We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Big Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Kona Hideaway
Ranked #9 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Big Island!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

What an amazing vacation made all the more spectacular by Lou and South Kona Hideaway!
This is the place to stay if you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle. We stayed in the Lookout room and the views of the surrounding area and ocean are breathtaking. Do not be mistaken, this is a rural area and we chose it for that reason. We wanted to be living as the locals live, and not slap in the middle of the tourist action and the South Kona Hideaway delivered!
Our suite was well appointed and most important for us, great bed, great view, good shower and a kitchenette. Rising early with the time change can be an issue but all was resolved when we got up early, ground our own fresh Kona coffee, relaxed, decided on the day and then ate wonderful fresh fruit and breads Lou dropped off for breakfast.
Lou is a fantastic host, there when you need him, gone when you don't. He suggested places to eat that were wonderful as well as places to shop that equally delighted.
Though it had no impact on our trip, there are roosters. And they crow early in the morning, but for us they just added to overall experience.
We highly recommend the South Kona Hideaway and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Lookout room as wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Felt like a vacation home! Stayed in the lower level, with kitchen, BBQ and spare bedroom (great if you have one or two kids).
Lou's breakfast juices were amazing! The fruit and coffee were fantastic! And there was a lot of privacy for a B&B!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhcShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Beautiful setting, outside of the hustle and bustle of Kona. Dogs in area bark lots in morning, but owner's dog is much better behaved. Sunsets were fabulous as were the gorgeous lizards on decks. We all loved the breakfast and fabulous local fruits served each morning. Mostly pros can be said. Cons were dogs/roosters in area, musty smell in lower level, lower level kitchen could use updating... fridge really loud! Daily sweeping would've been good.
B&B fit our needs beautifully.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ForesterCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2010

South Kona Hideaway is true to its name, for it is tucked away in a canopy of trees on a narrow road off the beaten path. But as soon as your gracious host, Lou shows you the suite (I stayed in the Lookout), any doubts you may have had melt with both hospitality and view. The suite is comfortably and tastefully appointed with a lanai that looks out over a lush expanse to the ocean, 100% Kona coffee, dishes, and a small refrigerator. The bed is comfortable and a lovely place to sit with a laptop (yes, they have wireless), watch the sun drop, and hear nothing but birds. You awake in the morning to roosters throughout the rural region playing a game of oneupsmanship. Lou unobtrusively delivers an amazing breakfast of fresh local fruit, juice, and even an egg that one of those roosters must have some involvement in. Perhaps the reason for the very proud morning announcements. This is a hidden gem for bed and breakfast fans. Don't miss it. It is relaxation and pampering truly reserved for ali'i.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights this summer and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, especially the breakfasts! Every morning it was exciting to see what was in our breakfast basket. It was always fresh, exotic fruit, with hard boiled eggs and a baked item. The scones were particularly yummy. The Lookout was like a tree house, with wonderful views of the water.
It was conveniently located to beaches and snorkeling and our hosts were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yucatanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

If you're looking for a true island experience then this is the place. We felt like residents instead of tourists. Great access to snorkeling that only the locals seem to know about.
The view from the balcony is mesmerizing. Waking up to a fresh cup of Kona coffee and taking in the sights and sounds of nature made us want to stay forever. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This was a great play to just relax. We stayed on the lower floor floor, which had a three-room open plan -- two bedrooms and a kitchen, with a pleasant deck outside. (Warning to parents -- the rooms did not have doors, which meant limited privacy.) There was no television, which was a relief to me, but the books and board games gave us plenty to do in the evenings. Decorations were fun -- sort of contemporary Hawaiian -- and not fussy grandmothery like a lot of B&Bs. The breakfast of fresh baked goods and fruit was a huge treat, and generally more than we could eat. The only quibbles are that the house is not terribly close to anything, and the view was nice, but not great -- we could see parts of Kealakekua Bay through the trees. The birds were a nice local treat, but they were quite loud in the morning, which made sleep past 6 a.m. kind of hard. Then again, with nightfall at 6:30, and not a whole lot of nightlife in the area, early rising wasn't a huge hardship. The house is close to snorkeling destinations, and the owners were very good at helping us find an outfitter.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardel_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
15.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
8.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#2 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
14.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Kona Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Kona Hideaway

Property: South Kona Hideaway
Address: 83-5399 Middle Keei Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8312
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and luxury await you! We are in the heart of the Kona Coffee Belt, 10 minutes away from some of the best snorkeling on the island. Enjoy a beautifully landscaped acre of tropical flowers, coffee trees, avocados, bananas, papayas, and citrus trees. Relax in one of two private one bedroom suites with kitchenettes, living areas, and king sleep number beds. Grill some fresh fish from the market and sit on your lanai and watch the sunset. Take a book and spend some alone time in the garden. Leave your stress behind and relax, refresh, and rejuvenate! We are easy to find and access... only one turn off the main highway and no "country roads". Luxury and Aloha await you! Welcome Home to South Kona Hideaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your South Kona Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Kona Hideaway Hotel Captain Cook
South Kona Hideaway Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing