We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pread if you need a BBQ Fix”

Big Jakes Island B-B-Q
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great pread if you need a BBQ Fix”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we don't have many places here on the big island that really deliver when it comes to BBQ, but Jakes does. I would definately refer my Guests from the Kona LookOut Vacation Rental to stop here well worth it

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bread Pudding ever”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The BBQ was great, the chili was very nice and the bread pudding was excellent. Another member of our group said it was the best she ever had. Chickens and roosters were a nice touch with the outdoor covered seating.
It is at milepost 106 and I expect we will go back next time we are on the big island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sffan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watersmeet, Michigan
Level Contributor
390 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed the BBQ pulled pork and lemonade. It is not a fancy place, but the food is good, there is a restroom, and the price was fair.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwaukeeSunseeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsport, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, unique atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Certainly a hole in the wall with a few picnic tables to sit on but we were there for the food not a dining "experience". We were quite happy. Very good BBQ and you won't leave hungry. It was also fun watching the gecko's and reading the goofy signs they have hanging on the walls.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DreaminofMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Must stop even if it means going out of the way”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a morning of swimming and sunning on the beach we stopped into Big Jake's Island BBQ for some lunch. Fancy left this place long ago. From the tiny kitchen to the outside shaded picnic benches shaded by a patchwork of palms and plants it is best to say that the place has character. Service is what you make of it. If you are in a hurry things will get done when they are done. If you want to be in the moment, relax, chat with the cook, and make the best of the day, the ribs will still get done when they are done.
And they are done so well. We had a half-rack with lots of sauce and it was great. The small order fed the two of us well for under $20. It is just a nice place to enjoy wonderful food, a little shade, watch the geekos on bug patrol, chickens parade by, and the traffic zooms by missing this little treasure in Captain Cook.
Kudos to Kiwina the wonderful chef, philosopher and teacher.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Jakes Island B-B-Q also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Jakes Island B-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing