy with our experience here. The place is beautiful clean and in a great location. We had a small retreat there and would def use this place again. It is intimate with beautiful views! And we were nourished with tons of aloha

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonCNM
1 review
“Perfect house in a perfect place.”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is really a lovely house - three stories with great air flow. Ample room for a family or more. Good mattresses, linens and pillows, and ample kitchen supplies. The house is on a steep hillside, so the views are marvelous, but there is not a big yard for kids to run around in. Location is ideal, out of Kona, but close to Place of Refuge and goos snorkeling spots. As other reviews note, Dan, the caretaker is incredibly kind and an excellent resource. I can't imagine anyone having any regrets about this Big Island hideaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted O
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gorgeous view of the ocean in the midst of a private tropical garden”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you enjoy the hustle and bustle of Alii Dr., keep looking. If, on the other hand, you would rather be1500 feet on the side of Mauna Loa in the middle of a lush tropical garden with a 10 mile ocean view from Kealakua Bay to south of the Place of Refuge--then look no further!

The house is an architectural marvel with 3+ floors. Each bedroom has its own individual balcony/deck, yet, except for sleeping you will spend your time on the 3rd floor, 30 feet off the ground marveling at that expanse of ocean before your eyes; or watching the doves nesting at eye level near the top of the Palm tree five feet away; or looking down and around you at the mango, avocado, macadamia, plumeria, coffee on the gorgeous acre you have just rented. All from the incredible wrap around deck. The sense of spaciousness is unbelievable.
YOU WILL NOT WANT TO LEAVE!

Just outside of Captain Cook, 1 mile from a large local super market, and only 2 miles from Na'poo'poo Rd. and the beginning of the trail to Captain Cook Monument and the best snorkeling on the island. (The hike is 2 miles, but you will never see more reef fish than
here, except maybe15 minutes away at Two Step where we saw 50 species of fish—butterfly fish, triggerfish, surgeonfish, wrasse, parrotfish, eels, And TURTLES, AND swam with DOLPHINS!!!

Comfortable furniture, newish appliances (dishwasher, washer&dryer WITH laundry soap), spices and condiments galore, and nearly everyday, Bruce puts an offering of the day's harvest (bananas, macadamia nuts, papaya, mangoes, lemons) at the bottom of the stairs. Snorkel equipment, boogie boards, even kayaks--all right there.

Gorgeous house, amazing view! So would you rather listen to revelers, and cars in Kailua OR 15 miles away listen to birds in the daytime and frogs and crickets at night? The 8 in our family from ages 6 to 70 loved Pu'u'honua and can't wait to go back.
WARNING! You won't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the privacy
Liked least: We had to return to the mainland
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrie W
Lagrangeville, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful! Highly Recommend!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had the most perfect week staying at Pu'uhonua House! The house is in a wonderful location...the real Hawaii. Nikki was extremely helpful and offered some great ideas for activities and amazing snorkeling spots. The views from the deck were spectacular especially the sunsets. My Mother, Sister, Niece and I each had our own rooms and there was plenty of space for us to all relax and eat together while looking out at the ocean and enjoying the views. I highly recommend Pu'uhonua House...we look forward to going back again very soon! Thank you Nikki and Bruce for sharing your beautiful home with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was so beautiful with Amazing Views!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing