We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
sunnyvale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

we spent four nights at the Areca Palms B and B. we had a wonderful time - welcoming hosts, delicious breakfast and great location. Steve and janice went out of their way to help us plan our vacation in Hawaii. The rooms at the B and B are cosy and beautifully maintained.

- venkat and Jay, Sunnyvale, CA

  • Liked — hosts, rooms, breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank venkatjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Janice, the owner, was great! Her breakfasts are spectacular - fresh juice or smoothie, fresh fruit, coffee and of course a great entree. She sat with us to show us on a map where to tour while on the Big Island. The lanai and jacuzzi were definitely added pleasures. Lastly, the b&b was extremely clean. My husband and I have nothing but praise for Areca Palms.

-Sarah & Mark

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heysarahbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Best food, best view, best host, best atmoshpere...best in show! You would be crazy not to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kobza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

Delightful hosts, delicious breakfast, beautiful setting, and immaculate rooms and grounds. Will definitely return on our next visit to Hawaii. Thank you so much for such a wonderful experience.

  • Liked — Bright, cheery, and very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dole98665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

We had a great four nights at Areca Palms. The grounds and home are beautiful, the hosts gracious and the breakfast great. In reading the reviews it looked like the only downside folks have are some of the rules. These rules seemed perfectly acceptable and either enhanced the stay for everyone or helped them run the B&B. The rules did not hamper our stay in any significant way. Some examples are no showers after 10PM or before 7AM, breakfast is at 8AM sharp, but if you want to head out earlier they'll make a great to-go breakfast for you; no food in the rooms. They also have specific hours for check in that you'll want to be clear on.
They offered some great iteneraries for the area and tips for seeing the volcano, going snorkeling (best snorkleing I've had in Hawaii is near there) or going to the beach (its about 15 minutes drive to the beach below the B&B). We stayed in the lower Lanai room which has the benefit of separate entry (great for coming in late or going out early), separate bath and its own Lania. Its a lower level room, but it suited us just fine. Definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank ssapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

We enormously enjoyed our 2 week stay at the Areca Palms B&B. Besides the outstanding breakfasts (quality and quantity!), Areca Palms turned out to be an exceptional choice. Our room and bathroom were perfectly clean, the garden is beautiful and quiet and the resort is extremely well situated (close to the best snorkeling beaches and to Kailua Kona, an excellent base for visiting the island, etc.). Moreover, Janice and Steve Glass are very generous hosts: Thanks to their recommendations, we could efficiently plan our excursions and whether for snorkeling or visiting the volcano, they even lent us the specific equipment. We definitely recommend Areca Palms B&B to all those who plan an active and/or passive vacation on the Big Island.
A great “Mahalo” to Janice and Steve and “lots of Aloha”,
Evelyne and Michel Erb, Switzerland

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Michiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

We had a lovely experience at Areca Palms. The grounds, building, and rooms are immaculate. Clearly, the owners put a great deal of effort into their B&B. There is a distant ocean view (the property is about a half-mile from the ocean). They grow much of the fruit used to make the absolutely amazing breakfasts, which were the best we had on the island (we stayed at 5 different B&Bs of similar cost). The owners went the extra mile to make sure we had a great experience, providing towels, snorkels, and a wealth of information about local sights, economy, and history.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Zebrafish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
10.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.5 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing