We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable basic hotel”
Review of Manago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manago Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
434 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Comfortable basic hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location - 3rd floor is best. I've stayed here 3 times and plan to keep going back each year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaLunaStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    111
    39
    14
    2
See reviews for
56
139
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Manago Hotel hearkens back to the Hawaii of 100 years ago. It is not a cookie cutter modern hotel, but is a place with character. The rooms are incredibly reasonably priced, the upper floor rooms have killer views of the ocean and local bay, and while the buildings are older, they are well maintained and clean. They are able to accommodate families by providing different options for beds, with two or three beds per room. We were very happy to have found this hotel for our trip to the Kona side of the island. Close to Kona and very close to snorkeling at the Captain Cook monument. In a quaint town atmosphere away from the hectic feel of Kona. Unlike many parts of the Big Island, parking was not a problem here.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Fun place to stay. This is not a 5 star resort, but it is reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, well run and has an Old Hawaii feel. We stayed in the charming Japanese room on the top floor with an ocean view. The dining room has good food at reasonable prices with a homey, family style atmosphere and excellent staff. They get a real cross section of guests and at any meal you'll hear 4 or 5 different languages. One good thing about staying here is that it gives you great 'street cred.' Mention to any local that you're at the Manago and you get an instant smile and are invariably asked if you've tried the pork chops.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was our first overnight stay right after arriving on the Kona side of the Big Island. The great thing about being on the Big Island is that it feels like most people say....it's Hawaii before Hawaii becoming touristy. Being and staying in Captain Cook makes you feel like that, especially the small roadside shops. Try places like Patz, Mapela's, or Discovery Antiques (not what you think...they have ice cream in the back). For sleeping options, there aren't much if anything other than Manago. Also by the roadside, this place was simple and basic with a restaurant on site. We, of course, arrived on the day the restaurant was closed so didn't get a chance to eat there. However we did decide to stay as we didn't want to drive anymore. The kind Japanese lady helped check us in and got us our room and told us everything we needed to know.

The room was on the second floor and in the back building, which I'm sure is a newer addition done a while back. The new and old building create a courtyard in between which is where the Japanese style garden is situated. Now, the garden is not a highly designed or world class Japanese garden but more like something you would find in a typical Japanese home. You can get up to the room a couple of different ways, one is through a bridge which links the two buildings and the other is to just park in the rear and walk up one of the stairs of the rear building. The room was simple and basic with 2 full size beds, a couple of older nightstands, and a simple desk and chair. The bathroom was also very basic and nothing special or particularly bad.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again just to experience what else Captain Cook has to offer.

Room Tip: For a different experience try one of their Japanese rooms, comes complete with Tatami mats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteville, Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I agree with most of what other reviewers are saying--this hotel is clean and very basic. We had a third floor room in the back building facing the ocean. Great views and quiet--could not hear much from neighbors. There's is only one problem, a big one for me--roosters. There are two or three that roam the grounds and they start calling as early as 3 am. So, if you are a light sleeper, bring good ear plugs but even those don't help sometimes, especially when the rooster is right below your room. I don't know why the owners don't work something out with their neighbors as this is a big detraction. I like this place, and the restaurant, but would not return because a good night's sleep is more important.

Room Tip: Top floor best for views and to not hear neighbors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

nothing fancy but well-run and not a dump. A great deal! And charming grounds (koi pond, garden). We had a room in the building in the back, on the top floor, by the stairwell. It was pretty quiet. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our room was very basic, but it was easy to find and a convenient location. You can walk down the road to some restaurants and coffee shops. We also had dinner at the hotel which was a fun experience and very reasonable. It was a great jumping off point for snorkeling in the bay and getting out of the Kona area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
11.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
11.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
44.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
11.6 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
480 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manago Hotel

Property: Manago Hotel
Address: 82-6155 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manago Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manago Hotel is located in Captain Cook Town on the slopes of Mauna Loa at an elevation of 1,350 ft. It overlooks the beautiful Kealakekua Bay, and the ancient Hawaiian Place of Refuge in Honaunau. This is an ideal location with cool, quiet nights and sunny days, where travelers can relax and sleep comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Manago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manago Hotel Captain Cook
Manago Captain Cook
Manago Hotel Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing