We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a nice ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were there just 3 days but these days were perfect.
our room and the house was so pretty and clean. the nature there is awesome. no noiseses, we could sleep very well.
janice was very helpful and so organized. she helped us so much with many things and gave us a lot of good advises.
we had a few really good conversations with steve what was very nice.
the breakfast there was soooo good, delicious! and the coffee with baileys.... yummi!
we enjoyed our stay there and looking forward to come back one day.
thank you very much!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anabell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
repeathawaii, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Aloha Annabell, we really enjoyed having you and Pascalvisit. Your stories of your homelam
nd were wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 123 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

My friends and I decided to stay at Areca Palns Estate B&B during our recent stay on the Big Island. I wasn't disappointed upon arrival as the grounds and rooms were clean and tidy.

Steve and Janice, owners, assisted my friends and I by providing local events and attractions information at the time of our stay. There is great snorkeling nearby, and many different places to visit using Areca Palms Estate B&B as a home base to get out and explore.

After our daytrip adventures we sat out on the lanai and shared our experiences with the other guest who were also staying which made good conversaiton.

Breakfast was delicious to get the day started, and I did not leave hungry!

Overall a very relaxing time and I would definately recommend Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast if you are planning to visit the Big Island of Hawaii!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
repeathawaii, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hi Max, Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you got a chance to swim with the Manta Rays.We look forward to seeing you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We picked this place for location on the Big Island, close to good snorkeling for beginners at Two Step and also not too far a drive from Volcanoes National Park. Steve and Janice are two extremely knowledgeable and friendly people. The breakfasts are fantastic, great quality and variety of food, wonderful flavor, and the portions are big enough to get you started on your day without feeling stuffed. Great fruit plate every morning, wonderful juices and hot beverages, and the main breakfast course was to die for! Pancakes, waffles, homemade muffins and coconut syrup. My wife and I were in heaven!

The rooms were immaculate, comfortable, and very affordable. The entire house and grounds are spectacular - very well cared for and attractive. Their free snorkeling equipment is in good condition and great for those unsure how much they will like snorkeling. Take Steve's advice on the snorkeling -- he's obviously guided many a novice into a great adventure at Two Step.

Janice and Steve have great day trip planners ready for you at the house. They are good enough that if you have lost your tour book, you won't miss it. If you have a good tour book, their day-trip planners are a great suppliment. Janice and Steve really know the islands and gave us some great tips for other islands as well.

One real treasure is the other guests that come to Areca Palms. Steve and Janice get a lot of repeat customers (we hope to be in that category soon). But the other guests also have a lot to share, and breakfast conversation about things to see and do is a real bonus.

Areca Palms is an incredible value for travelers. The food and accomodations are top notch, and if you like meeting people and having a very nice breakfast with other great folks, you absolutely cannot do better than Areca Palms.

Jane and Matt from Arkansas send their best to Steve and Janice, and we the readers go to Areca Palms -- you'll love it there!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
repeathawaii, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for the accolades. We enjoyed our visit with you and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Areca Palm B&B and had a great stay.
The house and garden are beautiful, very quiet, and the outside living room is a pleasant place to rest or just read a book. The room and bathroom were very clean and you have all you need.
Breakfast was very good (especially the breads!) and we even got great recipes from Janice.

Also, the B&B is ideally situated : close to Kona, Kehalakekua bay, lots of restaurants (try the wonderful Italian "Mi's" at 5 minutes from the house!)

I would definitely recommend to stay there!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank olivia_sei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for the kind words. Hop to seeyou again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The estate is gorgeous. Beautiful lawn and a nice wood interior. Breakfast was art on a plate. We stayed for six days and every day Janice made something hot like waffles, pancakes or eggs. She also gave us great fresh fruit and Kona coffee. The other two BBs we stayed at on this trip only offered fruit and cold items. Husband Steve gave us great recommendations on places to go and every tip was spot on. He was pleasant to talk with and helpful. Unfortunately, we had some interactions with Janice that negated some of the great positives. She loaned my daughter a sweat shirt (nice) for a cool night, but when my wife didn't give it back first thing the next morning, she got snippy and insulting. One night I was having a courtesy cup of Chai Tea (a nice touch) and opened the refrigerator for milk and Janice told me I was violating state law by going into her fridge. She didn't complain about that when her husband got sick and we put the milk and fruit away in the fridge so it wouldn't spoil when she had to leave. She referred to us as "you people" and left my wife and I with the impression she wanted us out of the house as soon as possible so she could do her part time job and tidy the rooms. She even said she thought we brought a tree frog with us from the town of Volcano that somehow got into the wheel well of our car. We missed the customer is always right mentality from a good hotel, which is where we'll probably stay on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thankk you for your kind words. However, we believe that there were some misunderstandings that led you tolessen our rating. The sweatshirt was loaned to your daughter because she did not bring anything warm to wear. Janice loaned her a piece of her personal clothing.When it was not returned the next morning Janice asked for it. This is not part of our general offering, to loan clothes to customers, so Janice asked for its return.
The refrigerator incident was clearly a misunderstanding on your part. When we introduced you and your family we told you that that refrigerator and kitchen were not for guests use. We offer a guest refrigerator for our guests. Yes, there was an emergency run to the hospital the next morning during breakfast. You took it upon yourselves to to clear the table. Thank you.
Your interpretation of Janices use of the term "you people" is not consistent with the hospitality we showed you. "You people" is used commonly in our country. What she stated was "We need to get you people on the road to explore the Island". It was not derogatory in any way. Perhaps this was a colliquial language phrase that you had not heard before.
An invasive frog called the Coqui Frog has invaded the Island. The frog is spreading around the Island by hitchhiking on cars. We were only pointing this out to you. It was certainly not to accuse you of spreading the frogs.
We did enjoy your familys stay here at Areca Palms and are disappointed that these minor issues were interpreted as ruining your stay. Come back and we will make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the Areca Palms B& B for two nights the first part of May. We knew it would be a nice place to stay because it is AAA rated, and when we drove unto the property, we were not disappointed, for it felt like we had arrived at an Hawaiian paradise, with the large expanse of green lawn, palm trees and banana trees. Janice and Steve gave us a warm welcome into their beautiful home that is also the Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Rose room which was lovely and very clean and comfortable. Janice reminded us to be careful of their beautiful wood floors, so we took off our shoes and didn't roll our luggage, but carried it in and out of our room. Each morning Janice served us a delicious and nicely prepared breakfast and they gave us helpful information about places to see on the Big Island. In the evening we enjoyed relaxing on the lanai that overlooked their lovely yard, and listened to the sounds of the birds and rain and watched the geckos on the railing. Overall we had a wonderful time here and would recommend it to couples who would enjoy a relaxing and comfortable stay in a beautiful environment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SDV07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

In a residential area this b& b is very clean with spacious room and bathroom, nice light, near snorkeling, kona, botanical gardens... Breakfast was good too. Only problem was that the owner has a temper. She is mostly pleasant and helpful, but gets too easily annoyed and it led to a couple of unpleasant interactions.
If this doesn't bother you, then it's a fine place

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cassieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
1.6 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#4 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
8.4 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
313 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $115 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing