We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Coffee and Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Coffee Living History Farm

Kona Coffee Living History Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Kona Historical Society's Kona Coffee Living History Farm in Captain Cook is a "must see" Hawaii attraction and the only living history coffee farm in the nation. Stroll through this Smithsonian-affiliated, outdoor museum that tells the story of Kona's Japanese immigrants that became Kona's coffee pioneers during the early 20th century. A self-guided experience, you're free to walk among the coffee trees, meet a "Kona Nightingale", or watch how farmers used the kuriba and hoshidana to mill and dry their world-famous coffee. Visit the original 1920's farmhouse where you may find the homemaker starting the fire to cook rice or making musubi for the farmer's lunch. "Talk story" along the way with living history interpreters and discover the story behind Kona's gourmet crop.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Coffee and Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is an older, established plantation that has a lot of history about it. The people who work there are very nice, low key, and willing to share and show you around. They appear to be very happy and welcoming. My husband and I always stop here when we come to Hawaii. We can sit and drink free coffee and talk to all of the other tourists. The establishment doesnt seem to mind. But then again, why would they? We usually walk about of there spending about $100. The coffee is very good, as are all of their products. The atmosphere is perfect.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimtheis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    27
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Missed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to the Greenwell Museum but it was closed so we didn't get to see much but we had a great tour of the coffee farm/plantation and picked up a couple of free avacaado and orange that had fallen on the ground. The tour guide was short and sweet but the tasting of the different coffee was grand and the staff was more than willing to answer all questions and had a very homey feel to the place. We bought a few things there to bring home and the staff made sure we packed the honey in our checked luggage as she said it couldn't be carried on the plane good thing too because someone else had to throw theirs away after their luggage was already checked. too bad it is great honey. A Must see on your stay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great family-run coffee farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The people running this tour were just wonderful. We learned about coffee in a very relaxed and friendly environment. A real gem!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great place to visit for lovers of local history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This tour is great for people who like to learn the history of places they visit. Visiting this historical coffee farm is a very casual affair (there are no set tour times) and you can spend as much time as you like there; it will probably take about an hour if you do it right. We recommend you go when the "interpreters" (the tour guides) are available to guide you through the farm and tell you the history of the Japanese family who started and ran the farm during the early to mid 1900's. Without the additional information provided by the interpreters, the tour might not seem that worthwhile. But if you take the time to listen to the guides' stories, you will find this a very interesting and enjoyable experience. You can call in advance to see if the interpreters will be available when you plan to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PK_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good way to understand the history of the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The tour of the coffee plantation and the Japanese farmhouse were short but interesting. The tour guides were very friendly and informative. We enjoyed trying our hand at picking coffee and watching how it used to be processed. The Japanese tour guide in the farm house was very gracious to answer all of our questions. The cost was $15 per person, and considering the high costs in Hawaii, this was not too bad. We saw geckos running around and were surprised to see gecko eggs in the farm house too. The bathroom facilities are an outhouse, so be prepared.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LocaLola24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Coffee Living History Farm also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Coffee Living History Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing