We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kealakekua Bay
from $182.30
More Info
from $115.00
More Info
from $69.66
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
506
103
29
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
103
29
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish spinner dolphins captain cook monument the big island rent a kayak kona boys great snorkeling marine life rocky beach sea turtles crystal clear waters tour boats snorkeling location hawaiian islands early in the morning an abundance bring plenty of water
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rented kayaks from Kona kayaks to explore Kealakekua Bay.
We paddled over to the monument area. That is the place where we snorkeled. Lots of colourful fish in all shapes and sizes.
No dolphins were around when we were there which was too bad. We saw a turtle which they don't usually get there as there is nothing for the turtles to eat there.
Definitely go early. By about 10 am, the tour boats show up and there are a lot of them. We were on the water by 8 am so we spent 2 great hours there. You aren't allowed to go to the monument unless with a guide so we just stayed in the water.
We will definitely go again.

1  Thank tag1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took a kayak over and snorkeled the bay..stunning tons of yellow fish and blue, Black and long skinny and many colors ..coral was bright..water the most gorgeous blue..the monument was pretty too. We planned to do the hike but got turned around and stumbled onto bayside kayak..awesome people and 2 turtles right at the launch part. We were so tired when we got back but we didn’t flip our kayak which was a win

Thank drmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The incomparable blue of Kealakekua Bay, framed by ancient high cliffs... the waves beckoning onward towards the not-so-far shore, with its white monument marking a fateful encounter... the dolphins in the early morning, and the tropical fish always there. You won’t soon forget a trip here, and doubtless you will be drawn back to this unique place, in memory or in reality.

Thank meimei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I love to go down the trail from Captain Cook to this beach to go snorkeling. Go early before all the tour boats arrive to see more fish.

Thank eaglecadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

We had the tour guide Isiah and his brother. They gave great history "lesson" which was very interesting however the history lesson went from 7:15 - 8:45 which ended up taking a lot of time from the 5 hour tour. My husband and I had never kayaked nor snorkeled before and the guides were NOT helpful with us as beginners.

Had we known more what we were doing the experience may have been better, but when reading about this activity it said "no experience needed" so we thought we would be fine and the guides would teach us. We had little to no instruction from the guides and were scared most of the kayaking time. The guides did not stay near us which was even more frightening.

The lunch was decent and once we figured out the snorkeling (by ourselves) it was a very cool experience. Overall, if you know what you are doing we would recommend this, but it is NOT beginner friendly. We also did not get to see any dolphins.

1  Thank KML1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Took a boat trip out to Kealakekua Bay for the snorkeling. It was perfect. Clear water with an amazing variety of fish. Saw an eel also. It was a great experience and hope to make it back there again.

Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We paid $50 to rent a Kayak for the day and went to Captain's Cook Monument. The bay was beautiful. Nice snorkeling near the state or monument and we did get to swim with the dolphins.

1  Thank celadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

I visited Kealakeua Bay last December with my two sons while on a little post business trip vacation. This is a perfect, one of a kind, location for snorkeling. In my opinion, it tops Hanauma Bay and Shark’s Cove on Oahu because of the seclusion of the experience. It is a lengthy hike to the Captain Cook Monument and Kealakekua Bay to snorkel so the only other options are kayaking or taking a boat cruise to the location. Kayaking to the bay is only allowed with an adventure tour permit so it creates a personal experience. We were the only three in our 3 hour kayak/snorkeling tour ($100 a person). As a result we had the Kealakekua Bay to ourselves on a weekday afternoon for almost an hour. We didn’t see any spinner dolphins while kayaking, but the snorkel experience was unbelievable. We saw every Hawaiian marine life imaginable, including a scary encounter with a large eel. The water is clear, cool and the colors are amazing. One of the unique experiences of the Bay is the cold, fresh water flowing underwater in small funnels coming down from the mountain. It is also a national historical park where you can visit the spot where Captain Cook was killed. A tour boat did arrive and bring about twenty people as we were leaving the bay. This place should be on your Big Island bucket list. If you’re in paddling shape and have the money, spring for the kayak private tour.

2  Thank tphybridtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We recently spent a day here kayaking and snorkeling and it was fantastic. We were able to see pods of dolphins and snorkeling with an amazing array of fish. The only downside was the sheer number of tour boats. It seems even with the permitting, there are a lot of people who want to visit the area. Still, it's worth the trip.

1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Excellent snorkelling which is ideal for beginners. There are lots of fish and coral to see and the water is beautifully clear. It’s a popular destination so expect a few boats and other snorkellers to be there. However, you don’t feel crowded. Would recommend using a smaller boat to get there as it will be a more personalised experience. We used Wahine Charters who were excellent.

1  Thank SarahM11369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews