We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful horseback riding!”
Review of Rand Creek Ranch

Rand Creek Ranch
Winters, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful horseback riding!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were staying in Cody. We wanted to go horseback riding, but only one in our group had any training. Ranch Creek was awesome! For the first time in my 4-5 times riding, my stirrups were adjusted perfectly, the horse was just the right size, and we actually had a few minutes of basic horsemanship training. They have level and hilly terrain, so you start on the flat land, and gradually ascend with your guide up the hills. Magnificent view from the top of the hill. Highly recommend! They also have a few cabins where you can stay the night. A note: They are actually closer to Yellowstone than to Cody. If you do go there from Cody, stop on the way to see the dam. There's a wonderfully informative video.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It was a good price for the service provided. Would have liked to take the longer ride, but it wasn't in the cards. Would recommend highly!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hidho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking views and great guides”
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

On our family vacation my 10-year old chose horseback riding as her activity. We took the 2-hour trip and saw some of the most amazing views that no one else could see unless you are on horseback up in the mountains. Our guides, Amy and Ashley, were excellent guides. Part way down the mountain I was getting scared and they reassured me that I would be fine...and they were right. Everyone we met at the ranch was extremely friendly and helpful. Our 14-year old son, who did not want to go, even said at the end how cool it was. We would recommend this ranch to all.

Helpful?
Thank back2good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russiaville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“It was a real Western trail ride we never experienced before.”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We visited Rand Creek Ranch August 16, 2011 and had the BEST ride ever! We were staying at Hamilton Lodge, just down the road, and John arranged our ride. The price was very reasonable. We went out in the morning with Amy. It was her last trip out before heading back to college the next day. She was great! It was just my husband, Mike, and I and we headed up into the hills. We always dreamed of getting a REAL trail ride and we weren't disappointed. We rode up into the mountains behind the ranch and the scenery was spectacular! Amy was knowledgeable and friendly and the ride ended way too soon. We could have spent the entire day in the saddle with her. It was nothing like we had ever experienced before; so peaceful and perfect. The horses were very well cared for and dependable. Great staff too. Rand Creek Ranch was one of the highlights of our vacation and provided us with a real Western riding experience. We will definitely return and ride again, if we have the chance to come back to Wapiti. Thanks for a memorable ride, Cody Rodeo tips, and the opportunity to ride with Amy. She'll make a great vet! Rand Creek Ranch is a must -do on vacation! :)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank MBrown4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rand Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing