We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rootn tootn Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar J Chuckwagon Suppers

Bar J Chuckwagon Suppers
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Wilson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Originated on a working cattle ranch, the Bar J Chuckwagon takes you back to the spirit of the old west with a relaxing atmosphere, rib stickin' meal and authentic cowboy entertainment. The Bar J Wranglers will entertain the entire family as they take you down memory trail with songs, stories, comedy, yodeling, fiddling and more! Experience an evening you'll never forget at the Bar J Chuckwagon. The gates open at 5:30pm and the dinner bell rings promptly at 7:00pm. For the best seats come early. Visit our western village where gift shops await, take a horse-drawn wagon ride through scenic attractions, sample Dutch oven biscuits, enjoy refreshments from our Waterin' Hole, and chat with the Wranglers! With a seating capacity of 750 people, it may surprise many to know that we serve all our guests in less than 25 minutes. We can easily handle tour groups or convention parties with true western hospitality.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rootn tootn Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Enjoy a meal just like the cowboys on the trail would have except you get entertainment the is even better than New York City! A must stop while in Jackson for all ages!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    93
    27
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
w
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great show... Food is just okay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

You don't go to the Bar J Chuckwagon for the food... which is okay, at best. The entertainment on the other hand was first rate... I am not a country music fan, but this show kept me entertained from start to finish... the music was great... the humor was great... the fiddle player was awesome...

Don't go for the food... go for the show... it's that good... We bought the DVD so we could experience it again...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, hilarious entertainment (safe for the whole family)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The wonder of Bar J Chuckwagon is that they can serve so many people in an amazing short period of time. As for the food, we always order the rib-eye steaks and they are always, always, always barbecued perfectly. The rest of the food is great, and later, I even find myself craving their chunky applesauce (where do they get it?) The lemonade is weak, but the Bar J Wranglers joke about how weak the lemonade is, so that makes it all right! Yes, the food is great, and the entertainment is every bit as good. The songs are great and the jokes are hilarious. It's a family-friendly atmosphere. We took our extended family and there were 13 of us ranging in age from 18 months to age 75. We arrived early and wandered around the site, tasting dutch oven biscuits, and taking lots of pictures.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Idaho208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithdale
2 reviews
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We liked every aspect of the chuckwagon supperathe venue was very relaxing and the food was delicious. The show was family oriented clean, funny with some wonderful singing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aleda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

You have to understand that the food served is like the food a cowboy would have on the trail. Enough said. But the show is great and that alone is worth the price of admission. Go! Have fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kent-Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar J Chuckwagon Suppers also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Bar J Chuckwagon Suppers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing