We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know what the fuss is about.”
Review of Manago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manago Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't know what the fuss is about.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is old. Not in the good way of charm and character, but just old. It was clean, the staff were nice, but it wasn't particularly comfortable or welcoming. Nice view though. We had dinner there, and it was pretty boring food. But it filled the gap.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    110
    38
    14
    2
See reviews for
56
136
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in one of the "dorm" rooms with shared bathrooms. My room had a REALLY old bed with a REALLY old mattress, REALLY old pillow, and REALLY old desk in it. Yes, it's definitely vintage. The walls are super thin as the guy in the room beside me was snoring SO loudly I ended up sleeping in my car since I wasn't going to fall asleep with a rhinoceros next door. I'm guessing the better reviews are for the ensuite rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you need a place to spend the night, expect clean rooms and family atmosphere. The Breakfast is fast and reasonable, their lunch is plenty grinds and the dinner is always the same menue that you can depend on!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bath or if you can't afford that there are rooms with a community b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGingerGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
606 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Competitively priced, clean rooms, simple, no-frills. The private veranda looking out towards the ocean is an added bonus on the 2nd and 3rd floors - perfect to watch the sun set. A great choice to spend the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It’s an historic hotel, without TV or any fancy amenities.
Room was relatively comfortable.

The owner works at the front desk and was very friendly.

The cheap rate is a big incentive to stay there.

Not too far from Kona, so if you tour the island I’d recommend to stay at Capt. Cook before heading back to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is a great bargain! We stayed in the Japanese room which I would highly recommend. I have no complaints about the room at all, nor any about this hotel. The attached restaurant is a bargain with great food. The pork chops and ahi were amazing! Breakfast spam, rice, and guava juice was heavenly. Our room had a TV but maybe it's just the Japanese rooms? The tatami mats were looking worn but I really have absolutely nothing bad to say about the Manago. Parking was always available. We'll definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Book the Japanese room for a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VisitTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay if you plan on being out all day and just need a place to crash and take a shower before venturing out the next day. I think it is reasonably safe but there are locals that seem to live there year round. At the time of my stay in August 2003 there were not phones and cell reception was not so hot. This is not a negative if you are really trying to get away from it all but something to consider if you want to be reachable. Even though they do not put much (at all) into the furnishings they do keep things clean and for the price you can not complain. I stayed in one of the cheapest rooms there was and I think if I did it again I would maybe spring for the upgrade. Overall, this place left me wanting to return and wishing that Maui had a similar accomadations not located in Central Maui.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are good enough but spring for the upgrade and you will be a bit more confortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeatherLea70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
44.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
11.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
11.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
35.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manago Hotel

Property: Manago Hotel
Address: 82-6155 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manago Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manago Hotel is located in Captain Cook Town on the slopes of Mauna Loa at an elevation of 1,350 ft. It overlooks the beautiful Kealakekua Bay, and the ancient Hawaiian Place of Refuge in Honaunau. This is an ideal location with cool, quiet nights and sunny days, where travelers can relax and sleep comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Manago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manago Hotel Captain Cook
Manago Captain Cook
Manago Hotel Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing