We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sue and Garth's trip to the big island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sue and Garth's trip to the big island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Areca Palms for several nights. Janice and Steve were very helpful with trip planning and places to visit. The place was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were works of art.
They were able to lend us all sorts of equipment for touring, cold storage boxes, snorkelling kit and more. The place is higher up the hillside and sheltered by trees making it a little cooler in the evenings and mornings, perfect temperature if you have been at the beach all day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarthRamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was great having you guys here. The stories and converstaion were very interesting. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place went beyond our expectations. My wife and I loved the privacy and warm welcome we got when we arrived. I got sick upon arrival of my stomach and Janice gave me some ginger tea and it helped big time. The breakfast was the best! Above any restaurant we went to during our stay, not only that they also have trips typed out so if you have no idea of what to do this is perfect for you. Both Janice and Steve very good hosts with their recommendations, their customer service and with just about anything you could ask them they'll have a good answer for ya. We loved this place and would recommend it to anyone :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehsmarinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are so happy that we could help you two have a wonderful honeymoon. We enjoyed your enthusiasm for life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Fields, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed four nights at Areca Palms and enjoyed every minute of our stay - breakfasts were the highlight of the day; Steve and Janice are very friendly hosts; very comfortable room and facilities; great location away from touristy traffic with many very good restaurants nearby. We would not hesitate to recommend Areca Palms for anyone who want to spend time away from hustle and bustle of Kona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsrini01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

when you arrive and you feel "That's where I want to live": then you are at Areca Palms Estate. Hosts which support you in every way, quiet and eco friendly environment, delicious 5 star breakfast - you will miss nothing.
Whenever we will come back to Big Island we will stay here again.

Simone and Karl form Munich/Germany

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Simone and Karl, Thank you for the wonderful review. It is so kind of you to take the time to write such wonderful words. If we ever get to Germany we will definitely look you up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Steve and Janice are great hosts. Nice clean house and rooms, feels like you are staying with family. Great breakfast by Janice and recommendations by Steve. Location was good for accessing many sites in the Captain Cook and Kona area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frugal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review. It so nice to hear that our offering is what travwllers are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location, lovely house, friendly and knowledgeable hosts, and fantastic breakfasts. What more could you ask for? Just off the Hawai'i Belt Road (Route 11) but away from highway noise - quick and easy access to snorkeling, historic sites, nature attractions, and restaurants, and an easy 20 minute drive to Kona. Steve and Janice are fun to be with and have anticipated everything their guests might need, such as swim fins. They can provide expert advice on diverse questions, from where to eat to the best times to go snorkeling. Janice prepares wonderful breakfasts, using locally sourced ingredients. The rooms are meticulously maintained. Areca Palms B&B is a real gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do try to make our guests feel comfortable and enjoy hearing about their adventures on the Island. Your enthusiasm is contagious. Thanks again. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a last minute booking and although I had been to the Big Island several times, this was my first stay in a bed and breakfast. Even though our arrival was much later than planned, hosts Steve and Janice were very accommodating, ensuring we had good directions and ready to meet any other needs we may have. We had a cozy room and a very spacious bathroom and they helped us settle right in despite the late hour. In the morning we were greeted with a bountiful and oh so ono (Hawaiian for "delicious") breakfast unlike I never had before. Janice is an amazing cook - blending tropical fruits and dishes with wonderful finishing touches like guava syrup. During the day, they let us roam as we wish but were able to recommend a myriad of activities based on our desired plans. They led us to snorkeling at the nearby Capt Cook monument, which Ican say beats anything I've found on Oahu. They also directed us to some very good restaurants nearby (don't wait too late to go out for grub...the area is peaceful, serene, and eateries are not open late!) and Kona is a short drive up the road.

I recommend Areca Palms B&B for anyone seeking a slower paced Hawaiian getaway away from the resorts. The breakfast alone is worth the stay, and the hosts make it even more memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillyflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
repeathawaii, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We enjoyed having you here. It is always nice to have a visitor from the neighbor Islands find our B&B and the Kona coast for the first time. Hope you had some luck in finding the property you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
10.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.5 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
30.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing