We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manago Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
130
121
42
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
121
42
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthird floorno frillspork chopjapanese roomhistoric hotelfloor roomgreat bargaintatami matsprivate roomold hawaiithe big islandside dishesno elevatorjapanese stylerooms are basicshared bathfarmers market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 311 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We paid a little more for the third floor, Room 302, and found ourselves with a distant view of Captain Cook Bay. We're bird watchers and with a small grove of fruit trees below us there were many birds right outside our balcony. Other than that this is a simple place, no tv, clean bathrooms, good housekeeping, no pool... it does have wifi.

Prices: Single, Double,Triple, Quad (Good discounts for longer stays)
1st Floor $56, 59, 62, 65
2nd Floor $59, 62 65, 68
3rd Floor $61, 64, 67, 70
Community Bath Single $33, Double $36

Some things to keep in mind.
It is an older, simple motel like structure. If crowded it might be a bit busy and or noisy. It might not be the place to go if they have a youth group staying there.

The desk closes at 9 PM. Work out your arrival with them before that time.

If you go there you must have the pork chops. They are too good for words.

It is close to some interesting sights, but not to the resort areas. It is on the high ridge just South of Kona so it isn't near the beach.

The hotel itself has an interesting history and we spent some time browsing the hotel's story of Japanese immigration and hard work.

With firm handshake,
Raleigh

Room Tip: It is a haul to the third floor, no elevators, but well worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raleighmclemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Basic. Clean. Safe. No frills, but then I didn't go to Hawai'i for TV! Friendly, comfortable feel to the whole place which feels like you are staying at a cross among a hostel, budget hotel and guesthouse. It feels like you are the guests of locals rather than any generic chain.

Email replies aren't immediate, but still they come in plenty of time. They arranged for us to get in our room late, and everything went according to their laid back description. Being our first night of 13, staying here put us in the right frame of mind for our visit: take it slow, unwind, relax.

LOVED the flock of chickens and the fruit trees behind the hotel where our window looked out (it's someone else's property, but still nice to see).

We had our first AMPLE PROPORTION of loco moco for our first morning in their cafe (really, 2 people could split one order), and LOVED how easy it was to find our hotel (literally, it's ON the road).

It wasn't spacious, but not crowded at all, either, in our room with four of us. Shower/bathroom was exactly enough room (no wasted room).

If ever I'm lucky enough to return to the Big Island, my favorite of the three I visited, I'll definitely plan to return to the Manago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AprilAllYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here hoping for a place that we could stay for the entire week with our family while we enjoyed the west side of the island after an extended trip. The price is pretty good, but there really are no frills. No TV and the beds are very small. At least the beds were quite firm (I mean really firm) with no sagging. Our room was clean. There are about 4-5 roosters that crow all night making it impossible to sleep with the door open to the lanai. I have heard so many good things about this hotel, but I was really quite disappointed. My kids were dissappointed in the lack of tv as they were looking forward to soaking up some cable. They should tell folks there is no tv in my opinion. The price is the main attraction, but in my opinion you get what you pay for. I did not try the restaurant at the hotel, but the little bagel shop down the street was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine Ula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location - 3rd floor is best. I've stayed here 3 times and plan to keep going back each year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaLunaStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Manago Hotel hearkens back to the Hawaii of 100 years ago. It is not a cookie cutter modern hotel, but is a place with character. The rooms are incredibly reasonably priced, the upper floor rooms have killer views of the ocean and local bay, and while the buildings are older, they are well maintained and clean. They are able to accommodate families by providing different options for beds, with two or three beds per room. We were very happy to have found this hotel for our trip to the Kona side of the island. Close to Kona and very close to snorkeling at the Captain Cook monument. In a quaint town atmosphere away from the hectic feel of Kona. Unlike many parts of the Big Island, parking was not a problem here.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flowerdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews