We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$219
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$148
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
$149
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,458
$839
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$409
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$409
$299
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
38
23
6
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
23
6
9
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 83 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Everything was great ! Just what we wanted Hawaii at it's best.
Loved being in the coffee barn. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed all the fruit trees, great location. Most of all I loved the sheets on the bed. 100% cotton nice and soft just like at home !! We will be back next year. Danielle

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikinbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We spent 8 days and stayed in the Coffee Barn. Every morning breakfast was wonderful. At the table everyone talked about what they did the day before. The innkeepers Johnsie and John educated us everyday about the island. Things we would never had known by staying in a hotel. The out side shower was refreshing. We felt like we were in our own little world staying in the Coffee Barn. Bed was comfortable and sheets were clean. Towels were clean and so was the room. Never had any problem with bugs of any kind. Coming back to the B&B every night was like coming home. Laying in bed at night was like listening to a symphony of nature playing. Crickets outside, birds, the leaves blowing in the wind. This is an actual coffee plantation, Kona coffee every morning at breakfast. Yum. The fresh avocado's at breakfast were one of my favorites. The size of softballs. If we were ever lucky enough to go back to the Big Island this is exactly where we would stay again. Lucky Farm B&B, maybe we will be.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortable50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

I had looked at Lucky B&B before booking, but once the farm was mentioned in an article in the NYTimes magazine, I thought, "The secret's out. Better book immediately." And I'm so glad I did.

Coming from the East Coast - the land of quaint,charming, antique-filled B&Bs - the Coffee Barn was a fun, adventurous stay in a lush jungle paradise. My husband and I loved waking up to the giant fronds waving over our heads and the glorious scents of flowers and fruits. This is a rustic choice, and though we didn't see any bugs, lizards or geckos in our room during our two-night stay, if you're a resort-type of person, this is not for you. But if you want a sense of magic and history, I can't recommend this enough.

The outdoor shower is something we're familiar with from many vacations in Cape Cod, and it's magical to bathe with palm fronds overhead and a shower floor edged with coral and seashells. It's latticed on the sides and further screened in by woven bamboo mats. You're not exposed at all, but again, if you need marble and ceramic tile and a sense of total enclosure when showering, this isn't for you.

The linens on our bed were clean and fresh (and matched) - the towels were thick and there were more than enough provided. The Coffee Barn was clean and tidy, and there was ample room for four people. A wide built-in bench provided seating and a place to store our luggage. There are thoughtful touches such a plenty of hooks for hanging towels (no closets though there's a bar to hang clothes and plenty of hangers) and enough shelf space in the bathroom. Plus there's a large mirror in the main living area that my daughters loved because they say it makes you look thinner!

Johnsie Sumner, the innkeeper, makes you feel very welcome and is always available to answer questions without being obtrusive. Her breakfasts were delicious and always featured a hot item along with english muffins, incredible Kona coffee she grows on the farm, and plenty of fresh fruits, also from the farm. We tasted papaya, more lychee nuts than I've ever seen, and passionfruit - all fresh picked. She also had homemade jams that were jewel-like in color and heavenly to taste.

Underneath the main house there's a kitchen area where there's a full-size fridge and each rental unit has its own shelf area to store goods - a great thing for a longer term stay, and something not provided by most B&Bs. There's also a coffee maker and toaster oven, plates and utensils, and a sink. There's also coolers you can borrow for the day, beach chairs, boogie boards, and some sunscreen, aloe, and lotion if you forget to bring yours, along with beach towels.

Johnsie just installed wireless internet connection, available in the main house and the greenhouse rooms, though not in the Coffee Barn. (But we travel to get away from that, don't we?)

We stayed here with two our two teenage daughters, and we met two other couples over breakfast and traded advice for volcano and lava viewing, and other travel advice for sightseeing on the Big Island.

Lucky B&B is casual, informal, and a far cry from the very developed coastal regions of Kailua Kona, yet there's plenty of terrific restaurants just a short drive away. We enjoyed the Greenwell Coffee farm tour (Johnsie's recommendation) and feel much more knowledgeable about coffee buying and brewing now.

This is a great, affordable place for active couples who don't want the same old, same old hotel room, and want to sample a feeling of old Hawai'i. My husband and I would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NYDinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

My family had a great stay. The breakfasts were good using local (some right from the premises) fruit. Conversation with the other guests at the breakfast table was a big highlight with good info being swapped. The room was ready for all four of us when we arrived, including enough towels. Everything that we needed for our stay was readily available (coolers, ice, boogie boards, hair dryers, etc.). We ate macedamias we found and enjoyed the coffee from the farm. My younger daughter enjoyed the cats.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JuanPedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Farmhouse Room for 3 nights. We really enjoyed our stay here and cannot say enough about the innkeeper herself and the way we were made to feel right at home from the beginning. This is an affordable stay that provides not only a clean room and breakfast but also an usable outdoor kitchen, beach towels, snorkel equipment, coolers and even ice for the cooler. The innkeeper gave us a tour of her 4 acres of property and even helped us toast our own Mac nuts. She was always around to answer all of our questions and would do anything she could to better accommodate her guests. This stay provided us with a true taste of life on the Big Island that we could not have received through a stay in a hotel or a more formal B&B. Staying at Luck Farm was one of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island and we would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nlud22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews