We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planes, Trains, & Automobiles (or rather truckers using Jake Brakes)” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountain of Youth RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thermopolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountain of Youth RV Park
Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Planes, Trains, & Automobiles (or rather truckers using Jake Brakes)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The only thing missing from this place is banjo music . . .

There are only two places in Thermopolis with tent camping available -- don't stay at this one! The other one was full so we had no choice. My first clues should have been the shirtless hippie at the front desk (wearing only a pair of swimming trunks and flip flops) and the large NO REFUNDS sign scribbled on the back wall. The cost was obscene too -- $34.88 to set up a tent -- more than double what we paid at most locations during the previous week. Pay showers, the filthiest hot spring pools with a thick layer of scum and dead bugs, and some very creepy fellow campers were a bonus (we slept with both a knife and a hatchet in our tent and hadn't felt the need to do so when we were in bear territory the four previous nights if that tells you anything). We quickly set up our tent and left to get some supper -- normally we cooked at our campsite but didn't want to be leered at the entire time by shirtless (again) man two sites away. Upon our return we realized that the bushes along the tent camping spaces were there to hide the railroad tracks that ran 30 feet from our tent space. We also had not stayed around long enough to hear all of the traffic that passed within 100 feet on the other side -- unfortunately, this hell hole sits at the base of a steep hill that requires heavy revving and braking to navigate. I was shocked at the number of semis that passed and the lack of jake brake ban enforcement. Then at around midnight, just as we were adapting to these inconveniences, a plane roared so closely overhead that I could count the number of rivets on the underside. Come to find out we were also next to the airport that was on the cliff on the other side of the highway and the landing and takeoff path was directly overhead. Luckily Thermopolis is a very small town so only one plane landed and took off because it was very unnerving to have them pass so closely overhead.
Our alarm clock turned out to be the loud sump pump that a worker was using to drain one of the hot pools -- judging from the scum that I could see on the bottom they do this about once a year since there didn't appear to be any sort of a drain or filter on the premises. Yuck.
The final straw was watching one of our neighbors get out of her tent and rather than walk to the bathroom, just squat down in full view to take care of business. We set a new record for breaking camp and getting on the road that morning!
STEER CLEAR OF THIS PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Softball_Mom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    5
    12
    18
See reviews for
28
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Thermopolis boasts the world's largest natural hot pools but the are like $12 per person to get in. Right around the bend is the Fountain of Youth RV Park. They have 2 huge hot pools that have music are are a lot of fun. The kids have fun, get out and eat, then back in for more fun. They gave a few cabins and good RV spaces. Not the cleanest place but fun isn't always clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FatherOfEight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Out of our month long RV trip, this was by far the worst place we stayed in. We got there in the latter part of the evening and were greeted by a very nice lady. She had her helper direct us to our spot which was really nice. As we were driving to our spot though, we started looking around and biting our lip. It was right next to a railroad track and we wondered if that was going to be a problem. After hooking up, we went in search of the pools. There were three pools which were filled with screaming kids and all of them were completely covered with small mosquites. It was gross. What's worse, the bottom was so slimey and slippery. We thought, ok, we can go take a shower and rinse all the stuff off of us. They do NOT tell you that you have to pay to use the showers and there was no place to rinse off. After seeing the inside of the bathroom, we decided to just take a shower in our rig. We ended up having to clean our shower a few times to get rid of the bugs. Ughhh.. We decided that we would leave...as the sun was coming up. The people were soooooooo strange here. It felt like..the hills have eyes kind of place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lionesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thermopolis hotels

Cody
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Worst RV park we've ever stayed in. We have a pop-up tent trailer so we are not fully self contained and bathroom facilities are important. The facilities here are the worst we've ever seen. The garbage dumpsters were overflowing. We had neighbors that partied loudly til after midnight and would not quiet down when asked by myself and other campers. I was told later that this a popular spot for the Wyoming oil and gas workers to go to on the weekend. They get a site and invite their friends to join in. Saturday afternoon was loaded with "visitors".
We thought the hot pools would be great but they were dirty.
Pass on this park. Stay somewhere else in Thermopolis and go to one of the clean pools in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, in
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is what you might call a quirky and off-beat place. The large hot pool is the big attraction, and it is wonderful. The camping spots are really little more than a flat place to pitch your tent. I have never stayed in any of the lodging buildings there, but they look somewhat dilapidated. I would recommend that you stick to a tent or RV.

I'm not going to dispute some of the negative reviews I see here, but to me they say more about the writers than the place.

I've been here three times, and always seem to run into relaxed and friendly people staying there. Seems like a lot of foriegn tourists are usually around. I've never heard anyone say they were sorry to be there.

The pools are drained and cleaned weekly, but there is still some algea or something that grows on the bottom. If that sort of thing bothers you, stick with Disneyland or whatever.

Room Tip: Use the tent/RV sites, not the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Filthy, filthy, filthy!
The bathrooms are shockingly disgusting!
We were there over Labor Day weekend and it was jammed. The RV's and tenters were almost on top of one another. The pool was very slimy and I observed a dog swimming in it! Gross!
We paid ahead, but left early with no refund as we feared for our health! Does the Wyoming Health Dept. ever check this place out? Never again! Campers Beware!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I agree with the other traveler. Showers were disgusting and NOT clean, and paying for the showers after we paid for the park AND $6 extra for each of our children and then to pay extra for showers??? Thats just cheep.

I think the park was wonderful in its hay day, but the current people that own/ and are running the place are running it into the ground. The grass is nice and green when you pull up to sign in, but after that its brown and full unkept. I get that its camping, but for the money they charge, they really should do maintenance in the park. It looks like there might have been an old green house or 2 in the back that is in complete disrepair - this should be fixed up or torn down - its a liability if you have kids that like to wander around. Internet was spotty and did not work most of the time we were there.

The hand rails in the pool need to be changed because they are rotten at the end where they are in the pool, and the cement around the pool is uneven and the bottom of the pool is slimey and slippery, so be careful. Train is loud and yes we did see it before going there.

The people running the place seem apprehensive to say much of anything (its as if they knew about these reviews). I did ask if there was anything else i needed to pay over and above the camping / xtra kids fees when i signed in they said no. Later I asked about the charge for the shower, and they apologized and said it was their fault, but they didn't think about it because they thought it was like paying for the washers and dryers ...

The mineral water in the pool is amazing - we felt so relaxed when we were done. That was about the best part of the place!!

Room Tip: Pick a spot near the showers / laundry because that seemed to be the only place where you could get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miller2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
2.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elk Antler Inn
Elk Antler Inn
#1 of 2 in Thermopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#7 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain of Youth RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain of Youth RV Park

Property: Fountain of Youth RV Park
Address: 250 North Highway 20, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Thermopolis
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing