We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in the area.”
Review of Sassy Moose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sassy Moose Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Wilson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth. Texas
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best B&B in the area.”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

THIS B&B is one of the best we have encountered. It is very laid back, a no pressure B&B. Situated on a quiet road, hajfway between JACKSON & TETON VILLAGE. Yuou can yus it's kitchen anytime to make coffee / tea or get ice. Also to store wine, etc. They also have a washer/dryer that you can use n/c.
A FULL breakfact is promptly serverd a 8am. Not gourmet but delicious.
Each room is LARGE & DIFFERENT & well appointed, with an A/C in each.. Our room the "River Room" had a King size bed. They also have a 6 person JACUZZI out on a patio.. It was WONDERFULL.
"CHER" THE BLACK LAB WILL GREET YOU WHEN YOU ARRIVE. SHE WILL PLAY WITH YOU FOR HOURS IN A GAME "FETCH THE ROCK".
CRAIG THE OWNER IS PERFECT, A VERY ACCOMODATING HOAST.
YOU WILL ENJOY IT HERE.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dblead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    21
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
30
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Windsor, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Stayed for four nights at the SM and loved it! We were in the second floor suite which had a walk-in closet, full bath and a huge bedroom. The room was clean, towels plentiful and the walk-in closet was great because we had a lot of camping gear that we didn't want to leave in the car. Breakfasts were huge and satisfying - the innkeepers are a delightful couple, and generous with recommendations. Compare prices around the area and you will see the Sassy Moose is a great deal for the area. The views of the Tetons from the back yard are lovely - we sat in the evening after strenuous hikes and sipped our local brewed beers... and then went to Calico for dinner - their short ribs were amazing. The SM needs to clean out the hot tub, but otherwise we were delighted with our stay.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank N&YinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We spent three nights in the Sassy Moose in August 2008.

I don't know what others expect, but for us it was great -- I don't quite understand all the negative reviews, especially about the cleanliness. It was perfectly clean, spacious, well-appointed and comfortable.

As a B&B this place is not precious or cutesy or overly coddling. Maybe it's more in the tradition of European B&Bs as a convenient, affordable place to stay, than the American idea of B&B as a special treat experience.

Yes, when you arrive you may have to find your own room and settle in. If you didn't know about it in advance, you might be taken aback -- but we knew about it and liked it --we don't like being fussed over, and have had worse experiences with B&B owners breathing down our neck and messing around with our belongings. This place treats you like adults.

The breakfasts were fine -- not gourmet but hearty and ample choice. More in the western style of Jackson Hole than overdone gourmet. We've stayed in B&Bs where they change the entire table setting every day and serve breakfasts that are 75% sugar, and this place is not that. It's real.

The location was fabulous -- outside the hubbub of Jackson but near to restaurants and entrance to Grand Teton NP.

The place was clean and spacious -- including the hot tub out on the deck, which we used every day. It was great after a day of hiking, beautiful with clear air and the mountains in the distance. And did I mention it was clean?

The hostess was gracious with a good sense of humor. I wish I had the opportunity to take advantage of one of her spa treatments.

The host was plain-spoken and opinionated but funny and tells a good story. A real person. Not pretentious. Tells it like it is. Wouldn't you expect that in a place like Jackson, WY?

If you want an affordable, comfortable place to stay in the Jackson area, and you don't expect to be treated like the Queen of Sheba, this is a great place.

We'd gladly go back, and recommend it to all our friends.

One more thing -- Cher the rock-chasing Labrador was grand company.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lizpagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

My husband an I stayed at the Sassy Moose Inn for 2 nights at the end of our vacation. The location was perfect for our needs as we were exploring Jackson Hole. The room was as represented by the photos but you don't see how close it is to a main roadway so there was more noise than anticipated. My husband also used the hottub and thought it was very relaxing. The innkeepers we thought were both very hospitable and joined us for breakfast both mornings, they also were happy to suggest local restaurants etc.
I was alittle surprised to find that they didn't have keys to the rooms. As much as we are not paranoid it was alittle unnerving leaving valuables in the room without being able to lock it when we went out - and the outside door to the inn was also left unlocked all night.
All being said it was reasonably priced and clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTtravelbug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We rented the inn for a six day reunion of a family of 16, ranging in age from 9 to 81. With its six bedrooms and loft and kitchen privileges, it was ideal for this purpose. It is well located and quite spacious,

BUT, it has been poorly maintained. The smoke detector in our bedroom had been disconnected and one handle was missing from the shower control; the range vent hood in the kitchen was non-functional, providing neither lighting nor exhaust; the overhead kitchen light needed either a new tube or a new ballast; the dishwasher interior was badly stained; the outside panes on a thermopane window and door were broken and missing; and I'm not sure of the maintenance of the hot tub. I did not check out the other bedrooms.

The breakfasts were very good and the owner's wife was very pleasant and helpful. However, the owner, Craig, is quite lacksadaisical and has a short fuse when questioned about any shortcomings.

  • Liked — Location and size of rooms
  • Disliked — Maintenance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We found this to be a very cozy and unassuming place. We especially liked it since it was away from downtown Jackson - about a 10 minute drive in what is primarily a residential area. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. We didn't get a chance to see all of the rooms - I think there are 5, but ours had a very comfortable bed (not too soft) a television, air conditioning which we didn't need (there was actually a snow flurry while we were there in early June!), spacious private bathroom and the world's friendliest dog. Craig and Natalia went out of their way to make our visit relaxing and comfortable with lots of local recommendations for restaurants, drives and things to do. As long as you're not expecting a fancy resort but a relaxed base to explore the area you'll probably be satisfied. And there is also a small spa treatment area where those so inclined can schedule facials, massages, etc. plus an outdoor jacuzzi with lovely views. P.S. Try Nora's restaurant in nearby Wilson for really good food. We had two great meals there.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MEGATRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We took advantage of the excellent bargain to "Rent the Inn" for the February President's week in '08 for our group of 6 adults and 4 kids. Yes, the innkeeper was not there when we arrived (so what,- this is not a hotel), but he left a note to make ourselves at home--and the minute we stepped in we felt that we belonged there. Warm, cozy, well layed out, attractive bedrooms, the world's most loving resident dog and a very engaging inkeeper who, at least in the winter, makes the breakfast himself and stimulates the morning conversation to a level equal or above the better public affairs news commentators.
The Sassy is well positioned about half way between Teton Village and downtown Jackson (and don't overlook downtown Wilson just 3 miles away).
We've skied at least 5 major resorts over President's Week and never found more comfortable or charming lodgings. Just glad we wern't there with some of those writing negative reviews.

  • Liked — It had a real personality
  • Disliked — Had to wait 5 minutes for morning orange juice
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MainePapa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilson
4.1 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
380 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
4.7 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
4.2 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
4.8 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sassy Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sassy Moose Inn

Property: Sassy Moose Inn
Address: 3895 Miles Rd, Jackson Hole, Wilson, WY 83014-9139
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Wilson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sassy Moose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sassy Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassy Moose Inn Jackson Hole, WY - Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing