We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong if you like trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Torrington
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torrington
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff, hotel and almost the rest would make this a nice hotel. Except you will need to love trains. The hotel is next to the railway and we stayed at the railway side. Every hour throughout the night a train will pass whisling the horn heavily. Fortunately there wete earplugs provided although it did not help me for at least 5 times that night. Your partner may make more noice......for me it was a bad bad bad night. Can't complain about the rest.

Room Tip: Take at least a room at the other side of the railway. That might help a bit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were traveling from Denver to Mount Rushmore and planned to stay overnight in Nebraska. Alas, we called the hotel in Nebraska where he had planned to stay after we drove through Cheyenne, Wyoming. The hotel was booked, it was dark out and we were in the middle of nowhere late at night. We were desperate and ready to settle for anything but we lucked out with this hotel. The room was immaculate, the beds were comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for more and the hotel exceeded our expectations. Prior to our stay we had never even heard of Torrington but now we will always think of Torrington, Wyoming with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveWell300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Let me start with the trains. Yes the hotel sits across from a train crossing which is pretty busy 24/7. During my stay, I was only awaken by the train two different nights, other than that, it did not wake me up. My room was in front side of the hotel, closest to the tracks. If you get a room on the backside of the hotel, you will still be able to hear the trains, but it should not be nearly as noticeable. The hotel will provides ear plugs on the night stands, but I did not use them for fear of not hearing my alarm.
The hotel itself is clean and in decent shape for its age. It is not brand new, but it works, especially for a night or two.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Was quite surprised at how nice this hotel was. Friendly staff, clean room for the most part, tables and lamps needed to be dusted. Bathroom was clean. Yes, it is right across from a train track that stays very busy 24/7. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYBigSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I've stayed in many Holiday Inn Express locations throughout America and this one is fairly representative of the brand as a whole.
Breakfast was good and hot. Front desk service was attentive and efficient. The rooms were clean and new.
There is a busy set of transcontinental train tracks just across the street from the hotel. Trains WILL be running through all night. Although the hotel places earplugs in all the rooms I didn't need them to get a good night's sleep. YMMV of course. Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel if you are concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Holiday Inn Express, in this part of the world, appear to be either revitalising or rebuilding their hotels. We found this easily (following the railway lines mentioned in previous Tripadvisor reports!), and yes, the noise of the train is invasive. However, as a visitor to the US, I quite like hearing the sound of the trains tooting as they go by.

The hotel was new and the staff very friendly. The entrance lobby was welcoming, and full of goodies like fruit and biscuits for visitors. The rooms were on the small side, but clean and comfortable, and we didn't have issue with the beds - they were fine. Torrington is not a place on the beaten path, but it served its purpose for us, and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel was heaving - a school reunion and two weddings! - so it is obviously enjoying some popularity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have used HI Express several times lately and I found them to be consistently good. This one is like the rest, just a bit pricey given the location. True, there is a freight train line close to the building (across the highway) but I sleep like a log and it didn't bother me. The only thing that annoyed me is the fact that the clerk insisted that the beds were queen size when they were most clearly double size. I can tell the difference. Really.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Torrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Torrington

Address: 1700 E Valley Rd, PO Box 1153, Torrington, WY 82240-8001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Torrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torrington
Price Range: $92 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Torrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Torrington, Wyoming , is ideally situated in order to make your trip to the Black Hill of South Dakota an enjoyable one. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY is located right off Highway 26, and is a comfortable drive away from Denver International Airport. There are numerous attractions near the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Torrington, WY such as Old Fort Laramie, Homesteaders Museum, Scottsbluff National Monument, Cottonwood Golf Course, plus some great places for hunting, fishing, and boating. Torrington is the home of the EWC Lancers. Eastern Wyoming College has many events throughout the year to enjoy while you are in town. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY has a comfortable lobby where you can sit and enjoy a book which are available in the lobby or visit with friends and family. We have a large parking lot to accommodate RVs and trailers with easy access. The Holiday Inn Express in Torrington, WY is a 100% non-smoking hotel with 67 rooms on two floors with an elevator. Every room comes equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, blow dryer, iron & ironing board and free high-speed Internet. Limited pet rooms. Must call hotel for availability on pet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Torrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Torrington Hotel Torrington
Holiday Inn Torrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing