We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but oh so lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic, but oh so lovely!”
Reviewed December 12, 2009

After reading the article in the NYT we decided to stay at the Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B in one of the Green Rooms. This was our second accommodation on the Hawaiian Islands, after having a nice time on Maui. The room was simple & clean, with a separate toilet and shower (hot water!), the sink was in the main room. There were some tiny ants near the sink, but never in our bed! It's what you can expect at a farm and in a humid environment. We did not hear any traffic noise, only roosters who wished us 'Good morning'! This place is perfect for visiting the most important spots on Big Island. We especially enjoyed the place of refuge and the hospitality of Johnsie & John Paul. Breakfast was great and a good opportunity to talk to other guests. If you are looking for an affordable stay on Big Island, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpkoudstaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asti, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We're an Italian couple went there for our honeymoon, and stay there three days.
At the very first moment, we confess, was a little confused...yes, it's not the four-star-resort...but hey, it's a Farm! A LUCKY farm!!
John and Johnsie (the owners) welcome us very friendly and immediately feel us like at home. We enjoyed to stroll around and see the farm and lush plants. All they have was at our disposition. Fridge, cooler, towels, mats, boogie boards, snorkel gear, BBQ.
A very good market is just few miles away...what ask for more?!
We liked the room, cozy and charming, and just for few mosquitoes outside, who have all the rights to be there (and we have all he right to use repellent against them), we don't found any bug or critter.
Johnsie prepare strong breakfasts every morning, explaining the vary homemade jellies we found on the table, and the coffe don't make us regret our Italian coffee!!! ...really cool!
We really enjoy our stay there, and we're sad when leave those wonderful folks who opened their home and hearts to us.
It was a long trip from Italy, but Pomaika'i worth it, and make it really special.
Thanks a lot to John, Johnsie and JJ!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

What a delightful place to stay! Well-situated outside of Captain Cook on the main road with just the right amount of busy-ness and quietude. It is a day trip to the volcanoes and back or in the opposite direction, to the northern beaches and back. The driveway is a bit tricky to find and is very steep and windy, but once navigated, there is plenty of room for cars and stuff. This is a very simple B&B. Beneath the farm house, there is a common area with a refrigerator, storage, and simple cooking burners to use. They have snorkeling equipment to lend. IT is all very laid back. Upstairs in the main house there are simple serviceable rooms that are adequately clean. We stayed in August, so the ants in the bedroom were at their worst. We hung everything up and pulled the beds from the walls. The owners put fresh powder around and that solved that for the most part. There are two cute outbuildings that serve as other bedrooms...much cuter and more expensive than our simple rooms. This is a working coffee farm which you can tour. They serve their own coffee every morning with a very generous breakfast. They are also generous with their advice about getting around the island and spot on restaurant recommendations. All in all a good value for this sweet, well-run B & B

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FannyCranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Be aware that this farm is right off a busy road -- the bowl of ear plugs by the bed tells me I am not the only one to find it noisy. Also, the owners have a very laid back sense of things, so be prepared to feel like you are camping rather than at a B&B. For example, rotting fruit on the lanai attracts all manner of bugs and clutter around the place really makes it much less than paradise for those that would like a the beauty of the lodgings to match the beauty of the setting. The coffee barn's bathroom is within the bedroom with no real walls, so also note that couples seeking romance might find that a little too intimate. The (outdoor) shower runs on propane so is either scalding or cold. All and all, a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherinedePaquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our family of four stumbled across a review of the Lucky Farm B&B, and decided to give it a go during our two day, two night stay on the Big Island. We're very glad we did! Johnsie and John Paul were wonderful hosts...taking time to listen to what we hoped to see on the island, and then directing us to different destinations (e.g., petroglyphs, the area where the lava meets the ocean, Pu'uhonua... NP, etc.). John Paul took special delight in showing us many of the trees and plants growing on their four acre farm - papayas, bananas, passion fruit, jaboticabas (grape-like fruit that grows out of the trunk and branches...very weird looking, but equally delicious), guavas, avocados, macadamia nuts, and Kona coffee. He also took a personal interest in our nine year old son who is terrified of bees. John Paul, it turns out, has been a beekeeper for years - and spent time explaining all about them to our son - who now has a new-found respect for them (and, thankfully, is no longer terrified of them!).

As Johnsie told us before we made reservations - staying at the Lucky Farm is a step above camping. We had geckos in our bathroom, slats in our floor that allows for ventilation, and no glass in the windows (didn't need them since the windows are screened in). We also had clean sheets on comfortable beds, hot water in the shower, bountiful breakfasts, delicious coffee, and hosts who truly cared about our stay. If you're looking for an adventure - and not a run-of-the-mill hotel room - then I HIGHLY recommend the Lucky Farm.

Dave

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davej147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Lucky farm was great.
I stayed for three nights with my girlfriend (now wife) and it was fantastic.
The rooms are truly a hawaiian lanai, screened in and very open to the outdoors. This is great because you get a real taste for Hawaiian living. You can hear all the sounds of the island, and feel the breezes as well. One piece of advice though... if you really want a secluded, private room Lucky farm is not for you. You can hear your neighbors and other things going on around the farm.
That being said... the service and experience in general were awesome. The hostess was gracious, helpful and cooked amazing breakfasts. Every type of fruit you could ever want is fresh and picked right off the trees around the farm. The view from the main house's patio is gorgeous looking straight out to the Pacific over Captain Cook. You're treated like family here. Every morning we got updates from Johnsie and the other guests on great things to see and do. We even got updates on where others had seen and snorkelled with dolphin pods so we could easily find them.
Lucky farm is fantastic. Go!
Oh, and great coffee! Make sure you take a bag home.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinnelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Everything was great ! Just what we wanted Hawaii at it's best.
Loved being in the coffee barn. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed all the fruit trees, great location. Most of all I loved the sheets on the bed. 100% cotton nice and soft just like at home !! We will be back next year. Danielle

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikinbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
2.9 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
290 reviews
14.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
8.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
405 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
34.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B

Property: Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Address: 83-5465 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8303
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at a working Kona Coffee Farm! Enjoy a full cooked breakfast accompanied by fresh fruits from the farm. Try the macadamia nuts right out of the back yard. Snorkel, scuba dive, kayak, or hike at the nearby beaches. Beach equipment, guest kitchen. Free Wi-fi internet access. The Coffee Barn now has an in-room fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Bed And Breakfast
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Hotel Captain Cook
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing