We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but could use some updates”
Review of Sassy Moose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sassy Moose Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Wilson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here ten years ago on our honeymoon, at that time it was run by a wonderful, friendly, charming woman who was a great hostess. Now it is run by her son and his wife and it seems some things have gotten run down a little. The hot tub was not there ten years ago, but it looks like it has been there for 15 years. The water in the hot tub was clean and warm, but the spa itself was in rough shape. Offering towels for the hot tub users would be a nice touch, as would having some lighting to lead the path from the guest suites to the hot tub deck. The bathroom in the River Room has a nice, spacious shower, but no floor mats to step on when you finish showering. The smoke detector in our room was non-existent, but you could see where it used to be.
Breakfast was as good as I remember it was ten years ago and there were options if you did not like the hot breakfast.
The bed was comfortable and we slept very well, but I do not feel the stay was worth the money we shelled out. If they do some new updates, it may be worth what they are currently charging, but if it stays status quo, then they should consider lowering their prices.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Don't stay here unless you want to be robbed! We arrived in Jackson late at night, called Sassy Moose from a list of lodging that took pets, and were given a rvery easonable quote. The property was nice and the staff friendly. However, the next morning we were hurried out after breakfast and charged $45 more than the quote given the night before. After arguing the matter, the owner seemed to realize his mistake and gave us a "hand written" receipt on a torn piece of pape,r and told us he would refund the money on his next book keeping transaction. It has been 1 1/2 months and he still has not refunded the money. He corresponded with us by e-mail a couple of times, and after a lot of excuses he finally admitted to his mistake and oversight, but still has yet to give the refund. As of this date he no longer responds to e-mail or phone calls. He is a thief! DON'T STAY HERE!!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The stay here was great, both in Jackson Hole and at the Sassy Moose. We loved all the good cheer and great grub! This is a place we really enjoyed and look forward to coming back in the future! I could not have chosen a better place to spend our vacation time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melinda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I am glad we booked here before starting to use trip advisor regularly or I might have been scared off of staying here. Yes, the place is well worn, but the price reflects that. If you are staying in the Jackson area and are paying $100-200 less a night than other properties there is a reason. This property is frayed around the edges, but not as bad as some previous reviews would indicate. Someone had complained about the stove so I actually ran my finger over it and it was clean. However when checking the vent hood I did notice the underside cover was missing. Stuff like that is pretty common, but what is here is clean. The carpet does have spots, particularly in the dining room, but it does not seem overall dirty. So if you want pristine conditions this is not your place. But if you want a good value, stay here.

Marina, the manager, is charming and puts on a nice breakfast. Craig, the owner, is affable but was not here much during our stay. We particularly booked this place as they had a room that came with bunk beds and a queen which is an arrangement that works well for our family and is hard to find. We had the entire upper floor, tons of room, and the place even has air conditioning. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Hoodone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place was absolutely great. We loved it and the surrounding area. This is a place worth coming back to.

Room Tip: They are all good and the hospitality is beyond compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

20 minutes from Jackson Hole Airport, 5 minutes from downtown Jackson, 10 minutes to Grand Teton National Park. An incredible view of the Teton Mountains, several excellent restaurants within 1-2 miles, and a paved bike/jogging trail just across the road. About 1 1/2 hr. from Yellowstone National Park's Southern Entrance. All this with a very attentive and helpful staff, clean rooms/baths, and a really good breakfast. And two gentle, polite dogs. Need I say more. This is the place to stay when visiting Jackson Hole!

Room Tip: We had three in our family so we took the upstairs room with an adjacent loft that shares the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbfeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Good hot breakfast in the am that left us all satisfied. The people that work here are very laid back and accomodating. Good sleeping arrangements (we had a total of three rooms) and no complaints about the beds or bathroom facilities. We came and went at our own convenience and even stayed up late outside after building our own fire - we were louder than we should have been yet no one told us they heard anything or complained about it. Craig is a nice host - my only criticism would be the booking process. I had to call several times to follow up on whether or not we actually had a reservation as I never received a receipt or had any documentation of how much we were going to be charged. Definitely needs better record keeping/management. Also you should know that if you stay here you will definitely need a rental car as you have to go in/out of town and it costs about 60 dollars/taxi ride.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srk2fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilson
5 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 40 in Jackson
765 reviews
4.9 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 40 in Jackson
708 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
3.3 mi away
Jackson Hole Hideout
Jackson Hole Hideout
#1 of 7 in Wilson
126 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Alpine House Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sassy Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sassy Moose Inn

Address: 3895 Miles Rd, Jackson Hole, Wilson, WY 83014-9139
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Wilson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wilson
Price Range: $174 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sassy Moose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sassy Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassy Moose Inn Jackson Hole, WY - Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing