We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more satisifed”
Review of Up Country Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Up Country Bakery & Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Delicious & Organic Hand Made NY Style bagels and amazing sandwiches created on them! People Love our organic banana bread & organic pastries, juices and smoothies. Gluten Free & Vegan Friendly! Open 6 am to 4-ish pm Monday~Saturday. Sunday 9 am to 3 pm. Kitchen opens at 8:00 am and closes at 3:00 pm, however we are open til 4~ish for pastries and smoothies. Bagels sandwiches can be made after 3:00 at the discretion of our barista and the flow of the cafe. Loved by locals and visitors alike! Hope you'll come see us! Aloha!
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great place to grab lunch after you've been to the Painted Church or Pu'uhonua o Honaunau or are just driving through Captain Cook. I had the turkey crepe and I was ready to order a second immediately after except I was full. I also had the Pele's Mana smoothie done perfectly! My partner fully appreciated her turkey sandwich. And you get to fell virtuous after enjoying the delicious eats because there is nothing bad for you in them.

1  Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Manager at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Aloha!
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience during your visit to Captain Cook and enjoyed your turkey crepe and turkey sandwich. The Pele's Mana is a popular smoothie. Strawberries, bananas and chocolate blended with coconut water=delicious!
We're happy you enjoyed that too.
We love food and continuously more forward to create with the freshet, yummiest and healthiest ingredients possible.
Mahalo again!
The Up Country Bakery & Cafe Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

While we were staying in Captain Cook our B&B hosts at Lucky Farm told us to try the Café for lunch. We did, three times and enjoyed it each time. Once, with live entertainment which was great. We like to eat vegetarian and gluten free but gluten free was not available every time, there are also great dairy free alternatives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arbutus_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Aloha!
Thank you for visiting our cafe and for writing a review. We're happy you enjoyed enough to visit us on more than one occasion during your stay. We love John and Johnsie of Luck Farm B&B. That's great you had a chance to listen to them play music at the cafe. We are so appreciative to have them come and play every Sunday.
I'm sorry (and a little confused to hear) we didn't have gluten free items available every day. Perhaps it was our gluten free bagels, as we sell out of those quickly and can be out of stock on certain days. We do have brown rice tortilla wraps, pancakes and also many gluten free pastries to choose from on a daily basis. We do hope you were able to get a good fill on some of these.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the island!
Aloha!
The Up Country Bakery & Cafe Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Healthy and delicious !

I felt at home the people are very friendly.
They have such a large selection I wanted to try so many things.
I will definitely come back to this delightful cafe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Aloha!
Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you had a wonderful visit to our cafe and you felt at home! Thank you again and we're glad to hear you'll be back.
Mahalo!
The Up Country Bakery & Cafe Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We found this place easily after reading other trip advisor reviews. Luckily, we came at 9:30 in the morning on a weekday and had no lines. We ordered a loaf of the banana bread with chocolate chips and macadamia nuts. The server offered to slice it for us. So yummy. We also ordered the Lava Flow smoothie and the Witches Brew smoothie. Great breakfast stop as we made our way around the south part of the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Aloha!
Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.
We hope you enjoyed your Lava Flow & Witch's Brew Smoothie!
Our Lava Flow is made taken real pineapple that we chop and freeze and then blend it with coconut milk, coconut water and a dash of organic agave nectar. We then pour it in a cup drizzled with homemade strawberry puree.
Our Witch's Brew is made using pressed apple juice, frozen strawberries and local bananas with a dash of "Superfood" Spirulina! It's a spooky looking smoothie but delicious and filled with vitamins, iron and protein.
We also hope you loved your banana bread.
Mahalo again and hope you'll visit us again on your next visit to the island!
The Up Country Bakery & Cafe Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a friend take me here in November. I loved it! Great options for health conscious vegetarians like myself and the prices weren't bad . Cool funky atmosphere and nice staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunandlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawaiiSandWitch, Owner at Up Country Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Aloha!
Mahalo for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your visit!
Our family are dairy free vegetarians and know how challenging it can be to find a place to eat that has many options. We're glad you found us and hope you'll be back on your next visit to Hawaii!
Aloha!
Antonette & The Up Country Bakery & Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up Country Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing